We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Dump" Never Again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monte Carlo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monte Carlo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Monte Carlo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   216 North Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 107 hotels in Ocean City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“'Dump" Never Again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Spend the extra $100.00 and stay at the holiday inn. This hotel was my worst experience ever.I booked this hotel with my husband and two girls.An hour prior to our arrival I called the hotel to ensure our room was ready. Once at the hotel at 3pm the staff informed me that check in time was at 4pm and that our room wasnt ready.The staff "Wanna be Ricky MARTIN" denied even speaking to me and checking the reservation. I asked to speak to a manager at which time i was given a website to contact to complain . I lost it and the manager over hearing the exchange from his office finally decided to emerge.His nasty attitude, lack of professionalism , use of foul language , lack of basic good cutomer service and incompetent staff angered my husband and I.This hotel was a FILTHY hole in the wall and nothing like the advertisement..The elevators reeked of urine mold and mildew. The carpeting throught the hotel including our room was damp and smelled like mold and moth balls.There was no ice bucket or coffee maker.We had to locate the switch inside the fridge to turn it on. There was only one small bar of soap and one towel in the bathroom for a family of 4.There was black mold and mildew in the toilet and in the shower.The woman in the room next to mine actually took her shower curtain down to the front desk and demanded a clean one and a partial refund.I bought bleach from the corner store to clean the bathroom just to be able to use it.The patio furniture was supposed to be white but was covered in filth.The pools were small and filled with dirt.The cleaning lady got off of work at 4 and then you were on your own. The sheets were never changed beds just remade and to top it off the fire alarm went off.The reason "someone smoking Weed in the male bathroom". NEVER AGAIN will I waste my time and hard earned money to stay at a DUMP like this.My only regret is that I didnt take photos to show you.

Room Tip: Dont stay at this dump.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmontecarlo, General Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review, 3 days ago
In response to this guest there are a few inaccurate statements made. The Hotel Posted check in time is 4p.m. ; If rooms are available earlier we will offer a earlier check in time. This particular day the hotel was sold out. The guest flew into a rage , but unfortunately it was out of our control and room was ready by the posted check in time. Family members actually stepped in and apologized for the inaccurate statements guest made towards our staff. At check out , the Guest Husband was asked about his stay and claimed minus the check time at beginning of stay that everything else went great. At no other time during stay did we hear any issues from guest involving room or hotel property. If we would of we would of addressed any concern. As for the dump comment, I can clearly say we are far from it. One of the cleanest properties in the Ocean City area with updated rooms makes us one of the best choices for your Ocean City Vacation Destination. We host many guest and many repeat guest each year who come back because of their positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    79
    49
    34
    62
See reviews for
111
86
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eldersburg, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a great stay at the Hotel Monte Carlo. Our room was clean and slept five with room to spare. The staff was friendly and very helpful. When we stopped at the desk to request more towels, the housekeeper was waiting at our door with them when we got off of the elevator. Our sliding door came off of the track and a maintenance person came immediately to fix it. Location is great.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Garbage! No parking. Lousy service. Lousy amenities. Lousy views...unless you can peak in between the hotels in front of you for the "ocean view". Coffee maker? Nope...only in the sode ocean view double queen spfa sleeper rooms on the second Tuesday of the week. Kid friendly? A movie on a 48" plasma TV on the roof os as good as it gets. Breakfast? Stale luke warm coffee and a packet of sweet & low in the lobby. Indoor pool with a special code so all 3 adults that CAN fit in it can get in...and the signs in the hotel that lead you to the creepy stairwell basement to the indoor pool...door is locked and nobody's home. And don't forget to pay at check in so by the time you figure out the poop show you can't back out.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a very restless and terrible sleeping experience at this hotel. The walls are so thin we heard people screaming in their room and in the hallways as well as slamming doors all night long. We were awakened almost every hour. Then in the morning we were unable to sleep in and get rest because the housekeeping staff were extremely loud as well. They were forcefully slamming the doors and allowing it to fall on the door latch to create a horrible banging sound. We tried to recreate this sound on our door and discovered you have to push the door hard and not just let it naturally fall to create such a loud bang. Unfortunately, we did not notice the disgusting stain on our bed sheets until the last day of our stay. This made us feel like the overall cleanliness of the beds were subpar. The front desk staff were not very welcoming or accommodating. The wifi was very slow. They have a very limited breakfast selection could not really find anything that I actually wanted to each from the mediocre selection. We didn’t use the pool because it seemed inconvenient to get up to. We will not be returning to this hotel nor recommending anyone else stay there.

