We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty disgusting dump” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Alamo Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alamo Motel
Save
You added Alamo Motel to your Saves list
12614 Ocean Gateway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Turbotville, Pennsylvania
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dirty disgusting dump”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This was by far the worst motel Ihave ever stayed in. The room smelled terrible and the bathroom got worst. Don't think it was ever cleaned. It smelled like someone had urinated all over in there. There was only about 1/3 of a roll of toilet paper and no soap. We had to drive to Walmart at 10:30 at night to buy soap and also get some air freshner to spray around. Also there was no garbage can in the room or the bathroom. No toilet paper holder on the wall & no towel racks. Only a couple hooks on the door of the bathroom. One lamp in the room, better so you don't see how nasty it really was. We were stuck with this place because we decided at the last minute to go to the beach and there were no vacancies anywhere but here, and I could see why they had vacancies.... We paid almost $400 for 2 nights... I would have rather stayed on Aseteque Island in a tent than to ever stay there again... and the advertisements are all false. The restaurant is closed and so is the bar... I could not wait to check out of that place.. If you are ever going to Ocean City and this is the only place to get a room, don't do it. You will regret it. If you are a reasonably clean person this is not for you. The only way someone would say this is a nice place has to live like a hog at home, and then it would compare to their home life. I am a clean person and could not wait to get home to a nice smelling clean home.... I would sleep under the boardwalk before I would sleep here.. This place is giving Ocean City a bad name. I hope we don't get bed bugs... I cannot beleive the health department has not shut them down. I told my husband that is probably why the restaurant was closed, probably by the health department.... do not stay here... bad, bad, bad place.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    4
    5
    44
See reviews for
12
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shippensburg
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Very dirty rooms we found bugs in the beds!! Holes in the wall!! There is a reason you can't get refunds I don't understand how the place is still in business you can't even sit outside your room without the owner acting like a (man's part) stay in your car it's cleaner an safer the windows you could take out from the outside so if someone would want to come in your room all they would have to do is slid out the window pans

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chincoteague Island, Virginia
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We saw the room. It may be a good sleep here but don't expect anything newish as the furnishings are seemingly worn with age. There is no ice machine for your drink nor do they have any ice freely proffered at the office. The best features of this place is all the staff is especially nice, warm and friendly so that must count for a lot but not if you are expecting what you'd normally get as a fresh newer feeling motel room. For $40. more you can fix it by staying elsewhere otherwise save a bunch and this is the place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Could take place in a Tarentino movie. All comments you read are exact and accurate. I paid in advance and finaly dis not stay. Too dirty and felt unsafe. But somehow i am happy to have been there. It makes a good story to tell for my wife and I

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Dirty, the room was so smoky you could hit the curtains and smoke seeped out! Dirty, holes in the mattress, black mold on wall, broken tv. When the electric went out we left - we felt it was a dangerous place to be especially with no lights. I we had looked at the room before we rented we never would have stayed, no surprise, no refunds. why this place is still in business is beyond me, which is a shame, looks like it was a cute place at one time, maybe 50 years ago.

Room Tip: there are no good rooms. stay in your car it's safer and cleaner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our family went to the beach for the weekend and only stayed because it was the only one left vacant. As soon as you entered the room smelt rank of mold and was horrible! there was a bunk bed in my room and it was so shaky i was forced to sleep on the floor as i thought i was going to fall off. everything in the room was connected to a single extension chord and there were no outlets. lit by a single lamp the room was dark smelled and looked dirty. the mattresses were eaten up by mice and one of the sheets was stiff and looked like someone had previously wet the bed.
There was a t/v but it didn't work and was ancient. The bathroom was disgusting and for some reason all the towels and even the toilet paper was wet. The shower was either too hot or too cold and i could not sleep because of the extremely loud air conditioner and squeaky beds.
I would NEVER stay in this motel again as sleeping in the car would in my opinion be cleaner and safer

Room Tip: Find someplace else or sleep in the car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because we were stuck. Room smelled strongly of smoke and mildew. We asked the manager about the mild in the shower and he said it was hard to get rid of. Dirty. Old junk furniture everywhere. Horrible. Just horrible.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alamo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Motel

Address: 12614 Ocean Gateway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Alamo Hotel Ocean City
Alamo Motel Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamo Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.