We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reasonable person's review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Spinnaker Motel

Save Saved
You added Spinnaker Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spinnaker Motel
18th Street & Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842-0519   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #12 of 107 hotels in Ocean City
NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A reasonable person's review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We didn’t have enormous expectations, but a few improvements for their guests would be nice. There are also kudos due.

Kitchen- While small, it does have what they say it has- pots and pan (2 sauce pans, 1 pot, 1 skillet- covers for all of these), a flipper, two serving utensils (larger fork & larger spoon), dining utensils for four. Bowls, cup, plates, serving dish, and mugs for four, toaster, coffee maker, ice cube trays, and microwave. We have stayed before in efficiencies with full refrigerators and in terms of “full” size, this is smallest in the spectrum. On the other hand, the cabinet space was ample for one week.
It would be nice to have had: A pan for the oven, a colander, a mixing/serving bowl, another cooking utensil the size of the flipper (maybe a large spoon or spatula). There was no saran wrap, wax paper, foil, paper towels, which many other efficiencies provide in small amounts so you have them when you arrive so you don't have to go right to the store, so that would have been nice, too… But they did provide about 3 oz. of Palmolive. It pays to be prepared, so we planned ahead and brought all of these little ‘extras’ plus paper goods (who wants to do dishes after every meal on vacation), a sponge, napkins, etc.- do yourself a favor and plan ahead, too.

View- This was disappointing. Our "Ocean View" only pertained to when we stood on our balcony, half hanging over the railing, to look at the ocean. We were in the North building (and can’t speak to the views from South building). The true 'view' we got was other motels and the street. Guests should be notified of this when they make their reservations, as we weren’t. There is also a huge rental building in front of the motel, so while it is not a block AWAY the beach, it’s not ‘boardwalk front’- do not expect a direct view of the ocean from the motel (again, at least North side), or from the parking lot/pool/deck area. Also recommend to stay at least 4th floor but better yet the 5th, and maybe whatever view you do get will be better.

Pool- It’s small, but warm and clean. Our kids swam after dinner and they thought it was great that the pool had lights on at night. There are ample chairs, lounges with head rests, and tables on their deck, and the umbrellas are big and do a good job shading the sun. A lot of pools have a wading or ‘toddler’ area for young children, this one does not. The deck was very clean and at night was bright and safe.

Housekeeping- Shalinda was the best! Our room was beautifully put back together for us every afternoon when we returned from the beach, and she checked in with us regularly to see if we needed extras of anything, and when we did she brought everything quickly and with a smile. In fact, we came in contact with many other housekeepers in passing and they were all very, very friendly. We asked for an iron the first night and they were very attentive and immediately brought us a small board and iron. The beds were comfortable and clean, the pillows were also adequate comfort... Oh, and an actual bottom sheet for the bed, which most places don't provide- it was a nice surprise, so we weren't dealing with a migrating flat sheet on the bottom of the bed every night!

Motel upkeep- The ownership needs to keep up on the condition of the building: Unfortunately, there was black mold on every wall, in varying amounts, in the room and bathroom. On the entry door to our room there was basically a chunk of the corner of it missing- peculiar as to why they wouldn’t replace that? The toilet paper holder and tissue paper holders were sandy and rusty and the wall behind the door in the bathroom had a big ding in it (that could easily be covered by a protector on the wall) where someone was careless. The balcony door was a pain to lock, but we got used to it after a couple of tries. A person or two on here said the bathroom was small- it was definitely a very tight squeeze, but it was obviously cleaned well daily. The elevator we nicknamed the ‘Elevator of Death’ because you have enough time to sprint like a track star onto it before it shuts on you; but we have sense of humor, and we learned after our first trip to continue to press the ‘Door Open’ button (easy enough) and move pronto! The area on the floor between the sink/cabinet and the stove/oven was extremely dirty- it would not be something that one person could move on their own, or even daily at that, so we don’t fault Shalinda- but someone with muscle should help the housekeeping staff, they work hard enough and they shouldn’t be expected to move it on their own- in the least, they should be helped so when families are checking out it can be adequately cleaned before the next family checks in- it's reasonable to expect someone else's cooking gunk to be cleaned before new guests come in.... Again, the housekeepers should have help moving those heavy stoves.

Anita and Leroy (I think is his name) were great; There is a third woman that whether you call or walk in the office can be a little snippy, but she is still helpful. Overall the staff all made us comfortable.

Biggest Pros: The location- being that you do not have to cross the street and are ‘beach block’… And it is far enough away from the loud pier not to be bothered by it, yet short enough distance to make it an easy walk down and back and see the shops and eateries; It was a very quiet motel; It did provide the conveniences that it claims on its website; The price was fair for what it offered; Housekeeping did a nice job. Ample parking; And the day you check out they let you stay in the lot and enjoy the beach one last time without having to find parking on the street.

Cons: We did expect for being rated #4 on Tripadvisor, that the motel owner’s attention to its upkeep would be better (mold, rust, door condition, sliding glass door lock, ding in bathroom wall from door handle, lack of attention paid to the floor between cabinet and heavy stove/oven).

