We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCATION !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanic Motel

Save Saved
You added Oceanic Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oceanic Motel
710 South Philadelphia Avenue, Ocean City, MD   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 107 hotels in Ocean City
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“LOCATION !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

If you're staying in the OceanCity area to spend 90% of your time 'exploring', I recommend this place. True, this is my first over-night stay in the area, but for those of us who want the biggest variety of scenery and things to do into 24hours, I think this location must be in the top 5 locations to 'drop anchor' . Do yourself a favor and check a 'map site' to check out the Oceanic's location from an aerial view. That said, if you need a place for an extended stay that 'taunts' indoor/outdoor pool, computer room, built-in convenience shop, brass-plated luggage carts, continental breakfast, etc....pick somewhere else (there's 100's). The Oceanic is a motel 'on the ocean'. What I liked: 2 min. stroll to the Boardwalk and the ocean; every kind of watercraft passing right past your doorstep; 2 blocks to partake of any kind of water excursion you could think of. As far as my ratings: Service...wasn't looking for a lot, everyone was helpful and pleasant. Value...good, again because of the LOCATION, not the amenities. Sleep quality...clean dbl bed. Cleanliness...very clean. Location...the best. Rooms...I was a little worried what I would find after reading other reviews, but it was what I expected...some fixtures were old'ish, window-sills needed painting, air conditioner noisy on start-up; but everything was clean, including sheets, shower, dresser, refrig, carpet...and everything worked properly....which is why I rated the room 'very good'. No, there is no microwave...rooms are small, no room, it's at the 'office', which is very nice and has lots of fresh,hot coffee. Fitness Room...you've got the boardwalk, beach, water-sports. Restaurant...Oceanic offers discounts at some that are 200 feet away. Other....parking lot and grounds are maintained and in great shape; pool is outside,small, but in great shape (and right next to the inlet with view of Atlantic and harbor). Overall, needs work, but maintained well, hammocks looked new (try them out). So OK, need a big place for a week with ironing board, hair dryer, room service, lots of quiet room-time...you made the wrong choice friend.......BUT if you're looking for clean place to crash with atmosphere galore within walking distance (did I mention you can see the Assateague wild ponies across the inlet, with binoculars, if you're lucky), don't hesitate to book a room at the Oceanic.

Room Tip: 2nd floor, inlet-side rooms put the water at your doorstep
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    58
    34
    11
    35
See reviews for
72
73
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, the positives... It has free parking, a good location at the end of the boardwalk where it's all happening (the other end is mostly hotels) and the pool was nice, with a nice view over the water. There is a big fridge in the room which is handy.

However, our room was tiny, even by European standards. Difficult to fit your cases in, especially as we were on a 3 week hol. The bed was a small double and the bedding made me feel like I was at my grandmas! the shower would suddenly go hot and scald us. There is no hairdryer or iron in the room. The air con is really noisy. And the room is straight out onto a communal patio area, with people walking past all hours, it can be pretty noisy. Also, there are no curtains just thin blinds so the room is really light, no good for someone like me who needs pitch black to sleep! I thought this motel was very expensive for what it is, but then again it was a holiday wknd and everywhere was expensive!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We went there a few days ago. Really good location because we were literally by the water but everything else needs work. For a $123/night stay my husband and I expected a better room but instead we got a tiny one that smelled like cigarettes..our queen sized bed (as advertised) was pretty much a double. We requested a cot for our baby but they didnt give us any (all 3 of us squeezed on the one bed). Bathroom need serious updating..there were watermarks from old leaks on the ceiling..it was just a mess--the cleaner assigned to our room did the best she could but theres no hiding a good revamp of the whole place. If your looking for literally just a bed for ur back and to be by the water then this place is for u. Otherwise, dont look for any luxuries...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for our vaca. Sandra checked us in and she was so nice. The rooms were kinda small but it was better than we expected and a great location. The parking kind of sucked because it was tight but if you can't afford a whole lot it's worth staying at. The other motels for this price are absolutely inhabitable

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went June 20th for three days and we loved it. The view was amazing the breeze we got off the water felt great. The room was very small but that's all we needed. We will return back in August
The board walk is right there we could walk to everything we also went fishing and went in the sea rocket that was the best everything we did we could walk to we didn't need to drive to many places the staff is very friendly and the manager is such a lovely women totally recommend this motel

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont Alto, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Was a great stay.1 blk from brdwk. clean room. quiet in cove on inlet. staff was excellent. room was prefect for us. pool was great and clean. will recommend to friends. lookin forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: our room was great for couple on low budget they have bigger rooms but liked the one we had double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This was a nice place. Low key nothing major If you need an iron or an ironing board you have to go to the front desk and ask them for it. A tad overpriced for what it was which was $129.00 The great thing was that the ocean was right outside the door the boardwalk was right around the corner beautiful beautiful sight nice breeze. Let me make you aware You will have guest and those guests are ants. Other than that It was a clean Motel very basic you can sleep in peace and just enjoy

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oceanic Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanic Motel

Address: 710 South Philadelphia Avenue, Ocean City, MD
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many a fish story has begun at the Oceanic Motel. Located at the southernmost end of Ocean City, we overlook the Inlet and Assateague Island with their famous ponies. All rooms are air-conditioned and come with refrigerators. Guests are welcome to take a dip in our outdoor pool, fish off of our pier or relax on our private bayside beach. If the ocean is what you crave, the beach is only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oceanic Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanic Motel Ocean City
Oceanic Hotel Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanic Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;