We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shrimp Boat

Shrimp Boat
9724 Stephen Decatur Hwy, The Road To Assateague, Ocean City, MD
4102130448
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 384 Restaurants in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, Seafood, Sandwiches, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Delicious shrimp! Great French fries! Nice touch is the free shrimp sample.
Great atmosphere. Relaxed, and casual.
I would recommend this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    39
    12
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irwin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food - pleasant staff - good crab cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My wife and I ate here on the recommendation of our daughter. We found it to be a very enjoyable meal. We were greeted by our waitress with a sample of two large shrimp, which were very tasty. My wife had the crab cake. She said it was excellent with lots of large chunks of crab meat. We have paid more for crab cakes at other area restaurants which weren't as good. I am not a seafood eater so I opted for a hamburger. Since this is basically a seafood place I didn't expect it to be anything special. It was very good. They also have a nice selection of beers. Not a real fancy place . . .but if you are looking for fresh, good food at a reasonable price this is the place. We will definitely make this a stop anytime we are in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“shrimp boat yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Real fresh seafood to eat there, bring with, or buy and cook yourself. Best cream of crab soup on either side of the bridge

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic shrimp, and great hardshell crabs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

What else can I say? The Shrimp Boat has fantastic seafood which is of high QUALITY. My family and I dined here in July 2013 and also ordered carry out in the same month, and was highly impressed with the food. We ordered medium male steamed crabs, and 2lbs of shrimp on both occasions, and each time was very pleased with the seasoning, and *freshness* of the seafood. The beer was cold and not overly priced, and the service was good given how busy they were each time.
I look forward to going to the Shrimp Boat each time I visit Ocean City. If you like fresh seafood, this is the place for you. If you want great chicken and burgers, this may not be what you're looking for. ( try Bull on the Beach ) After all, it is called "the shrimp boat."

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fair and not special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stopped here on the recommendation of one of our golf group. It was a passable meal with nothing noteworthy, except the "fresh" shrimp. The shrimp are shipped in each day, whole including the head attached. They were noticeably more tender than something you would get elsewhere which have been previously frozen and thawed. I have Cream of crab soup which lacked significant crabmeat and had a bitter aftertaste. I also ordered single fry oysters, since oyster season had just opened. They were heavily breaded and overcooked. Others ordered the crabcakes and said that they were good. I wouldn't go out of my way to stop here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shrimp Boat also viewed

 

Been to Shrimp Boat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shrimp Boat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.