We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was nice, but overly priced for what you get” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Castle in the Sand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Castle in the Sand Hotel to your Saves list
Castle in the Sand Hotel
3701 Atlantic Avenue, 37th Street & Oceanfront, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It was nice, but overly priced for what you get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2007

I've been going to Ocean City every few years since 1979 and even though this hotel was one of the nicer ones I have stayed at, I feel its overpriced for what you get. Considering the cost, I would've expected more extras and for that reason alone, I won't stay there in the future unless there is no place else to go. There are too many other hotels in Ocean City for less money that are just as nice in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    146
    64
    42
    37
See reviews for
220
102
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York PA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2007

This was my fourth stay here. Twice I came for the mystery weekend which was great fun. The other times were festival times in Ocean City. I am senior citizen and appreciate the senior rates they give which makes it so affordable..The rooms are clean and pleasant with great service. It is family friendly. Each time i stayed there my room had a kitchenette with complimentry coffee and I do love my coffee first thing in the morning. It also has a balcony that faces the ocean. I always recommend it to my friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, md
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2007

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel during the Easter weekend. Although the weather was not perfect, we enjoyed our stay regardless. The main attraction of the hotel is its location and the affordable rates.

Good:
The room is clean and organized;
The ocean view is beautiful;
Walk right to the beach from the hotel;
On-site restaurants;
Kitchen has microwave, dishes, coffee maker, utensils and toaster;
Staffs are very friendly and helpful.

Bad:
The noise level is high for us since we have a young child and he needs to sleep early. The first night we heard teenagers yelling, running on the balcony and slamming doors. Because the common balcony is wood-made, it is very loud when someone is running on it.

Improvement:
The heat/AC is not central. The heat/AC is in the living room. When turned up the heat in the living room made the room too hot, the bedroom was still too cold. And it was very uncomfortable sitting in the sofa because the heat was blowing directly on us.

I also wish they have a hand-held shower head in the bathroom. It makes easier to wash a young child.

Tips:
The kitchen is quite well-equipped. However, don’t forget to bring your own paper towel if you have children with you. Also, if you would like to cook during your stay, make sure to bring things like sugar, salt, pepper and cooking oil.

Beverage is very expensive in Ocean city. Bring enough drinks will save you a lot.

  • Liked — Location and affordable rates
  • Disliked — Heat/AC is not central
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calvert County, Maryland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2007

Upon first arriving at the hotel, I was commenting to my friend that we'd hope for the best, as I didn't know anyone who had stayed at this hotel before. I booked the reservation through Expedia based soley on price. What a pleasant surprise when we opened the door to our room and saw a spacious, clean, well decorate room. We had 2 full beds, a comfortable pull-out couch, 2 sets of drawers, a TV with cable VCR and DVD. There were also 2 comfortable arm chairs as well as 4 other chairs that could be used with the spacious table, which is drop leaf style. When closed it can be used as an eat at "bar", when opened it can comfortably seat 6-8 people. The kitchenette was fully equipped, and easy to use. The hotel even supplied a dish cloth and towel as well as a small bottle of dish soap! The bathroom was clean and comfortable. All of this included a private ocean front balcony with a set of cafe chairs and table. The staff was friendly and helpful. They even have DVDs that can be borrowed at no charge. The weekend breakfast buffet was fabulous! I would stay at the Castle in the Sand Hotel again and hope that you will give it a try!

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garden state, nj
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2007

We stayed here for 4 days during the end of summer, Labor Day weekend. The hotel was ok, not much to go gaga about, though I think they need to start thinking to UPDATE !!(noticed they had really old table lamps and appliances) Excellent service though, can't say enough of their staff. We came in while there was a storm, our window was leaking (we had an oceanfront room) and since they were fully booked due to the holiday and cannot transfer us to another room, they made all the effort to make us comfortable and were very attending to our needs. Great location, and easy access to the ocean.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2006

This property is one-of-a-kind, it consists of several buildings none higher than 5 floors and several townhouse/cottages. The property covers an entire block but because of the low density the beachfront is never crowded and parking is easy on a gate controlled lot. The enormous pool is on the West side so it receives afternoon sun. They probably have the last diving board in Ocean City. The pool is at least 25 yards long, I've seen adults swimming laps in the morning. During the summer season there is an open-air grill/bar called Coconuts. At lunchtime it is easy to walk up from the beach and simply sit down and enjoy sandwiches and burgers at Coconuts. They even offer beach-side service of drinks and food. On a lower floor in one of the buildings there is an all-you-can-eat breakfast and dinner. We have not eaten there so I cannot attest to the food, but it is convenient.

We stayed in a North Building unit with an oceanfront view. The size of the unit was very large consisting of a bedroom with two beds, full kitchen, bathroom, and living room with a sleep sofa. These are not plush accomodations but everything is clean and in working order. There are drying racks that can be used on the balcony to dry towels and bathing suits. The bedroom has a ceiling fan operated by remote control. There are two TV sets with numerous cable channels.

The location is terrific. You are within easy walking distance of many restaurants, The Fractured Prune donut shop is wonderful. The Mad Hatter across the street serves terrific sandwiches, homemade soup, and subs at a reasonable price. There are several surf shops nearby, Doc, at Ocean Atlantic is particularly personable and knowledgeable about the local surfing scene.

Castle-in-the-Sand is owned and operated by a family. Members of the family are onsite every day. They truly care about customer service and if you have a problem or concern, it is adressed quickly. A window blind was broken in our room and someone was there is less than 10 minutes. All the staff are friendly and professional. During the summer, Lady Sunshine runs a childrens' activity program in the afternoons and it's great. They have Pirate Day and lots of arts and crafts as well as magic demonstrations and juggling lessons.

  • Liked — Family-run hotel, low density
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — The third floor in the North Building has a great view from the oceanfront units
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2006

Great time - enjoyed the cleanliness of the rooms. Housekeeping staff was friendly. Kids activities were fun!
Enjoyed Coconuts Bar and Grill!

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle in the Sand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle in the Sand Hotel

Address: 3701 Atlantic Avenue, 37th Street & Oceanfront, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#15 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#23 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premiere direct oceanfront family resort with desirable location on two blocks sun-kissed beach. Guest amenities include free wireless internet, Olympic pool with diving board, sand volleyball court, beach equipment rentals on-site, free kid’s activities, and live entertainment daily in season. Beach House dining offers a la carte breakfast and buffet breakfast daily. Coconuts Beach Bar offers open-air beachfront patio dining. Waitress service on our beach and pool deck. Take A Dip Ice Cream Shop open Memorial Day thru Labor Day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Castle in the Sand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle In The Sand Hotel Ocean City
Castle In The Sand Ocean City Md

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle in the Sand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.