Overall: We loved Ocean City and our stay at the Spinnaker made our introductory trip to the beach town comfortable. We will probably try it one more time before deciding whether to try a different hotel or motel, but will ask for the South building next time and a room that definitely does not have any of the same shortcomings. I don’t think they claim to offer much more than they do, so the price seemed fair and honest for a family of five for one week (just over $200 a night) based on what their website claims. I would recommend to a reasonable family with reasonable expectations, that they give the Spinnaker a try (there are some people on here that look like they were expecting The Ritz!)

Room Tip: 4th or 5th Floors, try South building for better chance of seeing the ocean from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    113
    33
    4
    7
See reviews for
154
64
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Loaf, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

First thing I will say is overall our stay was pleasant, house keeping was professional and front desk was customer friendly. One point that I cant get across enough is its not on the boardwalk or a beach front motel, it is on the ocean side of the street but not beachfront, there is a huge building in front of Spinnaker that is on the boardwalk beach. Rate was 200 night mon-fri which we stayed (about average down there in June). 4th time in OC, would consider staying there again but will probably try other places. Best thing about the room was the balcony which afforded you a distance view of the ocean (nice at dusk) Worst thing was bathroom, too small. Other than that everything was decent to good, like I said overall satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I, along with our 2 children ages 7 and 9 stayed at the Spinnaker July 1-5, 2013. Upon check-in we were greeted with smiling faces that remained throughout our stay. We were in room 409. It had a beautiful view of the ocean and boardwalk. The room itself has an adequate kitchen with many comforts of home. It was easy to keep a family of 4 happy for breakfast and lunch. Alice was our housekeeper and she did an amazing job! So good in fact that our children's feet/socks were not dirty at all. The room had 2 double beds and a comfy couch. The pool was warm, but a little small if you are more of a pool person. We spent the majority of our time at the beach. Beside the pool was a large sun deck with loungers and tables/chairs. We ate breakfast at the cafe below one morning, and it was wonderful as well.

In conclusion this establishment is a gem. We have stayed in other Ocean City hotels, but this one gives an ocean view, full kitchen (no dishwasher) with utensils/plates/etc., extremely clean, super friendly staff, and budget friendly. Don't overlook this hotel! You won't regret it!

Room Tip: South facing building gives and ocean and boardwalk view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahanoy City, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The women at the front desk were very friendly. The room was very clean, new carpet, new bed sheets. Bathroom was clean, nice shower with HOT water. Balcony was ok with great sideview of beach. Only a few steps and you are on the boardwalk and beach. Parking lot had plenty of room. Great place, 100% coming back!

Room Tip: We asked for the first floor and they gave us it no problem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmhs94
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just got back from a short 3 day vacation at the spinnaker. Staff at check in were super friendly and helpful. Had trouble getting into my room, gave a call and a maintaince man was up within 3 minutes to help, turns out my key wasn't activated right, he went down, got a new one, and apologized, in addition to recieveing a phone call with an apology, I thought that was very nice. Room was very nicely sized. Kitchen with everything you needed (Silverware, pots, pans, plates, bowls, cups, oven, full fridge/freezer). Bathroom had an overly sized mirror, great water pressure, and hot water! (Something most OCMD hotel normally has problems with). Room had new carpet and new bedding. Deck had a wonderful view of the ocean! Only complaint is the light on the deck and the green from the holiday inn across the street, and theres no way to block it out without blocking the AC. Would recommend and would come back again. Staff were great, Room was clean, Housekeepers were all very friendly, pool was nice and had alot of laying room on the deck, parking was no problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selbyville, Delaware
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

On a recent weekend, we stayed at the Spinnaker in OC. We stayed Saturday and Sunday nights, so we were able to stay and watch the OC air show on Sunday.

The Spinnaker is conveniently located at 1800 Baltimore Avenue in Ocean City. It is on the beach block. “Malia’s,” a great little restaurant open for breakfast and lunch, is on the ground floor of the Spinnaker.

Our room was ready when we arrived, so were able to check in early. The room was nice sized with two double beds, a sofa, and a table with four chairs in the bedroom area. The room was very clean and comfortable.

There was a stove, sink, microwave, coffeemaker, and a nice-sized refrigerator. Cabinets with silverware and plates were included.

The bathroom was decent-sized with a nice mirror. The water pressure on the shower was sufficient.

There was a walkout balcony. Since we were on an end unit, we had an unobstructed ocean view and were able to watch the fantastic air show from the balcony.

Sunday was a beautiful day. We were able to enjoy the pool, which is located on a deck off the first floor. It is a nice pool and has plenty of seating, with tables and umbrellas.

The staff at the Spinnaker is wonderful. They do everything they can to make customers feel at home. We liked the Spinnaker so much that we plan to stay there again in a few weeks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

First year we were able to go to OCMD in Sept(all kids are now graduated). We were pleasantly surprised that the rooms had recently been renovated - all except the kitchen area. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. I wish they would modify the kitchen - make it a bit more convenient as it's very squished. The employees were exremely helpful. Pool very clean. Plenty of parking(which can sometimes be an issue in OCMD) The motel is right perfectly located in the middle of the boardwalk, steps to the beach. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spinnaker Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spinnaker Motel

Address: 18th Street & Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842-0519
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#13 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spinnaker Motel has all full efficiency units that sleep to six people per unit. Each unit includes two double beds a pull out sleep sofa double bed, private balcony, fully equipped kitchenette, full bath and private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Spinnaker Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spinnaker Motel Ocean City
Spinnaker Ocean City Md
Spinnaker Hotel Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spinnaker Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.