We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably will not go back” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Lodge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ocean Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Lodge Hotel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   801 North Philadelphia Avenue, Ocean City, MD MD 21842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 107 hotels in Ocean City
1 review
“Probably will not go back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked the Ocean Lodge for one night, Rooms were small. Parking lot was very very tight. Good thing I didn't drive my Mini van to OC. Service was good though.

The one BIG issue we had was that my wife contracted head lice from the pillows. We racked our brains and trying to determine where she had been exposed. And the Ocean Lodge is the only exposure she had and immediately started itching the day we check out. I'd recommend they wash their linens more thoroughly.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    1
    4
    10
See reviews for
2
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

My family stayed at Ocean Lodge for 2 nights. My husband, son (10 years old), daughter (1 year old) & myself had a wonderful time. We arrived about 3:45pm, the lady at the front desk was wonderful. Showed me the room, where to park & said if we need anything to let her know. We parked the car (private parking lot) and went in. Walked into the room to find a very clean room, it even smelled clean!!
Room was small, but that was not a problem. I was not living in this room, just a place to shower and sleep at night! Bathroom was very clean, no sand on the floor or in the shower. There was a mini fridge, microwave, flat screen tv (not sure of the channels but we did get Nick and TBS) WIFI, alarm clock & they provide towels!!! That was a huge plus, I didn't have to bring extra! This place is only 2 blocks from the boardwalk! Close enough to walk but far enough away that your not up all night from the boardwalk hoopla! I will defiantly stay at this place again!! Well worth what I paid!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Owner is very rude. Room is extremely small! We booked for 3 nights. I wish I would have looked at the room beforehand. The 2 beds filled up the room. My son is 6ft and could barely turn around in the bathroom. Absolutely no room to park. We had to call the owner 2x to come to the front desk. Extremely rude! Told us you get what you pay for. Funny we found a 2 bedroom apt a block from the beach for 25$ more a night! I wouldn't recommend staying here if you prefer room to move around or have more then one person in your group!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The two positive things about this place are, it is a close walk to the beach and relatively clean. The beds are terrible and the sheets and carpeting probably has not been updated in ten years. Also, I understand it's a "cheap" stay but our space was incredibly small for supposedly sleeping 4 people. We were also with a group that had the apartment that can sleep up to 10. This space only has one bathroom, and provided no towels. The front desk never told the group they had to bring their own.
The front desk woman is also incredibly rude and unhelpful and despite the fact they knew we had 14 people staying they told us upon arrival we could only have two parking spots. I can only think this place can get away with this because they have this location, and I'm sure many a high school senior willingly pays for these cheap rooms. I've stayed in Ocean City before and trust me for what they charge you can find better.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver spring
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I regret paying every penny I gave!!!
Parking is terrible!!
Beds suck PERIOD!!
I paid to stay in a apartment with kitchen and when I show up they say I paid for a STANDARD ROOM! Like really?!! I could have gone somewhere else and any other "STANDARD ROOM" would have at least a bigger bathroom and at least couches too!!
Talk about WIFI!!! They don't have any signal at all!!!
And omg! Don't get me started on cable!!! They don't even have basic channels!!!! You have to pay to watch something!!!! Like really I'm paying enough and for me to pay for anything else ! Yeaaaa
right!!! I'm happy to say I will NEVER COME BACK!!!
Everyone who reads this don't waste your time your better off somewhere else!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland md
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ants in kitchen. Broken dining furniture. The shower was dirty, had no water pressure, did I say dirty! No towels and not enough bedding provided. Location was great, and staff was friendly, but not helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

I would definitely recommend this hotel. We had a large group of 18 year olds for an entire week and never had one problem. We followed the rules and got along great with the staff and owners. We got our entire security deposit back with a discount offered if we would come back. The owners were extremely kind and helpful. On our way down we were in a car accident which left us with 2 cars out of 3 totaled. My sister had to pick us up and drive us the rest of the way to Maryland and The ocean lodge hotel was very understanding and helpful. They were Even kind enough to let my sister stay with us free of charge for one night because of the circumstances, despite their no guest policy. Our apartment was clean and had plenty of room for a good price. Anyone who had a problem with this hotel was obviously just breaking the rules and now are upset about the consequences.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge Hotel

Address: 801 North Philadelphia Avenue, Ocean City, MD MD 21842
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 107 hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Lodge Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE OCEAN LODGE HOTEL. After a successful season of 2013, the Ocean Lodge Hotel's management and staff are looking forward to a wonderful Summer of 2014 with all of you! The Ocean Lodge Hotel in Ocean City Maryland invites you to relax and enjoy your summer vacation in our clean, comfortable and friendly environment. Our three floor building provides one and two double bed rooms as well as apartments, and it is located downtown to the heart of the Ocean City on 8th street and Philadelphia Avenue.** Our convenient location is only two short blocks from the beach and the famous Ocean City Boardwalk! Ocean Lodge Hotel has a front deck and a common balcony which is a great place to be during big events such as the Car Show and Bike Week. All of our rooms are non smoking and equipped with satellite TV, wireless internet access for free, refrigerator, air-conditioning, microwave, and private bath. Complimentary fresh coffee is available in the lobby every morning. * * * We also offer free parking! (One parking spot per room)Our goal at the Ocean Lodge Hotel is to make your summer vacation a relaxing experience so you can enjoy that time with your family and/or friends. Families, groups, and couples will find our quiet, clean, and comfortable hotel ideally suited to your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ocean Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.