We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of General's Kitchen

General's Kitchen
7400 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842
(410) 723-0477
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 378 restaurants in Ocean City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
lancaster
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Try it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had been wanting to try breakfast after reading and Recommendations. Bottom line is that the service was not first light friendly, food was mediocre at best and we left wondering what the fuss was about . Quite honestly I've made better chip beef gravy and biscuits by accident then They do on purpose . On the plus side service was fast and food came out very quickly. But chip beef was lukewarm and scrambled egg seemed more like a fried egg. I will try to place again but my spouse Said "no way"

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    41
    38
    15
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

cream chip beef is excellent. every year i get the same thing and never dissapointed,others at my party agree.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, MD
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very Good Breakfast!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

First time in Ocean City and came here based on reviews from Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. Arrived and seated immediately. Our server, very friendly and accomodating brought us coffee as soon as we were seated and took our order. The coffee was hot and tasted great, and our cups were never allowed to empty. Looking around, the restaurant is dated, however, it has a homey feel. Breakfast arrived quickly and it was very good, hot, perfectly cooked and flavorful. (not to mention, large portions). Located on the ground floor of a motel, it was not to hard to find. Would recommend to anyone looking for a good breakfast in Ocen City, MD.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What's the big deal?!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

So we went to this place upon hearing how good it was. It was pretty disappointing. The food was delivered quickly but was nothing to rave about. The cream chip beef was mediocre. Service was okay. OC needs to step it up if this is considered a really good breakfast.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Md
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Been coming here for years and love everything. Coffee is robust. French toast is great. Kids love the 1000+ hats on the walls. Small place but they turn the tables fast. This is our first breakfast every year in OC.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed General's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to General's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.