We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite (by far) in Ocean City!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shark on the Harbor

The Shark on the Harbor
12924 Sunset Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842
4102130924
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 345 Restaurants in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Our favorite (by far) in Ocean City!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I can't recommend highly enough this outstanding little gem on the harbor in West Ocean City. The daily lunch specials are incredible bargains, considering the quality. The regular lunch and dinner menu is full of well prepared, yummy choices, with an emphasis (of course) on sea food. They make a point in using local vendors (including for the meat and fish; sometimes you can see the catch being brought in from the adjoining docks to the kitchen!), as well as local and sustainable providers of vegetables and greens. A nice wine list. Reasonable prices. You can't beat it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    520
    169
    45
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boonsboro, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“always great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

a great place to eat, always fresh, always outstanding. right on the water....best sea food in OC. make sure you make reservations on the weekend

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Every local and old time visitor to Ocean City who appreciates the finer things in life knows about The Shark on The Harbor. No need really to write much of a detailed review. Go on line and read the menu. The menu changes with availability of fresh vegetables and entreés. Look what I had for one dinner.
duck two ways 1st: crispy duck confit / fig and cherry chutney / triple cream brie. 2nd: duck breast / balsamic reduction / fingerling sweet potatoes / vegetable.

http://www.ocshark.com/kitchen.cfm

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Pines, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and very nice view of the old fishing harbor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have never had a bad experience at this nice restaurant. Good prices, good food, very nice bartenders and staff. Happy hour food and drink is always reasonable and in fact, very good and affordable. I would recommend The Shark to anyone visiting, or living in the Ocean City, Md. area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

After reading the rave reviews I tried The Shark. Upon arrival, I noted there were very few diners. Seated immediately, the waitress brought out a fabulous menu-very impressive. I decided to order one of the specials and was totally underwhelmed. The dish contained shrimp-which were few in number. A good thing considering they were very strong tasting. While service was good, and the view was great, I don't think I'll be going back. I ate the entire dish and was still hungry-taste was mediocre at best. I'll continue my quest to locate the best restaurant in Ocean City. This one doesn't make even close to the mark.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shark on the Harbor also viewed

 
Ocean City, MD
 

Been to The Shark on the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shark on the Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.