We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Good, Might be better places?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Spinnaker Motel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
Spinnaker Motel
18th Street & Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842-0519   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 106 hotels in Ocean City
Sugar Loaf, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overall Good, Might be better places?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

First thing I will say is overall our stay was pleasant, house keeping was professional and front desk was customer friendly. One point that I cant get across enough is its not on the boardwalk or a beach front motel, it is on the ocean side of the street but not beachfront, there is a huge building in front of Spinnaker that is on the boardwalk beach. Rate was 200 night mon-fri which we stayed (about average down there in June). 4th time in OC, would consider staying there again but will probably try other places. Best thing about the room was the balcony which afforded you a distance view of the ocean (nice at dusk) Worst thing was bathroom, too small. Other than that everything was decent to good, like I said overall satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    99
    26
    3
    6
See reviews for
122
57
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I, along with our 2 children ages 7 and 9 stayed at the Spinnaker July 1-5, 2013. Upon check-in we were greeted with smiling faces that remained throughout our stay. We were in room 409. It had a beautiful view of the ocean and boardwalk. The room itself has an adequate kitchen with many comforts of home. It was easy to keep a family of 4 happy for breakfast and lunch. Alice was our housekeeper and she did an amazing job! So good in fact that our children's feet/socks were not dirty at all. The room had 2 double beds and a comfy couch. The pool was warm, but a little small if you are more of a pool person. We spent the majority of our time at the beach. Beside the pool was a large sun deck with loungers and tables/chairs. We ate breakfast at the cafe below one morning, and it was wonderful as well.

In conclusion this establishment is a gem. We have stayed in other Ocean City hotels, but this one gives an ocean view, full kitchen (no dishwasher) with utensils/plates/etc., extremely clean, super friendly staff, and budget friendly. Don't overlook this hotel! You won't regret it!

Room Tip: South facing building gives and ocean and boardwalk view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahanoy City, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The women at the front desk were very friendly. The room was very clean, new carpet, new bed sheets. Bathroom was clean, nice shower with HOT water. Balcony was ok with great sideview of beach. Only a few steps and you are on the boardwalk and beach. Parking lot had plenty of room. Great place, 100% coming back!

Room Tip: We asked for the first floor and they gave us it no problem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmhs94
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just got back from a short 3 day vacation at the spinnaker. Staff at check in were super friendly and helpful. Had trouble getting into my room, gave a call and a maintaince man was up within 3 minutes to help, turns out my key wasn't activated right, he went down, got a new one, and apologized, in addition to recieveing a phone call with an apology, I thought that was very nice. Room was very nicely sized. Kitchen with everything you needed (Silverware, pots, pans, plates, bowls, cups, oven, full fridge/freezer). Bathroom had an overly sized mirror, great water pressure, and hot water! (Something most OCMD hotel normally has problems with). Room had new carpet and new bedding. Deck had a wonderful view of the ocean! Only complaint is the light on the deck and the green from the holiday inn across the street, and theres no way to block it out without blocking the AC. Would recommend and would come back again. Staff were great, Room was clean, Housekeepers were all very friendly, pool was nice and had alot of laying room on the deck, parking was no problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stewartstown
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

On a recent weekend, we stayed at the Spinnaker in OC. We stayed Saturday and Sunday nights, so we were able to stay and watch the OC air show on Sunday.

The Spinnaker is conveniently located at 1800 Baltimore Avenue in Ocean City. It is on the beach block. “Malia’s,” a great little restaurant open for breakfast and lunch, is on the ground floor of the Spinnaker.

Our room was ready when we arrived, so were able to check in early. The room was nice sized with two double beds, a sofa, and a table with four chairs in the bedroom area. The room was very clean and comfortable.

There was a stove, sink, microwave, coffeemaker, and a nice-sized refrigerator. Cabinets with silverware and plates were included.

The bathroom was decent-sized with a nice mirror. The water pressure on the shower was sufficient.

There was a walkout balcony. Since we were on an end unit, we had an unobstructed ocean view and were able to watch the fantastic air show from the balcony.

Sunday was a beautiful day. We were able to enjoy the pool, which is located on a deck off the first floor. It is a nice pool and has plenty of seating, with tables and umbrellas.

The staff at the Spinnaker is wonderful. They do everything they can to make customers feel at home. We liked the Spinnaker so much that we plan to stay there again in a few weeks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

First year we were able to go to OCMD in Sept(all kids are now graduated). We were pleasantly surprised that the rooms had recently been renovated - all except the kitchen area. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. I wish they would modify the kitchen - make it a bit more convenient as it's very squished. The employees were exremely helpful. Pool very clean. Plenty of parking(which can sometimes be an issue in OCMD) The motel is right perfectly located in the middle of the boardwalk, steps to the beach. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Everything was great from the view to the room, The room was nice size for 2-4 guests. I would definitely stay here again when I return to ocean city. I loved the location of the hotel its rite in the middle of all the action. With the beach only a few steps away you really can't beat that !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spinnaker Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spinnaker Motel

Also Known As:
Spinnaker Hotel
Spinnaker Motel Ocean City
Spinnaker Ocean City Md
Spinnaker Hotel Ocean City
Address: 18th Street & Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842-0519
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#8 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spinnaker Motel has all full efficiency units that sleep to six people per unit. Each unit includes two double beds a pull out sleep sofa double bed, private balcony, fully equipped kitchenette, full bath and private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Spinnaker Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spinnaker Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Spinnaker Motel to your Saves list