We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy food and friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Jack Pancake House

Happy Jack Pancake House
2504 N Philadelphia Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-3436
410-289-7377
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 386 Restaurants in Ocean City
Price range: $1 - $14
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummy food and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Everyone loved their food, good coffee. Place was a bit of a greasy spoon but we didn't care. Our server was awesome and we only waited 20 min to get a seat on a rainy morning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    75
    30
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The food was good, and the portion sizes were large. The peanut butter chip pancakes had chips throughout, and they gave us a whipped cream dispenser so we could determine just how much our kids got. The service was quick and friendly. Don't be discouraged by the line, we got in much quicker than they estimated.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Pancakes good, rest of food not so good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We visit OC yearly and decided to try something different for breakfast on our last day on our way out of town. The service here was great, but the food had a lot to be desired. Sorry, we won't be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“It's Just Pancakes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I don't know where I got the idea to eat here, maybe I saw a sign or something but we wound up at Happy Jack's Saturday morning the day we left Ocean City. We got there at 830, so it didn't take long to get seated.

Food was mediocre but since it was cheap I did not complain. Service was friendly and fast, so that's always a plus. I had strawberry pancakes. My teenager had chocolate chip pancakes. Really, these are just plain pancakes with toppings. These are not pancakes that have the ingredients cooked into it. They're also kind of small, but perhaps that is a good thing.

We also had omelets. They were a little bit boring. I hate to add salt to food but I found it necessary because it was flavourless.

The only reason I'd eat here again is if the kids insisted on it. The food wasn't terrible and it wasn't expensive, so I don't know....

Oh, by the time we left around 915 there was a HUGE wait. I heard the host tell a family that it would be 30 minutes' wait. Plan accordingly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pancakes - Yeah!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was looking for a place to eat and saw Happy Jack's Pancake House. I assumed it to be something like Denny's or IHOP but boy, was I wrong. The place was packed (this was around 1 PM) but I was seated quickly. I was surprised to learn that they just serve breakfast or maybe I just got the breakfast menu. They had pancakes about a dozen different ways as well as the usual breakfast fare. Naturally, I ordered the pancakes. They came out fast and hot and my side of bacon was crispy, just like I like it. The pancakes were light, airy but delicious. I had not had pancakes in some time so I did not know what I was missing. It was a great meal, very reasonably priced, fast and efficient service and very clean, What more could you want?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Jack Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to Happy Jack Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Jack Pancake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.