We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THESE PEOPLE SHOULD NOT BE IN THE CRAB BUSINESS” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bahama Mama's

Bahama Mama's
221 Wicimico St., Ocean City, MD 21842-4232
(410) 289-0291
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #329 of 383 Restaurants in Ocean City
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Ocean City, Maryland
1 review
“THESE PEOPLE SHOULD NOT BE IN THE CRAB BUSINESS”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

When people go out to a crab house and order crabs by the dozen it is for one purpose.... you want heavy, full crabs and you know approximately how large the crab will be based on the size you ordered. These were not heavy or full. We ordered jumbos, and paid $80 for a dozen and they were very light. I complained to the owner herself and she responded by telling me that I got what I ordered. She said that they don't say the crabs will be full they only state the size of the shell. They are a disgrace to anyone in the crab business!! And FYI it says in big bold letters on the side of the building Heavy Crabs. I am amazed they are still in business. Terrible food and deplorable customer service!! We will never go back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    11
    8
    10
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewistown Pa.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Friendly knowledgeable staff but pretty overpriced for seafood of this caliber. There are to many places close by that give alot more for alot less for us to eat here.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful outdoor dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My family and I ate outdoors on a beautiful September night overlooking the bay. Ordered appetizers and crabs. Crabs were so fresh and sweet. Excellent meal. Would go back again and again!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Fl
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Thumbs Down for OC Bahama Mama's”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My friends were visiting from out of town and I wanted them to have the best Maryland crabs available. Not at this restaurant. I called ahead to reserve seats and crabs. We ordered beverages and our food. The beverages arrived and 10 mins. later the crabs. They were NOT hot and steamy and were very dry. The view from the bay deck and balcony was the only thing good. Don't waste your time or $$$.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Ugh”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

OK, so we didn't get the crabs which they are known for. So maybe it's our fault. But the food we did get was not good at all.
The bacon wasn't cooked in our club sandwiches, it was pretty much raw. Plus I found two broken pieces of toothpicks in my sandwich in two different sections.
Soup was just gross.
The flounder sandwich was like a piece of breaded flounder you'd by at a grocery store in the freezer section.
Would not recommend it at all.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahama Mama's also viewed

 

Been to Bahama Mama's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahama Mama's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.