We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great changes being made” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lankford Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lankford Hotel to your Saves list
Lankford Hotel
807 Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Cook Forest State Park
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great changes being made”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

We were excited to come back to the Lankford Hotel to see all the changes that have been made. We have stayed here several times for the location and price but this time was different. The changes have made staying at the Lankford Hotel much more relaxing. The environment and the staff and the rooms all deserve an A+. Keep in mind though that they are still renovating as this does take time and a lot of money. We will be back again when we visit Ocean City. We never stay any where else.

Room Tip: They are all nice but the renovated ones are the ones to look for, especially in the main Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    23
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
41
24
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

I am unbelievably pleased that my husband and I were able to stay here. The Lankford is an older building (with older fixtures and signs of wear, but nothing unsafe, dirty, or unsightly) and the rooms are on the small side, but I don't go to the beach to camp out in my room, you know?

First, a few caveats that I personally don't find to be dealbreakers but may be important to someone: Rooms have tiny televisions, suites have nicer ones. Showers are very compact stalls. Rooms/bathrooms are rather small and not a lot of extra room. Some rooms have coathangers, others don't. Breakfast is toast, bagels, prepackaged danishes, coffee, juice, tea....not much but nice to tide you over. No elevator. Rooms have small fridges but no microwave. We stayed in the "off season" so the Boardwalk traffic was low, but in the busy season it might get a bit loud; then again, in the busy season it's hot and people would probably close the windows and turn on the in-room a/c unit. But honestly, I can't speak for that.

The Awesome: Staff are all super-friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful (they'll help you with your luggage if you want). The hotel is super clean, as is the parking lot! You can really tell that the staff cares about the place. Plus, it's decorated with a variety of antiques, which makes the whole place feel very home-y. Also, the view was spectacular, even from our side room. OMG, if it weren't for the noisy a/c units next door, I would have felt like I was sleeping on the beach itself....the sound of the waves lulled us to sleep through our open window. We will definitely stay here again the next time we come to OC!

Room Tip: The side rooms on the south side have a better view, but the neighboring A/C units are LOUD and drow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

This is a first-rate lodging experience for those who value quiet, competence and consistency.

I've stayed at the Lankford occasionally since the mid-1970s and never have been disappointed. This is not the place, however, for anyone who wants modern, steel-and-glass luxury. (There is no business center.) It is comfortable, old-style accommodation reminiscent of the hotel in the movie "Key Largo". The comfortable lobby is dotted with overstuffed chairs and sofas and lined with old wooden bookcases (and is the only place where wi-fi is available reliably). The third floor features a broad balcony (complete with rocking chairs) overlooking the boardwalk. The main doors on the ground floor open to a pleasant porch directly on that boardwalk, at 8th Street -- amidst restaurants and beach shops.

The rooms are small but comfortable; the housekeeping and front desk are excellent. (No elevator, despite the three stories.) These days, a light Continental breakfast is served. The Lankford includes a side, bather's entrance leading to the second floor, to encourage guests to not trapse through the nice lobby in their beach gear on the way to their rooms; there's a "powder room" at the back of the first floor where guests can change into street clothes, after checking out then spending the day on the beach. This was the first hotel on the boardwalk and has been owned/operated by the same family since it was built in 1923. Safety and code upgrades have been performed (including exposed fire sprinkler piping in the hallways outside guest rooms), but otherwise the charm is unchanged. Rates are reasonable, given it's boardwalk location, though city and state taxes add nearly 50% to room charges. Highly recommended for quiet couples and well-behaved families. A great place to read and watch the world go by (or flop on the broad, fine-grained beach). Not for trend setters or party goers.

Room Tip: No need to pay for ocean front. The ocean-facing balcony and front porch provide ample opportunity f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

We recently stayed for one night at the Lankford. It's a pretty, older hotel and the rooms are basic but fine - no complaints, as the hotel owners made it clear when I booked that the rooms are basic.
We had a seafront room, which had an amazing view. The only downside were the noisy A/C units on the exterior (we had earplugs, which were needed).
The staff were friendly and the breakfast was good - recommend eating it on the porch, where there are several rocking chairs, a nice touch.
The big plus is the location - right on the boardwalk and lots of restaurants & shops in the immediate vicinity.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Windsor, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The Lankford is unique in that it has been owned by the same family for years! The family is very much present in the day-to-day operations, and are extremely helpful and friendly. We stayed in The Lodge, which was half a block from the main hotel, across a small street. the room was a newly decorated 2 bedroom unit, beds were very comfortable; bathroom was very small but functional. 2 mini fridges in rooms were nice; ice was available as well. You simply cannot beat the location and value! We hope to be back next year.

Room Tip: some rooms are quite sure, ask about room size when making your reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

This lovely iconic hotel on the Boardwalk in OC is a fun and unique break from "big box" hotels for a first rate beach vacation. Stayed for a week end of August, with 2 teens and a 20 something kid. Had a blast! We stayed in The Raven, oceanfront, and it was great!

Pros: price is right at weekly rate, 3 rooms for sleeping, full kitchen, 2 baths, 2 doors (one front to Boardwalk, one to the parking area), access to the wonderful front porch and balcony for people watching, great location and responsive helpful staff and owners. Oh yeah, the Beach!

Cons: 3rd floor walk up if mobility is an issue ( lots of stairs), lack of comfortable seating in room, wifi was hinky, and kind of a "virtual balcony" (open windows over kitchen table and feel and listen to ocean and sounds of the Boardwalk). Also no counter space in bathrooms. However I will add that our room was not one that had been renovated, and the updated rooms are super cute!

Location-wise, Alaska stand is basically right next door, great boardwalk fare and coffee ( went there often). Brass Balls Cafe at 12th is close and we had a late breakfast there that was huge and delish! No way you could finish it! Crab omelette for me with a biscuit the size of NJ, build-your-own sandwich, ala carte was great, and the b-fast burrito which looked amazing! And walk down for Fishers Popcorn and The Fractured Prune donuts (even if you don't like popcorn or donuts!). It is all about the experience of OCMD! You will have it staying at The Lankford!

Also, take the time to go see the wild ponies on Assateague Island! Very cool!

Room Tip: The Raven is oceanfront but no real balcony. Also is a 3rd floor walk-up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Had a small one bedroom for a long weekend stay and was perfect for what we needed. Can't beat the price and the bedroom was clean, AC worked great and had a small fridge. TV was small but you shouldn't be watching TV anyways. Bagels and coffee in the morning for breakfast was a nice touch. Best part was that its literally right on the boardwalk with bike rentals right next door.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lankford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lankford Hotel

Address: 807 Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of old Ocean City, the Lankford Hotel is the perfect home away from home. Conveniently located on the boardwalk where we are close to shops, amusements, restaurants and just steps to the beach. We have hotel rooms as well as apartments that come with full kitchens. All of our units have air conditioning, cable tv, telephone and private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lankford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lankford Hotel Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lankford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.