We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fresh Seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shrimp Boat

Shrimp Boat
9724 Stephen Decatur Hwy, The Road To Assateague, Ocean City, MD
4102130448
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 386 Restaurants in Ocean City
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Fish & Chips, Soups, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Albany, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Fresh Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Visited Ocean City for the first time last week, and ended up eating here twice! The shrimp was steamed with the heads on, and was delicious. The fried green tomatoes were great. My friend had the crab soup and fried shrimp basket, and was very happy. We split one of the Smith Island cakes for dessert and it was great. I loved our lunch so much that I bought a t-shirt, and then came back for dinner. I'm always looking for great crabcakes in Maryland, and these were the best I had on this trip - lots of crab, not fillers. The restaurant is very basic and casual, no a/c, so it gives the feeling of eating seafood right off the boat. The staff was really friendly and helpful, and the owner came out at lunchtime to great each table and ask how our meal was. Overall, my favorite place in Ocean City.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    39
    12
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“great shrimp, weird set up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

First off didn't have the crabs, but they looked plump and fresh, but the shrimp were delicious and reasonably priced, $10/lb for mix of med/large cooked. Grouper nuggets were tasty but not amazing, ditto the hush puppies and sweet potato fries. Only real complaint is a weird set up if you haven't been there before/ don't know how it works. You are supposed to order at the front but no signs saying so that I saw, pick up at another window 30 feet away, unless you want to eat there, but no obvious signs on the screened in porch that I saw saying seat self or wait for hostess or any real direction as to where or how to order if you were planning to eat there. However, it's a very minor gripe for an otherwise good meal, we could have easily just sat at the tables out front after getting take out,and they were happy to work with us even though we went to the wrong window to order. Final opinion, very fresh, very well cooked steamed and seasoned seafood at a great price, just still working the kinks out as a "restaurant" as opposed to a take out shack, but check it out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlestown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Was better last year”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Lovvved this place last year and I couldn't wait to go back this year. Their cream of crab soup was awesome last year so without hesitation I bought a quart of it for $22. Horrible! No old bay seasoning, no sherry and a crab shell in every bite! How could it change so much! The shrimp were still ok but even they were a bit mushy :(

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous crabs. Eat where the locals eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We couldn't wait to get to the Ocean City leg of our trip so we could enjoy Maryland's famous crabs. The Shrimp Boat more than delivers. We were camping at Castaways and were biking to the boardwalk when we happened to be riding by. The owner, Joe, offered us free samples of their shrimp and we made a reservation for dinner. The crabs were tastier and fresher than the ones we had the night before at Crab Alley. Go for the crabs. We ate at picnic tables by the side of highway 611, but with the brown paper, the umbrellas and the tiki torches it was really a perfect casual setting. You can eat inside, but it's more fun outside. Burgers were tasty but not sizeable. The tuna was a standout. If we had more time in OC we would eat here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best meal in a long time and worth the value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We went here on a Friday night, at 5:15, only two other tables seated besides ours. Our waiter Troy was phenomenal and helpful when asking about dishes. The fried green beans are the best we have ever tasted, plus the hushpuppies were great also. My husband had grouper bites and I had shrimp taco's which were so good. We have paid so many overpriced meals which were just average, this was just the opposite. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shrimp Boat also viewed

 

Been to Shrimp Boat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shrimp Boat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.