We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and bar/cafe service on the beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle in the Sand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Castle in the Sand Hotel to your Saves list
Castle in the Sand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3701 Atlantic Avenue, 37th Street & Oceanfront, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location and bar/cafe service on the beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This is the first place I have stayed in OC that has waitress service on the beach. Those girls are working their butts off delivering drinks and lunches to the beach and on hot sand!! I hope everyone continues to treat them well! That is hard work. We stayed in the Waverly Castle in a standard room, two double beds. The room was somewhat updated and clean; however, the age of the building still shows. This hotel has two dinning options, Coconuts Tiki Bar Cafe
and The Beach House Buffet.
First, Coconuts is a fun, outdoor bar area with an outstanding happy hour from 5-6 where the drinks are 2 for 1 and serves decent food. Second, The Beach House is in the "basement" of the North Castle. You go down a flight of stairs and walk past an operational hotel service area to reach the entrance. Average breakfast-just wasn't our favorite place.
Location, Location, Location! You can't beat the central OC, oceanfront location. Easy access to town buses, within walking distance to the Convention Center and Jolly Rogers Amusement Park- and almost everything else!
We loved the beach service, view from our balcony and all of the staff were friendly. We will return to the Castle in the Sand.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    184
    88
    59
    43
See reviews for
294
130
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My family and I visited for 2 days and 1 night. We stayed in Waverly Castle on the 3rd Floor. You could easily see the ocean though yes, from floors 1 and 2 you will see the dunes. Room was nice and clean! Staff very friendly! And location is great!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmore, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I recently stayed at Castle in the Sand from 7/31-8/3 and I had a pretty good experience overall.
The downside of my trip was I fell at walking through Coconuts and a bar chair fell on my head. Holly (Restaurant Manager) was great!! An answer to my prayers in that moment, however I was dissapointed the hotel manager did not follow up with my complaint / report. You would think they would be concerned with my well being after falling at their facility. All in all the stay was ok minus chair rental and beach service was NO where to be found on Saturday 8/2 until after 2pm??

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We have stayed at Castle twice for girlfriend weekends. The office staff gets a huge thumbs up. Really accommodating and helpful sorting out the bill amongst five women. The first time, we stayed in an efficiency in Waverly. The second time, in a 2nd floor suite, an apartment style with full kitchen in Castle North. Beds were VERY comfortable. The pullout sofa bed wasn't, but we brought along a foam mattress topper and that helped. Kitchen had plenty of space. Bathroom nice and updated. Our first night there was a Friday and on Friday evening, the shower wasn't too warm. We thought there was a problem, but it turned out that it was just a high-use time for the hotel in general. Really didn't notice it again the rest of the weekend. It was clean. It did, however, seem to take a while for the maid service to get to us. Eventually, all we ended up doing was getting new towels everyday instead of having them come in. But it worked out because we preferred to make our own beds and clean up after ourselves. Love the overall atmosphere. Coconuts Bar & Grill....fun place! Live entertainment every afternoon. Happy hour. Family friendly too with organized activities for kids. Beach volleyball court. Drink service, albeit expensive, on the beach. We did notice, however, that if you enter the beach from 37th street, you don't see too many of the beach waitresses. They stay mainly closer to the Coconut side. Within an easy bus ride to Fager's, our favorite place to go when we visit. Overall, it's a great place to stay. Everything you need is there. Our girls group spent a lot of years staying in different condos, hotels.....we've decided that Castle is our place and we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We were very disappointed with our stay at The Castle in the Sand. We stayed in cottage B6 & it was filthy. The night we arrived our toilet broke & the refrigerator was leaking water. Main thence did come right away to fix the issue however we had to plunge the toilet at least once a day during our stay! My husband also had to fix the kitchen table because the bolts that hold the legs in place we're loose. The hotel used duck tape to fix part of the floor in the kitchen area & none of the electrical outlet held in plugs. I was looking forward to making a cup of coffee in the morning to find the compartment that holds the water had black mold! Another thing that I noticed immediately was that the filters in the wall air conditioning units were covered in dust. I called the front desk two times to address this & nothing was done. My son & are are really allergic to dust and are now both suffering from respiratory infections. If we did not have 3 small children that were so excited to go to the beach we would have checked out the first day. We felt like we we're mislead because the pictures posted on their website of the cabins look NOTHING like what we stayed in.

The one thing that we did enjoy about the hotel was the children's programs by Lady Sunshine who is on a contract & is not actually on staff at the hotel. She was wonderful with the kids & had fun activities from 2-6pm each day. We also liked the life guards. They were all very friendly.

Overall this place has the potential for being nice if the owners would invest time & money in fixing it up & unless that happens we will not be staying at Castle in the Sand when we return to OC.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

As we have become regulars at Castle in the Sand, I felt it necessary to keep up with reviewing the property. I have other review of this place that both still stand true. Castle is a family run hotel that does it right. The property has 3 Buildings with various styles of rooms from hotel room to large suites. It also has a large swimming pool with diving board and a great restaurant/bar (coconuts). As I have said before, the people who work here must sleep very well, as they are always moving about cleaning serving whatever. I see many of the same people each year, and its like coming home to see family. Joe cut his hair and almost slipped by me, but after he looked me in the eyes, I knew it was him. He and Jeff are my real ties to he place as we cross paths all day. In short, clean, friendly, and best location. Your not on the boards, but close enough. Plenty of food options nearby if you choose not to enjoy the great music, food and drinks at coconuts. Including service on the beach for both food and cocktails! Kids are welcome here and have a great time. Really anyone will enjoy this place. This is not a polished marble gold fixtures kind of hotel. Its a comfortable clean updated nice place. Dont hesitate to visit them! ENJOY!

Room Tip: first floor rooms have walk out to the beach, but no view. But its easy in easy out and you can enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleadmin, General Manager at Castle in the Sand Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thanks for the review. We appreciate the kind words. Many of our guests come back year after year and it is always fun for us to see them and catch up on their lives. That is what makes The Castle a special place. We want everyone to have a nice, clean, updated room that people want to revisit. Thanks again. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weirton, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed in the castle for years. My son is now 19 started comin there when he was 1 year old. Got one word Awesome!. Staff, Bar area, Beach . Really? If you dont stay at the Castle you really haven't been to ocean city! see you guys soon .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.5 mi away
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
#34 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#45 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,573 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#15 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel
Dunes Manor Hotel
#2 of 108 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 943 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Oceanfront
Quality Inn Oceanfront
#31 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 509 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#33 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle in the Sand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle in the Sand Hotel

Address: 3701 Atlantic Avenue, 37th Street & Oceanfront, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#24 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle in the Sand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premiere direct oceanfront family resort with desirable location on two blocks sun-kissed beach. Guest amenities include free wireless internet, Olympic pool with diving board, sand volleyball court, beach equipment rentals on-site, free kid’s activities, and live entertainment daily in season. Beach House dining offers a la carte breakfast and buffet breakfast daily. Coconuts Beach Bar offers open-air beachfront patio dining. Waitress service on our beach and pool deck. Take A Dip Ice Cream Shop open Memorial Day thru Labor Day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Castle in the Sand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle In The Sand Hotel Ocean City
Castle In The Sand Ocean City Md

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle in the Sand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.