We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't go again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Bonfire

The Bonfire
7009 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-2927
410 524 7171
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 385 Restaurants in Ocean City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The food is just so so and considering the price, it should be incredible. The shrimp were over- cooked, the crab dip had a funny taste (as well as the crab soup) and they only allow you to take 2 crab claws at a time. It's disappointing that they don't even offer Maryland blue crabs since they are in Maryland. They do have a big selection, but it is way overpriced for what they offer.
We did have an excellent server who kept our drinks full and our shell bowl empty.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    132
    62
    38
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“BEST seafood buffet, in Ocean City, Md.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We've tried them all, including the one, in 2 locations, that everyone THINKS is good. I prefer BONFIRE, for the quality variety of items available. Especially like the hot crab dip. Several different areas to sit. Bar that's very nice with live entertainment.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inlet, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Accommodating Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We were a large group but were delayed getting there. The restaurant graciously held the table.

The food is OK. If you expect haute cuisine at a smorgasbord, then you're going to have a life of disappointment. If you expect and want ample selection of all sorts of soups, salads, meats, pastas, sides, desserts, fish.....then this is your place.

The fresh fried doughnuts are a delight.

Our server, Becky, was terrific. She kept the table clean and the beers and sodas full.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Won't be Back..”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We have been going to the Bonfire for many years and have always been very happy with the food and service. This time, it was awful. The only things that were good were the crab legs, prime rib and shrimp, which are really hard to screw up. The Maryland Crab and cream of crab soups which were great in the past were inedible. We ordered a kids meal cheeseburger for our granddaughter - the waitress asked how she wanted it cooked - which really turned out to be a joke as it was obvious that they were all precooked, about 1/8 of an inch thick, and from the buffet. One cheeseburger was okay, but the other tasted bad as well as an odd grayish color. The waitress took it to the manager, he said it was ok and did not take off the check. Agree with the other reviews - price is high for really bad quality food - waitress was okay.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It was OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We have been to the Bonfire many times and have loved it. However, I was very disappointed this time. The food was just so/so. Some things were better than others. A lot of the food - especially the crab legs - did not have much flavor. As for our server, she was great. Kept the dirty dishes away, empted our shell bowl and kept our glasses full. I'm hoping this was just a one time disappointment and the next time we visit OC, the Bonfire will be back to their good quality of food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bonfire also viewed

 

Been to The Bonfire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bonfire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.