We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old fashioned fun.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frontier Town

Frontier Town
8428 Stephen Decatur Highway, Berlin, MD 21811, Ocean City, MD
+1 800-228-5590
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 15 Attractions in Ocean City
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our Woodall's(R) Double 5W rated waterfront campground is situated along the beautiful Sinepuxent Bay and features nearly 600 spacious campsites catering to primitive tenting all the way up to luxury 45 foot motor homes, deluxe rental trailers, and camping cabins. On-site we offer a Western Theme Park, Water Park & Miniature Golf, and High Ropes Adventure Park, as well as daily planned activities for campers, a restaurant and bar, camp store, deli, ice cream parlor, gift shop, and arcade. Bring along your boat and dock it at our 75 slip marina or enjoy fishing and crabbing from our 200 foot long pier. Whether you want peace and quiet or excitement and adventure, Frontier Town has something for everyone in the family to enjoy.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

This is our 2nd time visiting Frontier Town in Ocean City, MD. It is a fun place, very laid back - for example, when you get on the paddle boats, there is no mention of any rules, no time limit, no rules on which direction you have to go! It's a small place, but worth it for the $40 we paid for 2 adults, a 6 year old and a 3 year old. It's best to get there as the park opens because not all the attractions run at the same time. For example, the stage coach rides might not be running while the "shoot out" on main street is going on. There is a rodeo, pony rides, shoot outs on Main Street, a very funny Can Can show, paddle boats, train ride, stage coach ride, indian show, etc etc etc. You can pan for gold for just a dollar. The kids love it, and you can't beat the price. The man that runs it is so nice (he looks authentic! - when you see him, you will know what I mean! And his donkey is named Eyeore! You can shoot 3 arrows at a target for a dollar or two or get your face painted. They have an Old Time photo studio (the type where you get dressed up in the old clothes and sit on a bar or whatever to take a picture) - much cheaper than the boardwalk - we paid $30 for an 8x10 and a "wanted" posted for 2 people. They have once eating place - typical lunch food - hamburgers, hotdogs, hoagies, fruit, fries - cost about $30 for the 4 of us. We ate while the Can Can show was going on. They also have place that sells ice cream and pretzles and the like. These guys are true cowboys. Very friendly.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    88
    25
    10
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very nice water park CHEAP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

They have huge 1.5 foot deep pool for little ones, its very nice with lovely sprinklers that shoot warmer water. Three slides for the the thrill seekers and a pool bar with very reasonable prices. Including a 60oz? Bucket of your favorite frozen drink, my partners daquiry was very strong! For ten dollars! If you have no kids, and no budget restrictions jolly rogers for 40 bucks is your place. But for 14 all day, frontier was great for us. I was beyond impressed. Plenty of lawn chairs to lay on and a lot of life guards (everywhere), I was blown away for the price. No complaints! Armband allows you to stay at park all day ,leave and come back all you want. We did not camp here, nomore I can think of, feel free to ask! Virgin drinks were all tasteless, chocolate kiss tasted like grainy ice with a hint of chocolate and strawberry daquiry nothing like strawberry. Lazy river is very nice!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, DE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome waterpark!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed at Fort Waley campground which is part of Frontier Town, but is located in Waleyville MD, not busy Ocean City. Staying at the campgrounds, you get free daily access to the waterpark. They have a BIG! shallow pool area for little ones, a lazy river, and 3 waterslides. I think you must be over 4 ft to go down the waterslides. There are lots of seating areas, but not much shade. They do have pavilions with picnic tables for parties and such. In the front of the park there is a bar/restaurant that has really good fried clams!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A really fun and interactive place to take the kids!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011 via mobile

We started the day at Fronteir town when they opened.We were greeted by the lovely ladies and given a deputy badge to wear.The place is set up like an old town with shops and stores.They start with a flag raising and then throughout the day they do all sorts of different shows and events.
The entire staff who works there were absolutely wonderful! They are talented and put on a great show throughout the whole day! Hats off to them!!
I highly recommend stopping at Fronteir town and experiencing all they have to offer!
We went to the water park after that to cool off and were disappointed. The first water slide in my opinion is unsafe.It's made out of concrete and I wouldn't let my kids go down it. The other water slide was fun but the two boys who were working at the top were too busy talking and looking at the girls to help my 7 and 8 year old.I had to help them get set up to go down and other parents were saying the same thing. The lazy river was Ok but alot of the tubes weren't filled enough.The snack bar was really dirty and our pretzels were cold.
The waterpark never put a damper on the first half of the day at Frontier Town.Thank you again to all the actors and actresses who made it great!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Time Stands Still”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Frontier Town is a great family attraction for families with small children, especially little boys. There are no roller coasters, no video games, nothing fancy. Just hookey cowboys shootin' it out in the sandy street that is made to look like an old west town. My kids have loved going there since they were 3 years old. My advice is to bring your own cap guns and ammo from home to save you from over spending at the gift shop because you have to have a cap gun if you are at Frontier Town to get the bad guys that rob the steam train of its box of "GOLD" as it chugs through the woods. There is a real stage coach to ride, a silly but entertaining can can show, a rodeo, native american dancers and lots of space to just run around. Teenagers will hate it, but little ones will love it. My big boys 9 and 10 now still loved it there this summer, and i will miss it if they are too big to go next year.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frontier Town also viewed

 

Been to Frontier Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frontier Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.