We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definite "yes" to book here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Beach Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Beach Plaza Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 Atlantic Avenue, 13th Street & the Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Danville, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Definite "yes" to book here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Place was located on a quiet section of boardwalk, was pet friendly and only steps to the beach. We saw no evidence of pets there except for when a person stepped in dog poop and tracked it along the floor to the apartments - unfortunately, it was there for days. Inside the apartments, it was clean. Apartments were outdated, but had the essentials needed. Cute courtyard in the middle of the apartments. We could definitely hear other guests through the walls and their voices echoed in the courtyard, but that couldn't be helped. Overall, I would definitely stay here again with my pets.

Room Tip: Large ocean front apartments on south side were very nice for sleeping 6 - 8 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    52
    39
    29
    35
See reviews for
80
45
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perry Hall, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Funky older hotel right on the boardwalk has a porch with with lots of rocking chairs - very comfy place to watch the world go by or catch a sunrise. Lobby reminds me of a 40/50s night club with sofas, chandeliers, stained glass windows, grand piano and a small bar. Staff is friendly and efficient. Rooms are in need of some upgrades and need more table space in room and counter space in bathroom. TV had full cable service. Two chairs in the so-called "seating area" were small and uncomfortable. All in all, a good place to stay. The porch and rocking chairs were the best.

Adolfo's restaurant is on site with porch seating, a great menu and fun and efficient staff.

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanfront room - there's no balcony but a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayes, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We read all of the reviews before booking and finally chose the Beach Plaza based on the "character" we thought it had. First of all, you have to remember that this is a beach hotel - basically, it is what it is. That said, we were quite pleased with our choice! The hotel is older but very nice! The rooms are on the small side but very clean and well-maintained. The staff was awesome to deal with. The ladies who provided maid service were extremely accommodating and do a great job! The rocking chairs on the front porch are awesome also - we ended a few evenings up there. Bathrooms are dated but water pressure in shower was terrific. Only complaint we had there was they could stand to upgrade with the newer curved shower rods. Sheets and towels were higher quality than I expected and that was a nice treat!

All in all, a great place to stay and one we would recommend!! We'll look here again when we return to OC!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We just got back Sunday 9/2/12; stayed 4 nights. Before going, we read some of the reviews and were initially worried, but our stay was nothing like the bad reviews; we loved it. We had two rooms, one in the hotel itself, one in the courtyard; will definitely stay here again. Great location; great Italian restaurant-Adolfo's; beautiful hotel lobby especially at night -- cocktail hour/piano; porch overlooking ocean. Our rooms were clean and nothing was amiss. Doug the manager was very helpful, and check-in staff were great as well; they provided wheel chair for my mother; very accommodating. We recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We reserved 3 rooms back in March this year for the Labor Day Weekend! We stay here every year but this year was awful.
They lost the reservations for my Daughter and her family and they had to stay in our room for two of the three nights. Then at Checkout they said she had been a "No Show" so they gave it away.
She was in room for the first night but had to move out the next morning.
Worse part of all was the attitude of the staff on check out "no apologies" for the mix up as they said we were responsible for the mix up! Duh - not sure how we did it!

Planning to go some where else next year!

Room Tip: Rooms on ocean front are nice - you can hear the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

I'm NEVER one to complain, I normally just go with the flow. I also am never one to speak up either. When my boyfriend and I wanted to book a room, we booked this place because the price was moderate and everything else was booked. When we called to make a reservation, they didn't ask us how old we were, and email address for the reservation to be sent to, how many people were staying, who's name was on the credit card, etc. upon arrival, an older lady at the front counter was HIGHLY unprofessional and rude! When asked for all of our Ids, she reportedly accused us of lying when making reservations. (were 19&20). No where does the website say an age restriction, nor did the lady booking it for us. She continuously told us "not to mess up," and had us all sign a contract that we wouldn't. At this point, I had felt extremely unwelcomed. All was well until we checked out. May I add the toilet did NOT work. She also continued to tell me that my credit card was on file for damages. Were straight A students. SO ready to leave, we're checking out only to find out there was a balance that hadn't been paid. We paid everything off when we got there. The older lady who checked us in charged us $60 for the extra two people we had with us. Never did they ask on the phone how many people were staying, it was like they were trying to get us right off the phone. We booked a double bed room, for 4 people. Like I said, I'm never one to say anything, but I was beyond upset, and felt extremely disrespected! I will NEVER stay here again!!! And one last thing, they welcome high school graduating seniors. We are now in our second years of college, how does that make sense?!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug H, Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Ashley-
Thank you for reporting your concerns while staying at the Beach Plaza. Since the time you submitted your review I have spoken with Matt and he relayed the same concerns to me and I have credited the $60 charge back to your credit card. The front desk staff has been reminded that when taking reservations to ask for the number of people in the room as our rates are for 2 adults and there is an extra charge for additional guests over the age of 16.
Again, Ashley, thank you for sharing your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

From Cheri in reservations,to Doug the general manager,to Jane and Debbie at the front desk,I have never had a more pleasant experience in a hotel in my life! In a day and age where customer service seems to have disappeared,these people have renewed my faith that there are places that still care about their guests.I was overwhelmed by their kindness and dedication to making sure we had the most enjoyable stay possible.It was a true vacation in every sense of the word! I will gladly stay here again and again!

Room Tip: All the rooms are clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug H, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
The entire staff at the Beach Plaza thanks you for your kind comments. It is extremely rewarding to know that our efforts are appreciated. We will continue to treat each guest as if they were staying with us in our homes.
We are looking forward to your next visit and repeating the same experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Plaza Hotel

Address: 1301 Atlantic Avenue, 13th Street & the Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Plaza oceanfront hotel is located at 13th Street on the famous Ocean City, MD Boardwalk. The hotel’s beachfront location is ideal for family beach vacations, weekend getaways or your next golf vacation. Beach Plaza guests are just a short stroll down the boardwalk to numerous restaurants, nightclubs, amusement rides and shopping.The Beach Plaza Hotel offers a variety of accommodations to meet your needs, from oceanfront guest rooms, efficiencies and 1-bedroom apartments to spacious 3-bedroom apartments that can accommodate up to eight guests. Hotel amenities include free parking, on-site bike rental, comfortable rocking chairs on the spacious porch overlooking the boardwalk and convenient beach rentals for your chair, umbrella and boogie board desires.Enjoy our warm Eastern Shore hospitality, spectacular ocean views and spacious accommodations - all just steps from spectacular Atlantic beaches and the famous Ocean City Boardwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Beach Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Phillips Beach Plaza
Phillips Beach Plaza Ocean City
Phillips Beach Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.