We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bonita Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bonita Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Bonita Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #23 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Bonita Beach Hotel is a 1 minute walk to the beach, you can't beat that! All of the rooms have a balcony and a view which was wonderful. My son, fiance and I stayed here for 2 nights during Bike Week and we had a ball. Quick check in, friendly and helpful staff and the hotel is near everything.

I've stayed in a lot of "beach hotels/motels" (New Jersey, California, Florida) and this is one of the nicest. The double queen room we had looks exactly like the pics posted. Comfy beds, full size fridge, microwave and coffee maker.

I recommend this hotel 100%!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 5th floor which has the best views! Bay view on the left and the beach on the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks for the great review! As you stated in your review we have a great location close to the beach, great dining, nightlife and local attractions! We really appreciate all the business generated by our valued bike week fans and are absolutely thrilled you had a superior guest experience at our hotel. Thanks again for your recommendation, we look forward to having you again as our guest!!

Sincerely
The Friendly Carousel Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    93
    34
    27
    35
See reviews for
95
69
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Arrival; We arrived at about 8pm on a Friday evening. The hotel was easy to find, partly due to the bright color of the building.

Parking; All of the hotels parking is under the hotel, just be aware some of the parking spots are tight. The spots closest to the lobby are the worst, park further from the lobby for spots with more room.

Check-in; There was no one in line so the check in process was quick and easy. The front desk employee was friendly.

The room; Our room was 516 and had a south facing view. I booked a "Premium Ocean View" online and I believe a more premium ocean view would be the rooms on the north side that have a bigger but still partial view of the ocean...but they were the same price online so no big deal...plus on Friday night from our balcony we were able to see the NASA rocket that took off from Wallops Island and it was amazing to watch.
The beds; There were two queen size beds in the room. The beds had old comforters on them, not sure why hotels still use these but they came off the bed as soon as we walked in. The beds also had older sheets and an older blanket...time for some new linens. The beds were a little hard but okay to sleep on. There was also a pull out sofa bed in the room which we looked at and honestly wouldn't ever use. The mattress had no sheet on it and there was a lot of stains on the mattress.
TV; They must have upgraded their TV's recently because we had a flat screen TV in our room which was a pleasant surprise. There were also multiple channels which made it nice to watch after a long day on the beach.
Kitchen; The room also had a small kitchen with full sized fridge, a microwave, coffee maker and sink. There is also a limited supply of dishes and utensils...but they appeared dirty and needed to be washed before use.

Housekeeping; Below expectations. After housekeeping "cleaned" our room we noticed a note that was left in our room. The note said they were out of towels and to check back later to get clean towels. We also noticed the garbage wasn't emptied and housekeeping had taken a couple pillows from our room...kind of odd. So later that evening was called the front desk and fresh towels were brought right up.

The pool; The pool was in good condition, yes not 4-star hotel but was clean.

Location; This is where this hotel is above average...you are only a block away from a very nice, not overcrowded beach.

Overall the hotel met our expectations for a beach hotel at this star rating.

Room Tip: Ask for a north facing view to get a little more view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks so much for your informative review! We pride ourselves on exceptional customer service, and a superior experience. Our check in process is quite quick and our staff is very knowledgeable on the area and our operations. Our premium views are exceptional and at a non premium price. We prefer to pass the savings on to our customers. The Carousel Group took over this hotel this past Summer and we will be looking into your comments about the bed spreads being outdated and the sheets. As for all our hotels, we work hard to upgrade our hotels, amenities and customer experience. Along with the fitness center, atrium, indoor pool, game room and sun deck, we offer the Carousel Group vacation package during the Summer season. Stay tuned for great specials and deals for the fall and spring of 2014! Thanks again for being our guest!

