We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable and fun for the kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jolly Roger Amusement Park

Jolly Roger Amusement Park
2901 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
410-289-3477
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 27 attractions in Ocean City
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks
Activities: Drinking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Take a whirl on the fast and furious Riptide Express, or challenge the twists, turns and drops of our Roller Coaster, the newest roller coaster at the beach. Then, when you're ready for a break, enjoy cool delights from one of our many concession stands. Try your skill at one of our Midway Games or just view the scenery on the Jolly Roger Express, our 1952 antique train.Jolly Roger Amusement Park has rides and games the whole family can enjoy. And as always, there is never a charge to just relax and stroll through Ocean City's only full-service Family Amusement Facility.We have many ways for your family to play. Purchase only enough points on your Jolly Roger Passport to Fun Card to ride the rides you want.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“enjoyable and fun for the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We purchased the day wristbands that allowed us to use both the Pier location AND the amusement park between 1 and 6pm. For $20 per kid, they were able to ride themselves silly!! There were no lines for the rides when we were there. The only complaint we had was that the wristbands allowed for only two rides on the Avalanche roller coaster and that was their favorite ride.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    101
    68
    39
    32
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Free Golf with Band”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our hotel offered discount bands, which we could use for unlimited rides from 2-6 pm. This also includes free, unlimited mini-golf. The zip line for kids is a wait as you have to fill out a waiver, and the golf course is a joke, but it is a great way to spend an afternoon off from the beach.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Be prepared and be careful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Ok, so the park itself is cool for little kids. There is plenty to do to keep the kiddos entertained on a cloudy day, or when you need a break from the beach. We went based upon recommendations of friends. I would encourage anyone interested in going to consider the following tips from a dad who has lived the experience.

Tip 1: Consider attending and investing in the $20 all day ride pass. Now, my wife and I were turned off from this because we did not want to spend $80 for a family of 4. Also, the "ride all day" pass is only good between the hours of like 1-6. In our family this is prime nap time. We decided to buy a points card instead- BIG MISTAKE. The average ride takes 8 points x 4 people = 32 points for one ride. We blew a $42 "silver pass" within 25 minutes. Moral of the story: invest in the $20 passes EVEN if you plan on staying for only 2 hours, as it will save you $$ in the end.

Tip 2: This tip is for all those who have little kids and drive nice cars. The park itself is blanketed with chipped limestone / rock / dirt / dust. I have a 5yo and 2yo and was pushing a stroller. My 5yo was blanketed in dirt from the belt down. The stroller and 2yo was filthy as well. She had fallen once or twice, so her hands and arms were covered too. If I had to do it over again, I would have had the kids (plus wife and I) wear our beach shoes / flip flops, instead of sneakers. I would also pack bottles of water / towels, so that little feet could be washed off before entering into the car. I wish somebody would have warned me about this, so as to avoid little dirt feet all over the back seat of our car.

In conclusion, the park is ok. There is no charge to park and also no charge to get in. You only pay for what you want to do. The prices can get steep, so evaluate your options before paying. The kids will be a mess at exit, so prepare accordingly. The park reminded me of Waldameer Park in Erie, PA for those who may have been.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“To many rides not working”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Prices were to high, not all rides were working and the ticket vendors were very rude and not helpful. We stopped a couple of times during the week we here, and it was the same all 3 times. Should have been a good time but no it was a waste of time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It was fun for $20 per person”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My daughter made a friend and the rides were fun; They had funnel cake and other things like most amusement parks.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jolly Roger Amusement Park also viewed

 

Been to Jolly Roger Amusement Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jolly Roger Amusement Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jolly Roger Amusement Park to your Saves list