We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Scott Key Family Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Francis Scott Key Family Resort to your Saves list
Francis Scott Key Family Resort
12806 Ocean Gateway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book online and save 10%
Ranked #8 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Family Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Nice family place. Good indoor pool.
Not far from the beach and wild horses.
Outlets right across the street.
The pizza at the pool could be better.
But overall great value:-P will be going back soon..

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Assateague is a wonderful destination only 9 miles from here...I wish all our guests would discover it! Lots of shopping and restaurant choices are all around us. I have made a note about our pizza...will follow up!

Hope to see you again
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    217
    56
    33
    27
See reviews for
531
26
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

So let me start off by saying people who write bad reviews for fsk must be use to staying at the Ritz this hotel was a great place for my 2 kids the indoor pool was great other then the pool was kinda cold my 3 yr old daughter couldn't stop shaking but all in all a good pool the rooms were excellent yes the rooms did smell like a grandparents house but that goes away beds were super comfy and I'm 6 ft 1 the walls were thin but no big deal for the money it was the best place I've stayed at in ocean city and how could a hotel be bad if there sold out for the weekend service was awesome granted we did need anything they called us withing 15 minutes if arrival to see if we needed anything and if everything was OK I have stayed here before and would continue to stay here parking was hard bcus they were booked up o and the shower water was super hot and great pressure so all in all an awesome place to stay in oc so if you really write bad reviews then your probably high maintenance and you should stay somewhere else

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your honest comments in your review. We strive to give a great experience, memory making without wallet busting vacation for our families. We have been blessed with wonderful families coming year after year and we try to make our kids feel like this place was made for them!

Looking forward to your next stay!
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

FSK is the best place to stay in OCMD! Especially with kids. My family and I have been staying here every year since our girls were 5, their now 18!! For the past few years, we have been staying twice a year, once in the summer and again in early October. It is an all around great price for everything they have to offer. We have never had an issue with any ammenties or rooms at FSK. This year we have another family vacation planned, can not wait!!!

Room Tip: We have stayed in almost every building at FSK except the ranchers. But I'm sure they are just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We love that you love it here! We are looking forward seeing our families in 2013! Thank you for taking the time to write!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here around bike week. We really liked the rooms. We had a kitchen room on first floor. Very nice people and very clean. They really keep after things with out bothering their customers my 3 year old loved it! Guests were very friendly also. My son had a great time at the play ground with others children who were staying also. Very nice:)

Room Tip: Shopping areas close as well as things to do
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for the great review.....we think we have the best guests as well! September is such a great time to experience Ocean City!

Thanks for taking the time to write!!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Went “off the beaten path” for New Year getaway. We had a ranch-type room in NY building with 2 double beds, sofa, and kitchen. Outdated but clean. Did not realize that buildings are not connected and you have to walk/drive to the pool which is in Florida building. But not a big deal but Fl rooms would be more efficient in the winter to move between pool and room. On the first day we had pool almost to ourselves. Kids had lots of fun. We also received $ 25 gift card to use in pool concession stand which was much appreciated. We got ice cream and coffer and still have money left on the card. They also have movie night. We were only one family who showed up so we had the entire movie lounge to ourselves. We also did not like what they were showing and per our request it was change to another one. Again, great. I needed internet to catch on my work but it was very slow. Thankfully we had potable WIFI. So I wouldn’t count of their internet connection. May be was isolated incident. The one and only negative we experience its staying on the ground/first level. It’s an older building so you can hear everything around you. There was a family with two kids staying above us. I could here every yelling/screaming/crying/whining/ jumping/running… till late hours. We would definitely return but will request room on the second level. Also seems like would be extremely crowded during summer months. But off season seems perfect.

Room Tip: Stay only on the second floor to avoid noise above your head
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Happy New Year and thanks for your review. We are alot more crowded in the summer but we also have all of our amenities open and available! We are working hard to continue to upgrade and give our guests the best possible experience while keeping the price affordable.

Hope to see you all again soon!
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I live in the Ocean City area and it has become tradition for me to take my grandson and one of his friends to Francis Scott Key for an sleepover swim party for his birthday. The kids love it and so do I - the pool area is perfect for both young and not so young children. The kids are encouraged to have fun and it's not unusual for one of the lifeguards to join them in playing volleyball or water basketball when there are only a few kids in the pool. The resort itself is kept very clean and the staff is very welcoming, making suggestions of other activities to keep the kids busy. We go in December so it's usually too cold to do many of the outside activities, but during the summer there is a nice outdoor pool, basketball, putt putt area to keep everyone busy. During the evening they now have a nice family lounge area where you can watch the movie of the evening and enjoy free popcorn. Thankfully one of the recent additions to the resort is the concessions so during the winter months when the restaurant is closed you can pizza and snacks without having to leave the resort - although if you wish to there is plenty of options just across the street in the outlet mall. My grandson has had such a good time that every year when asked what kind of party he wants for his birthday he immediately says he wants to go back to the Francis Scott Key - this was our 6th year there and he never tires of it.

Room Tip: Indoor pool is in the rear of the complex so during the winter months best to ask to stay in the Flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We love that we can be a part of making birthdays special. We are blessed to have a great staff that enjoys being a part of making families happy and comfortable at the FSK. We hope the tradition continues.....

Sincerely
Annemarie DIckerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have stayed here a few times and let me say I have enjoyed this resort. My Grandaughter lives in Pocomoke City and I in PA. When I come to visit I ask her if this is where she wants to stay and I get a big "OH YEAH". We have a great time here, the activitties for kids can't be beat from movie night the wildlife people that bring there birds for education and of course the pool that we spend hours at. The only negative is no microwave in the rooms that we stay in other then that we'll see you in April.

Room Tip: upper floors are Quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, General Manager at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write! We love that your family enjoys family time here at the FSK!. We did add microwaves for guest use in the guest laundry building and all rooms with kitchens have a microwave as well! Hope to see you soon!


Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Francis Scott Key Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Scott Key Family Resort

Address: 12806 Ocean Gateway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#24 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Year-round family resort offering affordable rates and packages surrounded by many free amenities creating a unique, fun, memorable vacation trip and experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Francis Scott Key Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Scott Key Family Hotel Ocean City
Francis Scott Key Motel
Francis Scott Key Hotel Ocean City Md

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Scott Key Family Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.