We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super room off the beaten path” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Ocean City

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Ocean City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Ocean City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12718 Ocean Gateway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #26 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Goldens Bridge, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Super room off the beaten path”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

On the north end of Ocean City off the main drag and several blocks from the boardwalk, this is a nice hotel. Newly renovated and excellent bedding and rooms. Breakfast was awful but at least it was free. Oranges, apples were good. If you want honky tonk of Ocean City, it could in the wrong location. We liked being away from the tacky hub-bub of hotels. Small gym, but it did the job.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia K, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
We want to thank you for sharing your review with us. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay at the Comfort Suites Ocean City, Maryland. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the new features and amenities of our recent full renovation! We do offer a free hot breakfast to all of our guests daily, however, we will still take your suggestions about the breakfast into consideration for adjustments. We hope that when visiting Ocean City in the future, your will allow us to accommodate your lodging needs again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    61
    22
    8
    15
See reviews for
75
53
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I understand that my vacation was scheduled during "peak season" in Ocean City however, my experience at the Comfort Suites upset me so much that I found it necessary to warn other travelers. This was my last vacation before taking board exams and applying for residency. It was my last chance to relax out of state and outside of a hospital. My friend/classmate and I were given a room on the first floor next to the elevator. (We had a 3 night reservation and an additional 1 night reservation). He went to the front desk to ask to switch rooms and was informed that the manager would be in following day but, that the hotel was completely booked. That night I was up until 5 am. The sounds of the elevator echoed throughout the room. I do not know why a room was even put directly next to the elevator but, it was horrible. I went to the desk the following day and spoke with the manager. I wanted to leave that day. I would have rather slept in the rental car. The manager did not offer a refund for the remainder of the 3 night stay. She questioned where I could even go on a Saturday during peak season. The only option that I was offered was to change rooms on the 4th night for an additional $30 for a heart shaped whirlpool. After calling the third party booking agent. I was granted a refund for the separate 1 night reservation. The other two nights, I was up until 4 and 5 respectively. Turning on the bathroom fan helped somewhat.

Save yourself the trouble and stay at the Courtyard.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahman C, General Manager at Comfort Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We really do attempt to fix any problems or concerns for our guests and reservation's through third parties are sometimes incorrect. The room you booked was and is exactly what you were assigned it's a hotel room type and there are only 3 in the hotel, you or the third party reservationist chose it. Your request for a room move, staying with us to attend a wedding, you told us you were a travel agent and explained the cancel policy to us and wanted and realized the 2nd reservation cancel would require an exception on our part, which we agreed. Our concern for cancelling the 2nd reservation, due to the busy weekend, was accommodate you after you found another location and not leave you in Ocean City without anywhere to sleep, just in case. At check out you seemed just fine, I hope that you truly did not a have a completely terrible weekend, everyone seemed pretty happy all weekend and when I had the occasion to see you, you did as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a great room, and the bed was very comfortable. The room and bathroom were clean. Location was on the north end of the strip and very convenient. We would definitely stay there again for the money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahman C, General Manager at Comfort Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay and we are humbled by the many reviews of so many enjoying their stay, our hospitality and we so look forward to everyone's return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown NJ
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Simply put This Hotel far exceeded my expectations. Staff was friendly and helpful. Pool was a big hit. Room was cool when we walked in. Rooms looked brand new. Carpet immaculate. Beds were comfortable and pillows were great. I stayed at Comfort Suites Leland, NC last year and had a fabulous experience so I gave Ocean City, MD a shot and it was just as fabulous. So happy to see consistency and I will be sure to choose Comfort Suites again!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahman C, General Manager at Comfort Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Exceeding expectations, just after a very nice property, review. Here at the hotel we are very happy to be caring for our guests and the hotel in such a way they are so very pleased and happy! This is Great! Thank you all very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Only stopped in for a quick overnight visit, and I was very surprised by the décor and the condition of the hotel, it was very clean and modern, probably one of the best kept secrets in West OC. The beds were very comfortable, and the bathrooms were clean and up to date, all the rooms have a fridge and microwave. Complimentary Breakfast was ok, waffles, eggs, sausage, a selection of fruit and pastries available. There is a market in the lobby where u can purchase small snacks and drinks. Overall a very good experience at the Comfort Suites, I will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahman C, General Manager at Comfort Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and really liked the hotel and it's location, always nice to hear! Hopefully you'll get the opportunity to be back in town and stay with us again, very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Nice size, newer renovated rooms and clean hotel. Very comfortable stay for a family of 5 (3 kids). We usually don't stay in hotels in OCMD because we don't like to be on top of each other but this wasn't bad experience at all for a weekend (we usually stay longer). We've never stayed this far away from everything but yet it didn't seem far at all. Plenty at your fingertips. We would do it again. The boys loved the basketball court on the premises as well. My only complaint is the weak Wi-Fi. That definitely needs to be addressed; other than that great hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahman C, General Manager at Comfort Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We enjoyed having you stay with us as well. The boys did truly seem to enjoy themselves. We agree nothing seems far away from us restaurants, beach, clubs, golf and the beautiful view of the shoreline at a very close restaurant, just makes it a great location! Hope to see all of you again we truly enjoy all our guests and look forward to a return visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Hotel has been refurbished; looked nice, rooms were clean and new; breakfast was busy but pretty good. We thought this location was good for golf and bars in the marina area.... all very close if you don't need the island. Deal was fair and GM was very helpful. Desk was OK but could have been nicer/friendlier .... too quick to debate simple things that could make it all more customer friendly. I had a sense they they were to used to "battling" with customers.... but we had only simple questions. Checking in and reservations was more complicated than necessary. One point of contact, used to dealing with a larger group may have helped. Over all it was very good.

Room Tip: no complaints... all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahman C, General Manager at Comfort Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Absolutely we have a point of contact for all our groups and if you would like to use this service next time you're group is in town no problem at all. Few, not many groups, as yourself choose to be more hands on regarding each reservation, however we have found most large groups sports teams, competitions, golfers, fishermen, weddings, reunions prefer we set up and take care of the details that ensure a smooth check in and pleasant stay. So glad you enjoyed yourself while staying with us and liked the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Ocean City

Address: 12718 Ocean Gateway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Ocean City 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® hotel is minutes from the Ocean City Beach and Boardwalk, OC Tanger Outlets, Assateague Island National Seashore, the Roland E. Powell Convention Center, Jolly Roger Amusement Park and the Ocean City Fishing Center.Additional nearby points of interest include:• Ocean Downs Racetrack• Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum• Ocean City Life-Saving Station MuseumThe hotel is close to several golf courses, a variety of restaurants, entertainment venues and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. The Ocean City Municipal Airport is just eight miles from this Maryland hotel.Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast.This Ocean City, MD hotel provides guests with many full-service amenities and features, including a free weekday newspaper. Guests will enjoy taking advantage of the on-site fitness center, game room, water slide and seasonal outdoor pool.Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like high-speed Internet access, a business center, and access to copy and fax services.This all-suite hotel features luxuriously appointed suites with coffee makers, refrigerators, microwaves, safes, voice mail, irons, ironing boards and cable television. Keep your electronic devices charged with the recharge device including AC and USB outlets provided in all guest rooms. For that special occasion, ask about rooms with whirlpool bathtubs.The Comfort Suites hotel will make your next trip to Ocean City, Maryland an exciting and memorable experience. Our friendly staff looks forward to serving you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Ocean City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.