We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel on the water that won't break your budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Talbot Inn

Save Saved
You added Talbot Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Talbot Inn
Talbot Street and the Bay, Talbot Street Pier, Ocean City, MD 21843   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 107 hotels in Ocean City
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“great hotel on the water that won't break your budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Talbot Inn is close to the rides and a few very good restaurants (and just across the bridge from our favorite restaurant in OC, Shark On The Harbor). As you can see from the photo attached, it is newer construction by Ocean City standards, but the price point, for the fantastic location, is very affordable.

The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, the tv is LCD HD. Rooms have fridge, microwave, hairdryer, coffee maker and the little conditioner bottles. Kids did not get black feet from walking barefoot on the carpeting, which was comfy and newish.

It's a ten minute walk to rides, games, boardwalk and the widest part of Ocean City's very clean beach. Excursions leave from the dock right outside the hotel.

The sunset photo attached was taken from our hotel balcony 8/8/2012.

The reasons I can't give Talbot Inn five-out-of-five:

1. There is not enough parking. If you are lucky to get a parking space the walk to the rooms is very short, but otherwise you have to let their (free) valet park your car for you, and they keep the key until you need it or they can find a spot.

2. There was a hole in the bathroom ceiling right over the shower. A big hole. about eight inches by twelve inches, we could see the insulation and rafters.

3. The smoke detector was hanging from the ceiling by the wires, as if it went off and someone hit it with a broom. How can they not fix this before check-in?

4. No daily changes of bedsheets.

All in all, we were very pleased with our stay and will be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    4
    5
    6
See reviews for
10
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Capitol Heights, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Me and my husband will be the word of mouth spokes person for the talbort inn in ocean city maryland . The room was all of it, it was clean , neat, very confortalbe and the clerk that took my resveration was also awesome is name was TRIPP, he was cool, right on point with all information, very knowledgeable about the area and the history of O.C. I am telling all my friends where to stay. TALBOT INN. I love the kitchen it was just right not to big, not to small just enough dishes. I HAD A BALL. Will return back soon

Room Tip: Mine was 31
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

First off it is an almost perfect location! You are located right on an inlet bay with beautiful views and sceneary! Especially bayside offers terrific views but if you stay street side all you have to do is turn your head to see more amazing views. You are only a few minute walk away from the famous Ocean City beaches and right there at the Talbot Inn during your stay offers you plenty of activities to choose from. You can deep sea fish, bay fish, or go on many of their wonderful cruises. They have a bar and grille with great entertainment and food right on location and if you have more of a family-oriented vacation they also tailor some of the boat rides for kids specifically! The customer service is great...anything from speaking to the managers, to the fron desk employees, to housekeeping who does great at cleaning and refreshing rooms as preferred! Even the prices are reasonable! I would reccomend the Talbot Inn as a stay for anybody or any family!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascade, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed at talbot inn for first time on cruise in weekend in oct 2011. Was a little worried that they didn't have updated credit card equipment. Rightfully so. This was the only time that year I used this card and the next day after checking out my card number was used on a dating website. Visa caught it right away and froze account because I was married and 50 years old. Will never return. If you stay here check your credit card bills closely.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Talbot Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for staying with us the 3 night's in October 2011. As a merchant we are required to be PCI-compliance and we take this very serious. The incident that you described on your credit card was not communicated to us and we were not contacted thru payment network (visa,ect) of any fraud. Sorry that you feel it was us that caused the security breach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Talbot Inn is incredibly close to the Boardwalk and other great spots in OC. It is close to the Coastal Highway, for easy travel throughout OC, and close to the 50 bridge. We had a bayside room and it was great. The view was spectacular, and there was a band 2 of the 3 nights that we were there, but the noise level wasn't bad at all, and the band ended at a decent time. It is great to be so close to the boardwalk, great places to eat and of course the beach. The only negative aspect of our stay was that it was on the 3rd floor and no elevator. I had been concerned prior to leaving about bed bugs, since someone had previously reported it, but we checked our room thoroughly and it was very clean. The housekeeper was exceptionally pleasant and offered to be of any help that she could. Overall, it definitely enhanced our beach weekend and we will be returning to the Talbot in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardners, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed at the Talbot and my husband has stayed there a number of times with the boys when they go to OC on fishing trips. It definitely is conveniently close to the board walk, just a couple of blocks of a walk. We have stayed on the street side and have never noticed any noise from the bar on the bay side. Free parking was great.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harpers ferry
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

My family arrived at the talbot inn and i check the bed first thing. I found bed bugs under the covers. I told management and they moved us rooms. the next day that room was occupied. a day later after room service left my parents room my mom found bed bugs in her beds. They also moved rooms. By the next morning that room was occupied. No professional bug people ever looked at these rooms. Time to find a new place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrducksOc_Md, Front Office Manager at Talbot Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
I would like to advise the family that when upon check in on 9/9 at 12:17pm they did not request to be moved because of bedbugs. The request came on 9/12 to be moved.
The other statement this family had was her Mother's room. Stated that we moved her as well. We did not move her because she never asked to be moved because of bedbugs.
We had no other complaints from guest in either of these rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Talbot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Inn

Address: Talbot Street and the Bay, Talbot Street Pier, Ocean City, MD 21843
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Talbot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Hotel Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talbot Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.