We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Ocean City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Ocean City to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Ocean City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12718 Ocean Gateway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #26 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Edison, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved the place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Loved the room. Loved the pool which my kid was crazy about. Close to the outlet mall and other attractions. Has Dunkin Doughnuts right across the road and Starbucks besides. Very conviniently located.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahman C, General Manager at Comfort Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for the all encompassing review. We agree the location is great for the beach, tournament play for so many kids leagues, trips to Assateaque, casino as we do have beautiful weather on occasion it does rain and it's nice to have so many choices not far from where you stay, comeback and see us....soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    65
    22
    8
    17
See reviews for
79
59
10
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Bottom line the customer service is terrible, the mangers are poorly trained, the breakfast is boring, the front desk staff is disorganized , they are over priced. The only good thing here is the pool for kids. If you are in town for a family vacation stay at the beach or rent an apartment since you are not going to get good service anyway. They don't communicate well with each other. Now I know the General Manager is going to defend their hotel by responding to this rating , but I would really ignore it because the General Manager that replies to these ratings doesn't even work at this location .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahman C, General Manager at Comfort Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
In response, first the General Manager is definitely at this location, definitely! The front desk staff has helped coordinate bridal party stays, family reunions with multiple parties, sports tournament team events, pool children activities and multiple weeks of sold out nights just this month at the hotel. Breakfast- the waffles here alone are a sought after commodity--daily!! The desk is staffed 24 hrs/day 7 days per week with multiple personnel and having someone to solve any issue, answer questions, make restaurant recommendations, give directions or just to suit your needs we are here just for the asking!! Please in the future do not hesitate to ask the desk for help or stop by with any concerns at the time they occur giving us an opportunity to help make your stay enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Cable kept going out, they didn't fix it. Poor WIFI signal so no Internet. Heard everyone running around above us. Pool is catered to children only and small so no swimming and we couldn't get into the dining area for the breakfast because of all of the people and kids. The guests were all noisey and rude and the hotel is pet friendly so you have the dog smell/noise too. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahman C, General Manager at Comfort Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We are very sorry for the trouble with Comcast and the cable, the problem was all of this section of Ocean City and we were not pleased we had to wait so long to get it fixed either. Our pool has many large toys, and the kids do love it however it is large enough to lap swim and has areas adults may enjoy as well. Summertime when the hotel if full, everyone is excited about going to the beach and all the activities to do and it seems to appear for most guests so little time to get it all done. During your stay the tall ship, a replica of a ship from the 1600's was both exciting and dramatic for all. As to our pet rooms, those suites are cleaned very well for all stays and those suites are most specific for those stays only, we do not have pets running around or misbehaving here at the hotel. Our pet guests have very specific rules and expectations of behavior for their stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our family of 5 just returned from here, we loved the location and our second room was clean. The place itself needs some updating, carpets are very stained and dirty looking, desk staff was rude until a manager stepped in and took care of our issue and switched our room. Breakfast was kind of lousy with the exception of the waffles.They do not plan enough for a sold out hotel, leaving many people with no options at all and there is not enough room in the sitting area. The pool was freezing and only a kiddie pool, this was very disappointing to us as we usually use the pools and hot tubs at the hotels frequently.
We had to go get our own linens and make up the pull out sofa ourselves and it was a very dirty, thin mattress with no cover. We also had to go and ask for towels several days and they were always out of them??? How does a hotel not have towels for the rooms? The cleaning staff knocks on your door early in the morning and wakes you up ( even with the do not disturb sign up) to see if they need to clean your room. I have never stayed anywhere that does that before and was upset to lose sleep time
. Lots of little things that need to be fixed, staff should be trained on how to treat a guest and the place needs updating. The price they charge is equivalent to a luxury hotel and luxury this was not! Wi Fi was lousy as well.
On check out when asked about our stay we said that we loved the area but the hotel service was lacking and her uniterested reply was "oh well, that's nice", I'm not sure she cared or heard what we said ( this was the same woman that didn't believe us when we had an issue the first day upon check in, which was confirmed by maintenance and management!).

I guess it worked for a place to sleep but was not enjoyable, we will have to find a new location for our future stays as the area is one of our favorites.

