We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanic Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bookmark
You added Oceanic Motel to your Saves list
Oceanic Motel
710 South Philadelphia Avenue, Ocean City, MD   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Reading, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

i stay there everytime i go to ocmd joyce and her staff are awesome, very polite. i like it there also because every thing is right there, and i do not have to move my car, i use the bus, see u in september can not wait

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    67
    35
    14
    38
See reviews for
78
77
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
EAST BERLIN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have stayed there a couple times and will again this year. Restuarants the beach and shops in walking distance. Love that they have a beach area right outside your door. You can fish and grill all without having to go anywhere. We are taking our little 4 year old there this year so he can fish and watch the dolphins. Staff was all very friendly.

Room Tip: We like the rooms facing the water and the fact that there is a beach area right outside your door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We have stayed at the Oceanic every year for 15 years. Some rooms are small , but I don't go to the beach to stay in the room. Joyce and her staff are GREAT !!! they take care of any concerns and make your stay enjoyable. Fishing , beach , restaurants,and jet ski, etc within EASY walking . The sunsets breathtaking. since we go at the sametime each year ...many return vacationers..it's home sweet home. We have had my Dad , our grandkids and our kids everyone has had a good time. It's fun for all

Room Tip: The communicating rooms are good for a group ( 4-6 maybe 8), the bay rooms are good for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plains,PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stay at the Oceanic twice a year, once in May and end of September. We love it there and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. The location is great, everything is in walking distance, the boardwalk, restaurants, fishing,etc. The staff is great! They make you feel at home. The rooms are comfortable and reasonable with great views of the sunset from the Bay and Inlet rooms that we always try to book.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We booked this motel in advance based on its location, amenities and price. When we arrived we were so upset. The website was so misleading. The good reviews are obviously exaggerated. The place was awful. We stayed only because we could not get out of our reservation but we were so afraid to touch anything in the room. We had to ask for clean sheets immediately, after checking them we saw they were stained and had hairs on them. The staff was rude. Obviously everyone else staying there felt the same way because nobody stayed in their rooms. The patio was filled with people all day and night which made sleeping at night impossible. It smelled musty with a blanket of lysol which made it hard to breathe. I would never recommend this motel to anyone. We had fun in Ocean City, MD and got some amusement laughing at how stupid we were to stay in such a bad motel. It is a shame that the owners have such a great location and run such an awful establishment. One thing we found too late was youtube videos. Type in oceanic hotel mattress video.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel is amazing for a few reasons... one is the price! Wow you can stay here for a week what it costs to stay some of the other places for a weekend. We find ourselves coming back to this hotel often mainly because of the low cost but also because of the location. Every side of the Oceanic has a beautiful view of the bay. The best part is a short walk along the bay and your on the boardwalk without ever crossing a street. They have such a peaceful little spot away from the boardwalk but close enough that you won't miss any of the action! The rooms are small but that's the only complaint I'd have, the staff are some of the nicest people in Ocean City and everything is clean. The parking is easy and the pool is fantastic. We've stayed here many times and we'll be back again and again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stay at this motel every year it is clean and has a great location along with good prices and you can walk to everywhere yes it an older hotel my wife and i enjoy the "old" ocean city at the inlet not the new commercial part of the town that has no caracter after all when you are in ocean city how much time do you spend in your room? I know my wife and i don't just to sleep! it nice to sit out on the walkway and watch the bay!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceanic Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanic Motel

Address: 710 South Philadelphia Avenue, Ocean City, MD
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many a fish story has begun at the Oceanic Motel. Located at the southernmost end of Ocean City, we overlook the Inlet and Assateague Island with their famous ponies. All rooms are air-conditioned and come with refrigerators. Guests are welcome to take a dip in our outdoor pool, fish off of our pier or relax on our private bayside beach. If the ocean is what you crave, the beach is only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Oceanic Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanic Motel Ocean City
Oceanic Hotel Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanic Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.