We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth your time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean City Life-Saving Station Museum

Ocean City Life-Saving Station Museum
Ocean City Boardwalk, P.O. Box 603, Ocean City, MD 21843
410-289-4991
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 15 Attractions in Ocean City
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A museum dedicated to collecting and preserving the history of life saving on the Eastern Shore of Maryland, Delaware and Virginia.
Windsor, PA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“worth your time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Very informative. Tells how OC & Assateague began. Interesting displays. Bought the video to watch when I get to missing OC.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    29
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Nautical history lesson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Having visited O.C., MD for more than 30 years, my husband and I decided to visit the museum. We were fascinated by the history, the stories of storms that created what is now O.C. and how lifesaving was so primitive compared to what we have now.
We loved the exhibits, down to the evolution of bathing suits!!
Good for older children, 8 or older. Gave them a sense of how the town they enjoy so much came to be.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“a fun rainy day activity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

A step back in time the museum was a fun way to spend a rainy day with my kids.We gained insight on the history of ocean city. The old bathing suits gave the kids a laugh.The price was just a few dollars ( a nice find )

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, PA
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Some cool stuff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Hadn't been in here for a while. Last trip, we decided to stop in. Some great history in there and cool to see the old equipment. Gotta check it out when you're in town and see for yourself.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

No trip should be made without a visit here. Staff friendly, exhibits very good. Nice gift shop, and grandkids loved the experience, and talked about what they saw and wanted to stop again when were at that end of the boardwalk again. Highly recommend..

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean City Life-Saving Station Museum also viewed

 

Been to Ocean City Life-Saving Station Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean City Life-Saving Station Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.