Sincerely
The Friendly Carousel Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes Barre
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We arrived early to the hotel. When I checked in at the front desk we were told that due to our early arrival we would not be able to check in yet. Expected this, we knew we were early. We were told we could use the pool and other facilities to entertain ourselves until our room was ready. When we made our way to the pool area (not indoor/outdoor-only in door with a large open sliding door to the outside patio) we were so disgusted. If we hadn't already payed in advance for our room we would have looked elsewhere. The shower area was absolutely disgusting. Mold growing everywhere. No place to put dry clothes in shower to prepare to dress after shower. Pool was all sandy...not just a little sand...a lot of sand. pieces were broken around the pool including the one rail into the pool. I just kept my fingers crossed when we were finally going to our room (we were able to check in two hours before schedule). Surprisingly, the room was a lot nicer than I expected. Bathroom was clean. Patio had two nice chairs and a nice view of the ocean. If I was just reviewing this room based on the room and the location, it would not be a bad review. Later in the evening we decided to go to the game room. On the computer it showed several electronic games and the like, that I figured my kids would enjoy. There was one skill crane kind of machine and a ping pong table. That was it. The kids asked to go back to the pool...NO WAY!!!! The workers were nice enough, the room was nice enough, ....will I return....I doubt it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear valued guest thanks for your review. Our pool is cleaned and maintained on a regular basis and should have been nothing less then excellent. We do apologize if you encountered any sand in the pool area, due to our proximity to the beach it is a daily challenge to keep the area free of all sand. As you had mentioned, our rooms are quite spacious and absolutely cleaned and inspected prior to our valued guests checking in. We are at a loss of words for the video game remark in your review. The photo on the website of the electronic games is accurate, those exact games have been there since May 2013 and will continue to remain there. The electronic games are located directly next to the window, 4 ft from the ping pong table you had spoken of. We sincerely apologize for your less than excellent experience at our pool and ask you give us a second chance to earn your business back. Thanks again for your review, we hope to have you again in the future as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My family and I stayed here for two nights. The rating is accurate and your expectations should be in line with the trip advisor rating. It was a good hotel to stay at, if your looking for great value. Our room was clean and the kids were happy we made it to the beach. The front desk people were very nice. Internet worked great. My kids loved the pool and the ping pong table.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks for choosing Bonita Beach for your beach vacation! Our hotel is a great value but we do offer a higher end experience with our indoor pool, sundeck, game room, fitness center and atrium. Our staff is some of the best in Ocean City. We hope you had an experience to enjoy all the Carousel Group Vacation Package has to offer. Thanks again for choosing The Bonita Beach Hotel for your beach vacation accommodations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our room was spacious with 2 queen beds, sleeper sofa, mini kitchenette. Our deck had two new chairs and a view of Coastal Highway and 82nd street. The staff was very friendly and promptly replied to our request for additional towels, pillows, sheets and blankets. The room did not have additional bedding for the sleeper sofa so we had to request bedding. The A/C was cold and we found the hotel very quiet. Nice indoor/outdoor pool as well. Ocean block, no crossing Ocean Highway...always a plus. And the bus stop was very close by. We had two teenage boys with us so we didn't make use of the game room as they entertained themselves by taking the bus everywhere. But it seems like a great place for younger children with the pool and game room.

Room Tip: Our room was located on the third floor, street view. Room 321. It was quiet but no view of beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks so much for the great review, and thank you for being our guest in beautiful Ocean City! As you mentioned, we are at a great mid town location close to lots of shopping, dining and nightlife. Catch a bus and be downtown in no time! Head up north to Northside park and make sure to go to the Carousel for discounted dining in the Oceanfront Restaurant, or discounted ice skating on the rink. Whatever your Ocean City expectations are for a beach vacation, The Carousel Group has it all. Thanks again for staying with us in beautiful Ocean City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hotel provides decent combination of rate, location and quality. Just steps from the beach (do not need to cross the Highway) and the bus stop. We were lucky to get the room on the last 5th floor, with a good side ocean view from the balcony. For those who have problem with sleeping - the conditioner is pretty loud and you can hear some noise from the next door rooms (when it's off).

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the upper floors. Floor 3 is the pool area, so you might want to avoid this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear valued guest, thank you for choosing The Bonita Beach Hotel as your Ocean City vacation accommodations! We work hard to make sure you get the experience you deserve, at a price that won't break the bank. With amenities such as indoor pool, atrium, fitness center, game room and sundeck, it's no wonder our guests are raving about their experience. As you mentioned, the balconies do have a great side view of the bay and the ocean, and we are just a few steps away from the beach. Thanks again for choosing The Bonita Beach Hotel in beautiful Ocean City. We can't wait to have you again as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

I booked BB because of the location and amenities that this hotel has and others don't. This was our first stay. Our room, 408, was definitely way more spacious than the average hotel room with 2 queen beds, sleeper sofa, fridge, microwave, kitchen sink, paper towels, some dishes, new chairs on deck, etc.
The a/c worked great too. The room was very clean and new towels brought every day. Sure the bedspread is outdated but, who cares!
The beach is just a short walk and the beach area near the hotel wasn't crowded. There are many places to eat within walking distance including Dunkin Donuts and The Fractured Prune across the street. We heard no noise in the hotel. The front desk even let me check in early since my room was ready. I really appreciated this. I will definitely book this hotel again next summer.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks so much for your great review on our great hotel! Our rooms are quite spacious in comparison to other hotels and include full refrigerators, kitchenettes and balconies. We are within walking distance to South Moon Under, Hooked restaurant, hair and nail salons, Mexican food restaurants and more! Thanks again for your review and thank you for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bonita Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonita Beach Hotel

Address: 8100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#20 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bonita Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook and Hotwire so you can book your Bonita Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonita Beach Ocean City
Hotel Bonita Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonita Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.