We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better last year” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Ocean City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Ocean City to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Ocean City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12718 Ocean Gateway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #25 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Better last year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

it's a nice hotel and the room was a good size but things were much cleaner before for example the towels in the bathroom had hair on them which we just through down and asked for new ones I'm not sure if this was over looked or if there is new management but I think they need to work a little harder when they check rooms

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahman C, General Manager at Comfort Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
A guest’s comments are always very important to us as they let us know how we measured up to their expectations. We will look in to this situation to why your room was not cleaned properly and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience for this situation that occurred. We hope you allow us to serve you better in the future. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    67
    22
    8
    17
See reviews for
81
59
11
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Hotel is right acroos the bridge and close to Shopping Malls, 5 mins drive to Boardwalk/beach - Rooms are nice. It was enough space for 5 ppl in our party- Coming from NYC, it was a def a quieter place to relax and enjoy the beach with my family. Will def book again.
GO STEELERS!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahman C, General Manager at Comfort Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Comfort Suites! We are also glad to hear that you were pleased with our location! We strive to make sure everything is just right for every guest that comes to stay with us. We hope you come see us again on your next trip to Ocean City, MD! Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I understand why people stay here. The pool seems nice, it's away from hectic crowd yet close enough to the action. However, I found the service at this hotel to be impersonal. I had to stand in front of the front desk for 15 minutes while the two workers were busy on the phone. Finally gave up and went upstairs. Beside this the hotel is not clean. It appears to be clean but after inspection found it to be quite dirty. I would not recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahman C, General Manager at Comfort Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
It is the Comfort Suites intent to provide excellent service and hospitality to our guests, and not only meet, but also to exceed our guest’s expectations. A guest’s comments are always very important to us as they let us know how we measured up to their expectations. This is certainly a matter that will be looked into. We strive to take great care in the cleanliness of our hotel as well as our immediate attention to every incoming guest. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience. Please allow us the opportunity to serve you better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We should have figured this was going to be a bad experience early on. At check in we weren't given the room we had paid for (since they charge your entire stay on your card at check in). We had been confirmed for a room with two queen beds and a pull out sofa. We were given a room w/ two queen beds. When we went back to the front desk, the desk clerk couldn't have been more rude and unhelpful. She indicated that there were no such rooms in the hotel..that even though it was quoted on the internet that those rooms existed in that hotel that it wasn't accurate. I knew she was incorrect because we had stayed in the same hotel you years prior. I saw a housekeeping supervisor and queried her as to whether or not the hotel had been renovated/upgraded in the past two years and she said no. We told her what the front desk clerk (Mary Anne, I think was her name..an older woman with quite an attitude) said and she said that she was wrong and that they had just cleaned a room like we were inquiring about and she'd check if we could check into it. Mary Anne was none too pleased about having to make the change or maybe she was just embarrassed because she had been caught in a lie. Who knows...

We moved into room appeared clean enough until we discovered bed bugs the next day. We took the bug to the front desk, only to be told by the very arrogant Hotel Manager (Rami?) that it was a water bug that we had probably brought back from the beach, even though we had yet to venture to the beach. He essentially blamed us for the bugs and said "I can't be responsible for that!" We decided not to take that sitting down, so we went to our room again and pulled all linens off the bed to discover more bugs in the mattress. We found a housekeeping inspector, showed her the bugs and she confirmed that they were bed bugs. We followed her to the front desk and listened as she told the Hotel Manager what she discovered. He was less arrogant this time and couldn't apologize enough. Although we got our stay comped, it was a horrible experience.

If you go, stay at your own risk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Room was very clean and comfy, and a great deal too. Everything inside seemed to be well maintained and clean. We did not use the pool, so I cannot review that, although it looked nice. Hotel is not right on the beach, but about a mile down the road from the boardwalk end of the beach. Hotel staff seemed to be friendly, although we weren't there long enough to have much interaction with them. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahman C, General Manager at Comfort Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your feedback is a vital part of our success and we value all the feedback we receive from our guests. Our staff looks forward to welcoming you again soon! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Much cheaper than the ocean front hotels. About a mile from the beach, an easy drive, and the last week of July we had no problem finding parking within one block of the boardwalk. Parking wasn't expensive. Hotel and room was clean. Would definitely stay here again! We never went down or free breakfast because room was always too crowded.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahman C, General Manager at Comfort Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel! We are happy everything accommodated you well. Re guarding our breakfast area, our guests absolutely love the breakfast! Although it may be crowded at times, we hope you come visit us again and give it a try! We are sure you'll return for seconds! We hope to welcome you again soon! Have a good day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celbridge, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I would probably have given this hotel an average rating if it wasnt for the customer service. On checking in there was a problem with our reservation. It seemed we were checked in for a Queen room which says holds 2 people although there were 4 people in our party. The guy behind the desk couldnt have been less helpfull if he tried. Him and and another girl were more interested in talking about their plans that night. Then we inquired about getting the room upgraded or getting another room. He was throwing out all these prices then was pushing us into using our credit card to pay.

Eventually we said we'll just take the room we have at the moment. Went down to the room and it turns out theres a pull out couch so the room held 4 no problem. This guy behind the desk would have known this and was clearly just interested in taking more money off us. I would have went back and complained but at that stage all we wanted to do was settle and get on with our vacation. Its probably some of the worst customer service behind a hotel reception Ive ever seen. The room was fairly small, pool was okay. I definetly wouldnt recommend it and wouldnt go back

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Ocean City

Address: 12718 Ocean Gateway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Ocean City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® hotel is minutes from the Ocean City Beach and Boardwalk, OC Tanger Outlets, Assateague Island National Seashore, the Roland E. Powell Convention Center, Jolly Roger Amusement Park and the Ocean City Fishing Center.Additional nearby points of interest include:• Ocean Downs Racetrack• Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum• Ocean City Life-Saving Station MuseumThe hotel is close to several golf courses, a variety of restaurants, entertainment venues and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. The Ocean City Municipal Airport is just eight miles from this Maryland hotel.Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast.This Ocean City, MD hotel provides guests with many full-service amenities and features, including a free weekday newspaper. Guests will enjoy taking advantage of the on-site fitness center, game room, water slide and seasonal outdoor pool.Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like high-speed Internet access, a business center, and access to copy and fax services.This all-suite hotel features luxuriously appointed suites with coffee makers, refrigerators, microwaves, safes, voice mail, irons, ironing boards and cable television. Keep your electronic devices charged with the recharge device including AC and USB outlets provided in all guest rooms. For that special occasion, ask about rooms with whirlpool bathtubs.The Comfort Suites hotel will make your next trip to Ocean City, Maryland an exciting and memorable experience. Our friendly staff looks forward to serving you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Ocean City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.