We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay, no problems, but still peak season!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Ocean City

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Ocean City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Ocean City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12718 Ocean Gateway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #26 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Warren
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good stay, no problems, but still peak season!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Have stayed at OC many times before, first time here.

This was a last-minute business reservation, had trouble finding rooms anywhere in the area in peak season. Better prices than at the beachfront, but not by a whole lot.

Overall, property was excellent. Breakfast was good but not spectacular, at least enough and more than one waffle maker. Very attentive service at the breakfast keeping things stocked and clean.

Everything very clean and in good working order.

Only thing that could have helped was the cancellation policy. I had two rooms for 3 nights; my co-worker had to leave a night early and cancelled by 4PM and there was no credit offered for the final room night. I would have been happy with even a partial credit but it was not offered though requested. That's the only reason it didn't get a five-star from me, just to make it clear.

I would stay there again but pretty much any place in OC is a sellers market in July.

Room Tip: Didn't really see a bad one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahman C, General Manager at Comfort Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
We are very happy you chose to stay with us and yes it is true July/August is the height of the busy summer season, even when it is for business. Since you were here and did enjoy your stay please over the course of the year stay with us for business and we will do everything we can to accommodate you stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    62
    22
    8
    15
See reviews for
75
54
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Riverdale, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I made reservations at the last minute for a quick OC getaway. The Comfort Suites was available and met our needs for the 3 days/2nights stay. The room was very nice located right around the corner from the front desk. We really enjoyed the free breakfast and relaxed by the pool. The hotel was in a nice location away from the OC crowd. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahman C, General Manager at Comfort Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
You really did enjoy yourselves on vacation and your stay with us, we are looking forward to seeing you very soon with the second reservation you just made, such a pleasant surprise to read the reviews this morning!! This is just great, your first stay and your coming back looking forward to your arrival!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We made a last minute reservation here on the 800 number and were glad we did!!! Spent a tad more than we wanted to but the place met our needs for a young family ( tons of hotels in town but many were very expensive or party/drinking motel places) Great location, (main drag approaching the boardwalk/beach area) lobby and rooms were super clean and comfy. Pool is great for kids!!!! Lifeguard was attentive and friendly. Pool is like a mini tropical fun place with palm trees, small sliding board, and thing to climb on in pool (not really designed for adults/quiet). Breakfast was good....as expected. Friendly staff all around.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahman C, General Manager at Comfort Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank You!! We are so very happy you chose us as well. Staff truly enjoys our quests and the ones who enjoy themselves are just a bit more special. Glad you and the family enjoyed the pool toys, yes many adults have a great time in the pool, as well. We completely agree the location is very good, much to do and see. Hope to see you and the family again very soon--here at the beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldens Bridge, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

On the north end of Ocean City off the main drag and several blocks from the boardwalk, this is a nice hotel. Newly renovated and excellent bedding and rooms. Breakfast was awful but at least it was free. Oranges, apples were good. If you want honky tonk of Ocean City, it could in the wrong location. We liked being away from the tacky hub-bub of hotels. Small gym, but it did the job.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia K, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
We want to thank you for sharing your review with us. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay at the Comfort Suites Ocean City, Maryland. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the new features and amenities of our recent full renovation! We do offer a free hot breakfast to all of our guests daily, however, we will still take your suggestions about the breakfast into consideration for adjustments. We hope that when visiting Ocean City in the future, your will allow us to accommodate your lodging needs again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I understand that my vacation was scheduled during "peak season" in Ocean City however, my experience at the Comfort Suites upset me so much that I found it necessary to warn other travelers. This was my last vacation before taking board exams and applying for residency. It was my last chance to relax out of state and outside of a hospital. My friend/classmate and I were given a room on the first floor next to the elevator. (We had a 3 night reservation and an additional 1 night reservation). He went to the front desk to ask to switch rooms and was informed that the manager would be in following day but, that the hotel was completely booked. That night I was up until 5 am. The sounds of the elevator echoed throughout the room. I do not know why a room was even put directly next to the elevator but, it was horrible. I went to the desk the following day and spoke with the manager. I wanted to leave that day. I would have rather slept in the rental car. The manager did not offer a refund for the remainder of the 3 night stay. She questioned where I could even go on a Saturday during peak season. The only option that I was offered was to change rooms on the 4th night for an additional $30 for a heart shaped whirlpool. After calling the third party booking agent. I was granted a refund for the separate 1 night reservation. The other two nights, I was up until 4 and 5 respectively. Turning on the bathroom fan helped somewhat.

Save yourself the trouble and stay at the Courtyard.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahman C, General Manager at Comfort Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We really do attempt to fix any problems or concerns for our guests and reservation's through third parties are sometimes incorrect. The room you booked was and is exactly what you were assigned it's a hotel room type and there are only 3 in the hotel, you or the third party reservationist chose it. Your request for a room move, staying with us to attend a wedding, you told us you were a travel agent and explained the cancel policy to us and wanted and realized the 2nd reservation cancel would require an exception on our part, which we agreed. Our concern for cancelling the 2nd reservation, due to the busy weekend, was accommodate you after you found another location and not leave you in Ocean City without anywhere to sleep, just in case. At check out you seemed just fine, I hope that you truly did not a have a completely terrible weekend, everyone seemed pretty happy all weekend and when I had the occasion to see you, you did as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a great room, and the bed was very comfortable. The room and bathroom were clean. Location was on the north end of the strip and very convenient. We would definitely stay there again for the money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahman C, General Manager at Comfort Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay and we are humbled by the many reviews of so many enjoying their stay, our hospitality and we so look forward to everyone's return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown NJ
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Simply put This Hotel far exceeded my expectations. Staff was friendly and helpful. Pool was a big hit. Room was cool when we walked in. Rooms looked brand new. Carpet immaculate. Beds were comfortable and pillows were great. I stayed at Comfort Suites Leland, NC last year and had a fabulous experience so I gave Ocean City, MD a shot and it was just as fabulous. So happy to see consistency and I will be sure to choose Comfort Suites again!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahman C, General Manager at Comfort Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Exceeding expectations, just after a very nice property, review. Here at the hotel we are very happy to be caring for our guests and the hotel in such a way they are so very pleased and happy! This is Great! Thank you all very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Ocean City

Address: 12718 Ocean Gateway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Ocean City 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® hotel is minutes from the Ocean City Beach and Boardwalk, OC Tanger Outlets, Assateague Island National Seashore, the Roland E. Powell Convention Center, Jolly Roger Amusement Park and the Ocean City Fishing Center.Additional nearby points of interest include:• Ocean Downs Racetrack• Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum• Ocean City Life-Saving Station MuseumThe hotel is close to several golf courses, a variety of restaurants, entertainment venues and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. The Ocean City Municipal Airport is just eight miles from this Maryland hotel.Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast.This Ocean City, MD hotel provides guests with many full-service amenities and features, including a free weekday newspaper. Guests will enjoy taking advantage of the on-site fitness center, game room, water slide and seasonal outdoor pool.Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like high-speed Internet access, a business center, and access to copy and fax services.This all-suite hotel features luxuriously appointed suites with coffee makers, refrigerators, microwaves, safes, voice mail, irons, ironing boards and cable television. Keep your electronic devices charged with the recharge device including AC and USB outlets provided in all guest rooms. For that special occasion, ask about rooms with whirlpool bathtubs.The Comfort Suites hotel will make your next trip to Ocean City, Maryland an exciting and memorable experience. Our friendly staff looks forward to serving you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Ocean City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.