Room Tip: Restarant in this case refers to the breakfast. I did not answer cleanliness because it depends on e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahman C, General Manager at Comfort Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We are very pleased you liked the location of the hotel and your suite actually. We try very hard to accommodate all reservations as they are made, however sometimes the correct number of guests are not listed or the room type isn't as the guest expects. Once in awhile we make a mistake and truly try to correct the situation as quickly and as easily for the guest as possible. Our complimentary breakfast each morning is very popular and sometimes we have many quests getting ready to go to the beach at the same time. With 5 persons in the suite you most likely were in need of replenished linens a little more often than the scheduled times. Rates are much higher in the Summer, higher than any other time of the year. If you and your family would like to come back to our location, with the very cool pool, and our soon to be completely remolded suites, lobby and breakfast room..we're here all year round, with some beautiful fall and spring weather and those lower rates you'd like!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights with a family of 6. We were trying to stay within a tight budget this year, and normally have rented a condo right on the beach. We were very pleased with our choice, and received great service. Although the elevator was broken upon arrival, an employee came right away to pleasantly help us with our bags - thanks, James! The elevator was fixed soon after that. They had our room ready a bit early, brought extra towels for us throughout our stay, and came within 5 minutes of being phoned to correct a problem with our hair dryer. Our younger children really enjoyed the pool, and the swingset out back was a nice surprise for our 4 and 6 year old! You do have to cross the bridge to get ocean access as they state, but we never had any difficulty with traffic. Since we were so close to fishing rentals, it was convenient to fish on the bay for the first time! I would stay here again, if looking for a place more reasonable than ocean front. It would be a tight fit as children get older, but they do have some adjoining rooms as well as the suites.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahman C, General Manager at Comfort Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for your review, it truly is a pleasure to read about how you enjoyed your vacation while staying with us. The elevator issue was a bit of a surprise for all of us and resolved rather quickly. James is great, we agree with you!! Looking forward to all your future reservations, keep in mind we are a year round hotel here in Ocean City and we have great weather well before Memorial Day and after Labor day for visits to the beach. We also do group rates for teams, clubs, many types of events call us direct and we will be happy to work with any of your adult or kid's activities during the school year!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hotel was clean and the staff was nice, but for the price we spent per night, we could have stayed on the boardwalk. You will be stuck in traffic driving to the beach on the weekend. The continental breakfast was very "no frills", and the dining area was too small to accomodate the guests. The pool is really designed for kids, but kid did enjoy it. The room was pretty basic, but the shower water was hot and had good pressure (I've had issues with this at other Ocean City hotels). The kids also enjoyed the basketball court. It was convenient to shopping and there were go karts within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahman C, General Manager at Comfort Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for the complements regarding staff, pool (truly kids do love it) and the condition of the hotel we do appreciate it and we are updating all suites this winter!! It is true the rates in the summer are higher, and ours are still much lower just minutes from the beach than ocean front. And the shopping location is terrific as well as the close proximity to the casino and most if not all tournaments so often played here in Ocean City! We are a year round hotel and there are many months where the rates are lower and the beach is great, come back an see us again, please!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

To start off we stayed here last year and other than the fact that the American Flag was torn on the flag pole and excuses were made then about the fact they didn’t have a spare one (I was about to go to Home Depot and buy one) our stay was very pleasant and we decided to come back this year again.
This year on Tuesday we were greeted with HORRIBLE internet service in the room and once again we were greeted with an excuse. The wireless signal strength was very low, so low that my wife had to go into the hallway with her iPad to get a signal. Our room, 314 is in the middle of the building. This time it was the router. In addition to the wireless not working well, the CAT 5 did NOT work in the room. Not once did they send anyone (maintenance) to our room. I had heard truthfully others complained about the lack of a strong enough signal to even get online. In all reality I could get by WITHOUT bringing a notebook computer, but since there is internet service I use it to see where to go and what to do. While I should be enjoying my stay, I was on the phone with your tech support Wandering Wi-Fi who supported the internet functions. Why in the world is your customer calling tech support? I paid over $700 to stay 4 days here. I got to be crazy!
One of the most amazing things I found was housekeeping was more interested in our problem than the front desk. Now that’s a problem!
One other thing I found interesting was last night July 24th while going out to eat I witnessed one of you employees pull out of a handicapped parking spot. I saw no handicap plates or mirror tag indicating that she was eligible to park there.
As we went to check out my wife told the woman at the desk how horrible the internet was again. The hotel’s response this time was we reset it numerous times. Not what you told me earlier. You said it was a router problem and that it was being replaced no later than Thursday. We were offered a one night complimentary stay as a solution. The stay would be for fall thru spring. Let me get this straight I’m going to travel 3 ½ hours to stay overnight? We were never asked how our stay was. I assume they already had known the answer.
When I got home I hooked my notebook computer directly to my router with both Cat 5 wires that I had with me. Everything worked at my home. Farewell to staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else where customer service is king!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia K, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced while staying with us. We strive for perfection in our hotel rooms and the service and comfort of our guests is a top priority. We do realize, at time, when a high number of guests access the WiFI it can sometimes cause technical difficulty with the WIFI. We have, however, addresed this situation and we are working on a much higher speed of Internet for our guests to enjoy. We apologize that it was an inconvenience to you and we hope that you enjoyed the complimentary upgraded room that we assigned you as a result. We do try our best to ensure our guests are satisfied and we hope that you will allow us to accomodate your lodging needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Ocean City

Address: 12718 Ocean Gateway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Ocean City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® hotel is minutes from the Ocean City Beach and Boardwalk, OC Tanger Outlets, Assateague Island National Seashore, the Roland E. Powell Convention Center, Jolly Roger Amusement Park and the Ocean City Fishing Center.Additional nearby points of interest include:• Ocean Downs Racetrack• Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum• Ocean City Life-Saving Station MuseumThe hotel is close to several golf courses, a variety of restaurants, entertainment venues and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. The Ocean City Municipal Airport is just eight miles from this Maryland hotel.Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast.This Ocean City, MD hotel provides guests with many full-service amenities and features, including a free weekday newspaper. Guests will enjoy taking advantage of the on-site fitness center, game room, water slide and seasonal outdoor pool.Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like high-speed Internet access, a business center, and access to copy and fax services.This all-suite hotel features luxuriously appointed suites with coffee makers, refrigerators, microwaves, safes, voice mail, irons, ironing boards and cable television. Keep your electronic devices charged with the recharge device including AC and USB outlets provided in all guest rooms. For that special occasion, ask about rooms with whirlpool bathtubs.The Comfort Suites hotel will make your next trip to Ocean City, Maryland an exciting and memorable experience. Our friendly staff looks forward to serving you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Ocean City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.