We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shark on the Harbor

The Shark on the Harbor
12924 Sunset Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842
4102130924
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 384 Restaurants in Ocean City
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Contrary to some of the other reviews, my family had a fabulous meal! Hostess and server excellent. We had a reservation and only had to wait 5 minutes to set our table which gave my husband and I time to grab a drink at the bar and the kids went upstairs and played in the loft area. Atmosphere was very cool, food excellent, service excellent. We will definitely go back next year!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    155
    41
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Different menu every meal using local fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We found Shark on the Harbor from TripAdvisor. It's quite unique as each meal is prepared from fish caught that day, local beef and local vegetables. The kids enjoyed the popcorn shrimp. I loved my mussels and andouille sausage in white wine and garlic. My mahi was topped with a luscious smoked blue fish paste. Although Shark is on the mainland side of OC, it's set right on the docks next to the fishing boats, giving a New England feel. As each menu is unique, this is a great place to come ack to.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband is an executive chef and we know food. A very pleasant surprise. Amazing food mostly local farm to table modern american cuisine. we tried three appetizers and three entrees everything was amazing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Shrimp and grits”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Tried shrimp n grits for the first time. Delicious! Boiled shrimp, great. My least favorite server of the OC trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gourmet meal with wonderful view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were across the street at the Sunset Marina for a week and therefore tried a number of restaurants recommended by the locals. This was one of the ones that came highly recommended. We went at 7 pm on a weekday and the place was packed. We were a party of 4 without a reservation and they told us it would be 45 min. Well, I wanted to go here and there was space at the bar. Most places overestimate so we decided to give it a shot and if need be we could eat at the bar.
Kinda cool, they take your cell phone number and text and if needed call you when your table is ready.
The resturant is elevated and the view of the bay is wonderful. At the time we went the lighting was perfect. Got a local cocktail, Orange Crush, and it was good. When in Ocean City, make sure you got one.
We ordered appetizers to eat at the bar, but in ten minutes our table was ready. We had a crab dip, wasabi tuna and some shrimp. All good. Main course for me was grilled swordfish in a blueberry sauce. It was amazing. Our waitress was a "foodie" and could answer any question about the menu. She was most helpful with recommendations. Others had the crab cake and said it was excellent. Had a blueberry creme brûlée that was fantastic.
Bottom line- great dinner. Only advice I have is: not all tables have good views. Go early or see if you can reserve one.
We enjoyed our dinner here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shark on the Harbor also viewed

 

Been to The Shark on the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shark on the Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.