We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reservations?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Back Bay Adventures

Back Bay Adventures
400 32nd Street, Ocean City, MD 21842
+1 443-783-4633
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 61 Activities in Ocean City
Type: Boat Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Offering Ocean City, MD bay fishing, private charters and parties, jet ski rentals, kayak and paddleboard rentals, and clamming, SUP, kayak, and Assateague Island eco-tours!
Newark, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Reservations?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I initially made a reservation with a young man over the phone but seriously doubted his abiltity to complete the transaction and secure our spots on the boat. I did however receive a follow up call & confirmation from the owners wife Candance. She was very personable, pleasant and apologetic that i had difficulties making a reservation.

Once arriving at Back Bay Adventures, we found the facilities to be clean and welcoming with a new docking area, small clean picnic area, and small air conditioned tackle / gift shop, and free parking. The boat itself, The Calico Jack, was spit shine clean before our trip. It's obvious the owner, Capt. Mike and mate Kevin take great pride in keeping it clean. We departed on a 3 hour back bay flounder trip which consisted of drifts over the East Channel down to AI and a quick trip up to the Thorofare and back down. Only a handful of "Flatties" were caught with just one keeper but that is why they call it fishing and not catching.

Aside from my initial apprehensions from my first phone call and trying to make a reservation, Capt, Mike, mate Kevin, and Candace, made for a pleasurable experience & afternoon on the water in the back bays of OC. Don't think we will use anyone else (west OC) ever again.

Thank you Capt. Mike & Back Bay Adventures

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackBay12, Owner at Back Bay Adventures, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad that your uncertainties were cleared up and that you had a great time! See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“My kind of people!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We had a great trip! Captain and Mate are caring knowledgeable fishermen. The allowed our kids up in the pilot house to steer with them. And they absolutely made sure all the youngsters on the boat got to pull in a flounder. All around great time. Looking forward to next year and hopefully a sunset cruise. Thanks guys.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackBay12, Owner at Back Bay Adventures, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We are happy to hear that your kids had a great time! We strive to accommodate all ages and we appreciate your review. Hopefully, we will see you and your family again soon! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Noisy Music and No Fish”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My son and I did a 3 hour fishing trip at 8am the past week on the Calico Jack. The boat had about 16 people on it. The trip route went south under the route 50 bridge and fish in spots on the bay side around the Ocean City inlet.

The entire boat caught one kingfish and three small flounders. Although fishing trips probably have more reliance on the tides, temperature, and weather, the poor catch is nevertheless the facts.

The good: decent rental rods with functioning reels. They were already rigged and bait was readily available in a little container on the boat railing.

The bad: They blared country music for the entirety of the trip at ridiculous volumes. The training was simply "put the squid and the shiner on the hook and drop them to the bottom." No explanation of if you need to set the hook or not, what kind of fish we should expect, how often we should check the bait, when should the bait be changed, or why or where we are going to fish. Because of the currents at the various fishing spots, the diesel engines also had to be gunning the entirety of the trip to maintain lock over spots so that peoples lines would stay near the same spot they dropped them in. Much of the trip was spent untangling lines with other people on the boat that couldn't comprehend just dropping the lines straight down.

I'd recommend fishing off of the piers or bridges, or renting your own boat instead of a trip like this.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackBay12, Owner at Back Bay Adventures, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We apologize that you were not satisfied with your experience on the Calico Jack. We do agree with you that catching fish is based off of many factors, such as the tides, weather, and even personal experience. Even though we cant guarantee fish, we do try to make the experience fun for everyone and people seem to enjoy our country music and friendly/ courteous mates. Our mates tell our customers the information they need for fishing, such as how to put on the bait, how to drop the lines, and how to reel in the fish. The captain also explains over the loud speaker that if you catch a flounder leave it in the water and the mate will be over to assist you with a net. That being said, the predominate fish we catch is flounder. As for other additional questions/ answers our mates are very knowledgeable and would have been happy to assist you further. If you do fish on another headboat we recommend looking at the tides in advance and trying to catch an incoming high tide, to enhance your chances. Thank you, Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fishing trip in Ocean City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We looked for a family fishing excursion in Ocean City and found Calico Jack. Captain Mike and mate Cory were great to go out with - Cory had infinite patience first telling us how to use the rods we rented ($5 each) then hooking minnows on the lines, and taking the under length founder off our lines so they can grow to full size fish! Although only one person on our boat caught a keeper-flounder (16"), we were satisfied with the overall experience. All of the young people (we had 3 children along) and the adults caught at at least one fish along with a few female crabs and a spider crab, so even though we ahead none to take home, we had FUN. A serious fisherman might have been disappointed but we suspect they would book a different trip. Making the reservations was a breeze, with no pressure tactics. We were asked to tip our mate 15-20% with the explanation of that's the way he makes his living. His positive attitude, helpfulness and steady hand were worth the extra amount.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackBay12, Owner at Back Bay Adventures, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Calico Jack. We hope to see you again next year! Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed in OC the week of 5/26-5/31. Made reservations for an early morning trip on Tuesday. We were a little disappointed when we arrived to find that they did not have enough reservations to go out, but understood being that it was off season and the weather was a little crappy. We provided staff with our cell phone number and they assured us that they would call us, if they had a boat going out. We received two call backs and was able to go out on Thursday in the morning. Although we did not catch anything, others did (couple sting rays, flounders, a blue and even a horseshoe crab). We had an overall enjoyable experience and for the price ($25pp), you can't beat it. Weather was nice and the staff were friendly, knowledgeable and assisted with baiting hooks, removing fish and taking pictures. Snacks were available for purchase, but we brought our own. We'll definitely try our luck again on our next visit to OC.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackBay12, Manager at Back Bay Adventures, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing Back Bay Adventures! We appreciate your review and we are happy to hear that our customer service was great! Mgmt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Bay Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Back Bay Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Back Bay Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.