Room Tip: Our room did not have a balcony which was very disappointing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Reading, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I want everyone to be aware that my review is for the MONTE CARLO SUITES located on 11th Street. It is owned by Hotel Monte Carlo and the check in is at the 216 North Baltimore Avenue location but the suites are located on North Baltimore Ave and 11th street. Great location. Conveniently located a block over from the boardwalk. The suites are very modern and clean and they have rooms for 8 people or more.It has a kitchen with granite counter tops and full refrigerator and a working 2 burner stove, microwave and toaster along with coffee maker for those coffee lovers. They also have pots and dishes and basic essentials. There is a private balcony and our suite had a pull out sofa, king size bed and 2 queen size beds.The beds were very comfortable. The mattress on the sofabed could be replaced. Bathroom is large enough to have 3 people getting ready at same time and a Jacuzzi bathtub. The pool is in the building but still considered outside. There is also a vending machine for soda, but no ice machine. Building is private so you get a key for the downstairs entrance to elevator and of course to the room. Management is not on location but they come by to check and you can also call them. You also have access to go and use the pool and hot tub at the main hotel on 3rd st which is the Hotel Monte Carlo. Thats where you would also go to have breakfast but we did not because it was only from 0800-0900. Parking is one space for the unit but we were able to find parking on the street and since we could walk everywhere we did not have to move the car. When we did have to use the car to go to Seven Eleven we used the one that had the hotel pass on it so we can still have our parking. My mother who is extra particular really liked the place. When she first started reading the reviews on this site she was worried. I had to explain to her that most of the reviews on here were for the main hotel itself. This I knew because everyone was mentioning the Subway restaurant in the lobby and roof top pool ,and where we were at there was none. Everyone is entitled to their opinions but this site can be very deceiving because like I mentioned the reviews are for 2 different locations owned by same company. Its worth trying out for yourself. We had a great time and we will stay here again. Remember Monte Carlo Suites ....

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for the wifi password. Its free but you still need to request it when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The manager was very disrespectful and used bugler language including the F word continuously in lobby behind desk. The rooms were very dirty, and the cleaning staff came at 8:30-9 in the morning (when you didn't want to get up to have them change your sheets) always out of toilet paper and tissues, and many of the doors DO NOT SHUT AND LOCK!! My experience here was awful, and it ruined my trip completely.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmontecarlo, General Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
This review is full of inaccuracies. This was written by a High School Senior Week Student who was asked to leave hotel for violating State Laws with underage drinking and drug use. The Student on way out door threatened to post negative review of hotel due to this. We had a hotel guest in our lobby at time who commented on the unruliness of the girls involved. After their subsequent eviction the guest next door enjoy a peaceful nights sleep without the interruption of underage party goers that are common in the month of June.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Located one building back from the boardwalk. Easy walk to the beach which wasn't as crowded in this area because of the lack of high rise hotels. The staff was pleasant everyday. Parking was free across the street, ice can be purchased for $2 a bag at the front desk. I expected a lot less from this hotel because of the low price. What I received was a large clean, comfortable room with a small but clean bathroom. The refrigerator worked well. The outdoor pool area was very nice; I did not notice uncleanliness. The lobby was always spotless, the beds were comfortable. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Suite with a side view. The higher the floor, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monte Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Carlo

Address: 216 North Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 107 hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Carlo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanside all efficiency hotel built in 2000, located just steps to beach, boardwalk and Atlantic surf. Hotel offers seasonal rooftop outdoor pool and hot tub, scenic rooftop sundeck, heated indoor pool, jacuzzi rooms, deluxe pillowtop bedding, cardio fitness room, Subway restaurant, guest laundry services. All efficiencies offer small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, iron & ironing board, hair dryer, cable TV with HBO, alarm clock radios, daily housekeeping service, elevator, handicap accessible rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Monte Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Hotel
Monte Carlo Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monte Carlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.