We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleep in your car it's cleaner” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Alamo Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alamo Motel
Save
You added Alamo Motel to your Saves list
12614 Ocean Gateway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Telchac Puerto, Mexico
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sleep in your car it's cleaner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Room smelled horrible. Black mold in bathroom, tv didn't work, no hot water. Briken furniture Sewage smell. Rude owner. We took pictures for a health department complaint. We stayed here because we were stick here fourth if July. We should have slept in the car.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    4
    5
    44
See reviews for
12
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oc
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Not the ritz Just and old beach place. Nice swimming pool nice ac. A bed and bath that's all nothing special. For the price in season you can't beat it. Like I said it's not the ritz but you don't pay for mints on your pillows you pay for the shower and bed.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

My friends and I went to ocean city for the weekend on a really low budget. We were so happy to hear that the alamo was giving rooms away for 85 dollars. This was the only exciting thing upon renting a room here. As soon as we walked in, it smelled of a mixture between moldy cheese and dead bodies. Laughing, we looked up to notice just a light bulb hanging from the ceiling. We entered the bathroom, the shower was small with just a pipe hanging from the wall. This all was but humorous until we noticed the massive amounts of black mold all over the sink and around the entire bathroom. Also, long black hairs were at the bottom of the shower and where u put the soap was crud and a razor blade that had probably been there for 3 years. This bathroom had never been cleaned. Ever. It was also easy to tell this since there was poop smeared all over the wall next to the toilet and on the wall next to the bed. The towels were blatantly dirty and merely refolded. I then heard this place is known for prostitution. I'm surprised we didn't end up with bed bugs or something because the blankets on top of the beds had burn holes and stains (which looked like blood). I understand that "you get what you pay for" but this place is hazardous to a homeless mans health.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hill, Maryland
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The room smelled like mildew, the floor was dirty the cable and tv did not work and the bathroom was disgusting the door had not handle and the tub, I would not think about taking a shower in there much less putting my child in it. The whole place needs to be cleaned up inside and out, the pool had rust in it and I would not even think about eating there. SOmeone needs to call the chamber of commerence and the health inspector in ocean city to let them check it out and maybe there family could stay there. We only stayed one night and that was enough. Will never go back agin.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Chester County, Pa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This place has a strict "no refund" policy so be sure to ask to see the room BEFORE you pay.

The shower stall was stained, the carpet was ripped and stained, the ceiling and bathroom lights are bare bulbs. The sheet was clean, but thin and placed over a stained mattress with no mattress pad. There was a 1/4" space of light shining in between the door and the door frame.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We have stayed at the Alamo a few times and have found that even though its old and outdated, its a place. I have not seen any prostitution or rude employees. Yes, the bathroom was tiny and old but it worked. We where there for the beach not the damn hotel! We had 7 people and only paid $95 a night which allowed our family (we have small children) the ability to do more fun things while on vacation. The bed was hard but you can't expect 5 star pillow top beds at a tiny motel just trying to get by. Also, someone had reviewed this place that stayed in 1985.....uh, it's changed owners since then. I had no bugs, no mildew, no loud teenagers, no rude staff and the pool was clean and inviting! I also did not have to walk through the bar to enter the pool. There are two entrances one gate in the fence and one in the bar (makes it nice when you need a drink). Let's figure this, people have died in other motels in Ocean City and all over the country, as long your not sharing a room with a dead body, that's not really a good point. If you were struggling trying to reach the American Dream by being a business owner, then all the negative reviews stop people from going, which in turn slows any money they could have for renovations. As I see it, if your looking for a place, not a palace then this isn't too bad. You can't find another room this cheap, hell you can't even CAMP there for this cheap. It's a room. It has locks, beds, water and a/c. Who the hell cares what it looks like? seech

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I took a motorcycle trip across country and stayed at the cheapest hotels. This hotel was the worst of all! The first room that I was put in had no windows, dust on the a/c, and a filthy shower. I then switched to the room next door which also had no windows and smelled dank and musty. Turns out there was condensation forming on a pipe that was attached to the ceiling, the condensation had been dripping all over the carpet and bed.

Finally, after complaining, they put me into my final room which had a filthy shower with a huge crack in the base. The power went out 5 or more times that night.

Room Tip: Don't stay there, it is a rip off
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alamo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Motel

Address: 12614 Ocean Gateway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Alamo Hotel Ocean City
Alamo Motel Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamo Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.