We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for beer and football” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Taphouse Bar & Grill

The Taphouse Bar & Grill
45th Street Village, Ocean City, MD 21842
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #252 of 386 Restaurants in Ocean City
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Union, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place for beer and football”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Was here for the Ravens - Broncos game. The atmosphere was great. The beer was cold. A nice breeze blew in from the bay. Halftime was free apps. It was a little bit of paradise on a warm September night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    31
    15
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great View, Good Drinks and Good Times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Went there to have a few drinks with a group. Drinks were stronger than fish tales and the Bartender was excellent. Had the Crabby Balls as an ap. and they were great was a little disappointed with the bacon burger not enough bacon especially since they advertise bacon.bacon and more bacon. Price wasn't bad. Went back the next night for Mojotos. Hostess was horrible and everybody else was great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stopped in on a Saturday night in late August and were pleasantly surprised at the menu, the pricing and the courtesy. Plus a great beer list. The entree was a scallop on wild rice and nicely done. Others had the personal pizza and sandwiches. Good value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Don't Get Your Hopes Up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I've heard so many great things about this place, but our experience was less than desirable. If you're into micro-breweries, and are into just that (beer) then this is certainly the place for you. If you are looking for a relaxing atmosphere and great bar food, you will be sadly disappointed. We attempted to eat at the bar location on the right side of the center, but it was raining outside and there weren't any tables available. We noticed not many people were eating, they were mostly drinking beer and watching the O's game (lots of TVs by the way which is a plus). So we ended up eating on the bayside dining side. The floors are completely bare. It seems like the place was in the middle of a renovation that simply just ran out of money. There are huge windows with amazing views, but hardly any tables or booths around them. The booths that are up against them don't fit flush, were dirty and just not inviting. We were seated at a table where our server was very courteous, but he didn't know much about the menu.

Two of us ordered their "specialty light" drinks, one of which took forever to get because the bartender made it wrong twice. They were delicious, but were pricey. Again beer is def the drink of choice here and very reasonably priced. The food menu is not huge and they seemed to be out of a lot - the Brisket for the briskelitious sandwich as well as lobster for both the entree salad and the lobster roll. I got the chicken salad sandwich, that was supposed to come on a croissant, but I was served a regular kaiser roll. I asked the server "was this supposed to come with on a croissant?", he said "ok I can switch that out for you", as if he wasn't quite sure what it was supposed to come on. When I got my sandwich back, they had removed the pickle, and half of the chix salad was thrown in the basket. They advertise "old bay chips", but they are merely deep fried potato slices with no seasoning and absolutely no flavor.

The bathrooms seemed like they weren't really cleaned from the night before, and were completely out of paper towells (at 2 PM in the afternoon...).

Very disappointed and probably won't return unless our other favorites like Dead Freddies or Macky's are packed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, beer and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was a great place to visit while we stayed in Ocean City. They have a great selection of local and seasonal beers on tap. The had live music and the service was good! The pretzels are delicious! They have outdoor seating for warmer months.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Taphouse Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Taphouse Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Taphouse Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.