We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Hampton Brand, Great for OC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4301 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #3 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Springfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Good for Hampton Brand, Great for OC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I'm a frequent guest at Hampton Inns and this one is definitely in the top tier since it is so new. Has all the usual Hampton stuff, including broken juice machines at breakfast (how hard is it for Hampton to train staff to refill the juices? This seems to be a widespread Hampton problem this year).

As others said, a nice pool and tiki bar. Good location other than having to play Frogger to cross Coastal Highway to get to the beach (but you can also park on the other side of the highway in the Hampton overflow lot).

If you are a loyal Hhonors member, this is the second best choice in OC after the Hilton, and will cost you a couple hundred dollars less per night.

My only real complaint is that the walls are PAPER thin. Typical for a new construction hotel, unfortunately. We heard both our neighbors both nights of our stay. Nothing extra loud that you would complain to the front desk about, just normal conversations or TV sounds but they were like it was inside our own room. Shoddy, cheap modern construction is the cause. Pack your ear plugs.

Front desk staff was young and ambivalent, but that unfortunately is par for the course in OC.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    109
    32
    10
    10
See reviews for
175
125
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel is great! Especially for the price paid checking in on Labor Day. The staff was helpful and friendly. It is located near 45 Street and is close to everything.

The room was clean, a little small. Only three drawers for our clothes. It had a microwave and small fridge. Nothing spectacular, just as expected. Our second night, our room had a strong smell of vomit. As soon as we called, we got a knock at the door. Maintenance came and shampooed the carpet right away.

We booked the bayside and the view was wonderful overlooking the pool and out into the bay. The balcony is not private, you could climb to the next balcony if you wanted to.
The pool area is a nice size. The hot tub was not hot, the pool seemed to be heated. There were enough tables, chairs and lounge chairs. The Tiki bar had good drinks and the food was good. It is prepared as you wait.

Parking was a challenge if coming back late at night (10pm). There is additional parking across the Coastal Highway next to "On the Bay Seafood" restaurant. You can also park there and walk to the beach during the day if you don't want to tackle the six lane highway.

Breakfast was good except for the eggs, a little dry. There are two waffle makers, fruit, oatmeal, cereal, pastries, muffins, bread, bagels and much more. More than adequate for being free. There are even breakfast bags to go by the front desk if you are running out and can't sit and eat. Contains water, apple, cereal bar, mints and a muffin. Three different types of coffee and hot water are available 24x7. Different tea bags and hot chocolate as well.

All in all a very good place to stay. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Bayside, but away from the elevators. You hear them going all the time
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

After planning a weekend here I made sure to check the reviews. Let me just say this was the best hotel I have stayed at in OC. Not sure where the negative reviews come from. Very clean, modern and great location. Short walk to beach, boardwalk a little far but close to everything else. If you go on vacation and expect a 100% clean hotel, you not going to find that anywhere. Small stain on the carpet but that was no deal breaker. Great pool, lobby , breakfast and Tiki bar. If you are looking for a quiet get away STAY HERE! I will be back every time I go to OC

Room Tip: Spend the extra and get a bay front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rbhde, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful review of our property! We're happy that you enjoyed your stay and were happy with everything. We look foward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great Bayside views. Holiday rates are very high. Hotel would be great value on non-Holiday weekend rates. About one block (very convenient) from beach, but must cross busy road to get to beach. Casual dining option, for families, for breakfast, lunch, & dinner one down the street at "The Dough Roller." (If you don't wake up in time for free breakfast.) More lively bar & entertainment option up the street one block from hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, MD, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We prefer Hampton's because we are very rarely disappointed with the hotel ... it's just that simple! My only gripe is that when I SPECIFICALLY ASK for an early check in and am told they will 'do what they can' and then the room is NEVER READY, why not just tell me honestly that they are short staffed and cannot accommodate my request?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rbhde, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write about your experience with us! We are sorry we weren't able to accommodate your early check in. Unfortunately, depending on the room type you booked, and because of our high occupancy during the prime months, we can't always get you checked in early. If rooms are available, we certainly do check in the guests early. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in Ocean City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Md
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

First visit to OC, so a lot to see and do. Hotel is not exactly in the most convenient locale. Quite a few restaurants, bars, fast food, but a good drive to the Boardwalk. If you're looking for a quiet place to hang out with a significant other, maybe the right place, but kids are not optional. They're everywhere until the sun goes down..... Hotel is relatively new, clean and safe. Rooms are a little tight for more than two with big soft beds, almost too soft. Breakfast typical for most hotels with hot and cold foods. Pool area very nice with a fire pit for the evening dip and dry.

Room Tip: Stay on the bay side at least on the 3rd floor, quieter and a lot more picturesque. Nice sunsets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rbhde, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we're happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself! We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit Ocean City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Good - Hotel is a short walk to beach and offers great breakfast. Pool deck is great for viewing sunsets. The Bad - Room was small and show signs of wear even though newer hotel. Carpet was stained, bathroom had crack in tub and dent in wall. Elevator is heard throughout building. Balcony has no privacy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City

Address: 4301 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.