We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle in the Sand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Castle in the Sand Hotel to your Saves list
Castle in the Sand Hotel
3701 Atlantic Avenue, 37th Street & Oceanfront, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Baldwin, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We went this past July and stayed for a few days in North Tower -ground level behind the dunes and we loved our location with such easy access to a great beach. we had a full kitchen which was wonderful for saving some money with breakfast lunch and 2-3 easy dinners. the nicely decorated bedrooms were located in back past the kitchen and were in need of some a/c - it is located in the living room and does not reach the back too good. But at least there is also a ceiling fan in back bedroom. I think at some point central a/c would be nice. Also when you sit on the porch, the heat from the a/c blows out hot air on you - which is the last thing you want in July..We loved Coconuts for drinks and lunch and the guys played volleyball 2 days with some of the guests/visitors at the bar. Nice they also have beach service for drinks! I would go back and tell everyone I know how they should come with us this time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    141
    64
    42
    37
See reviews for
217
100
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Thank you Castle for another awesome 4 day stay. Love the Rockin Raven's weekend. Not a Raven's fan , but we use it as a reunion weekend with dear friends. As always the food was great. Like the fact if we want to cook, every thing you need is there.

The only thing we didn't like was the slow internet. It really needs to be upgraded.

All in all we love the Castle !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linthicum Heights, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were down for the Ravens Pig Roast. Had a blast. Food was good. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Could have been more TVs to watch the game Sunday. Cant wait to do it again next year. We already put in a reservation for next year, as long as it isnt the same weekend as the New Orleans Saints game.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Grove, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I came down for the Endless Summer Cruisin. Despite the rain, we made the best of it. We were able to check in early (9am) which was nice because of the rain. The staff was very nice and easy to deal with. We stayed in one of the condo's on 36th street, very clean and up to date. Plenty of room for the 2 of us. Parking was generous and very easy to access. The breakfast buffet was excellent, the best in OC. Had it not rained most of the weekend, we could have enjoyed the beach, it was literally steps from our room. We had a mishap at our home while we were away due to the rain, and we had to leave a day early. With that being said we were able to get credit for that night. The manager was very easy to contact, and I received a response within the hour. We will definitely be back in the spring with our children. Can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovettsville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I have been staying at Castle in the Sand Hotel since I was a child. As a young parent I brought my children here too. Now that I am an empty nester I visit OC occasionally and always stay at the Castle. Yes it is older and a little run down but the location couldn't be better and the price is reasonable for what is offered. This visit, my husband and I stayed in the Castle North in one of the newly remodeled suites. The suite is very spacious and the kitchen is actually usable with counter space. There is a good sized table with 4 chairs for dining. The living area has a large couch and two comfortable chairs. There are two TVs in the suite, one in the living area and one in the sleeping area. There is also a CD player and a DVD player. We were on the 3rd floor and the view was excellent. There are two chairs and a table on the balcony. As a previous reviewer reported, the AC is in the living area and is expected to reach to the sleeping area in the rear of the suite. We also had the experience of the water turning from scalding to cold in seconds and no way to adjust it. I too was surprised at how fast the suite was falling into disrepair. The bathroom, although remodeled, was in terrible shape. The door to the balcony lacked weather stripping and the wind whistled loudly all night long making sleeping difficult. As long as you are staying at the Castle for location and aren't too fussy about the condition of the hotel you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Castle North has newly remodeled suites. If you want a completely unobstructed view from the room y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel could get a solid 3.5 stars, if it bothered to try. Amazing location on the beach, options of various sized rooms, including spacious suites and a decent outdoor pool all play in its favor. Unfortunately, there seems to be very little care for the upkeep of this place, making what should be a pretty good experience into one of mostly disappointment.

My family recently rented a one bedroom suite in the North Castle, which is supposed to be the newest and best quality of the buildings in the complex. Yes, the living room and bedroom furniture looked like it had recently been updated, as did the kitchen and part of the bathroom (vanity and mirror) but parts of the suite were quickly falling into disrepair, and given how obvious these issues were, through what can only be assumed to be lack of oversight from management. The bathroom was mostly a mess, and not only because it had barely been cleaned (parts had obviously not even received a wipe down), but because of the cracked tiles, dirty and mouldy caulking and ceiling tiles nearly falling down. How can these be ignored by maintenance staff and not repaired before guests check in?! The living room was spacious and had a wonderful view of the beach, but the weather stripping on the balcony door was so poor (or perhaps non-existent) that you could see outside through a gap under the door. This meant that during our stay, when there was mostly wind and rain, the door whistled all night long and the carpeting around the door was soaking wet! How could maintenance not catch this issue?

Other issues with this room included paper thin walls between rooms, meaning that you could hear conversations and the TV from your neighbors, and worst of all, smell the cigarette smoke from their rooms. I read one of the comments about smoking from a previous review and didn't bother reporting it given management's response on this site (our room had a cigarette burn on the sofa, so clearly smoking is not uncommon here). Smoking on balconies, which is permitted at this hotel, means that your room is likely going to be filled with smoke if any of your neighbors are smokers, not only if your balcony door was open at the same time, but given the issue of a gap in the door as mentioned above.

Overall, I think this hotel could be quite decent, but there is little effort made to make it this way. Too bad, really. We did ask reception to address the issues of most concern to us, which they seemed happy to do, but many remained to be discovered during our stay. It would take a walk through by managers once every few stays to catch these very obvious problems. It seemed like this was not the approach here, and rather issues were being addressed on a complaint only basis. This is no way to run a hotel as it puts the onus on guests to make sure that their room is decent and safe enough for their stay.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here despite all the negative reviews, try to get a higher level suite in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the northeast
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed in the Castle North Suites which where newly remodeled this year. This was our first stay at this property. The positive: The suite had new carpeting/flooring, furniture, walls looked good with new paint. It had a nice view of the beach & ocean from the living area. Price was more economical than staying at the Holiday inn & suites or the Hilton Suites. The property was convenient for getting to the beach. Wait staff service on the beach nice.
The negatives: I don't like the motel type access to our room. (I prefer interior hallways.), We were on the 3rd floor & took the steps instead of the elevator most times. I didn't like the fact that there were beer bottles & cans on the staircases sitting there for days! The enclosed staircase adjacent to the Coconuts bar just smelled musty/old. My husband said like stale beer at his old fraternity house.
Our first night we took showers, my husband complained that there was no regulating the hot/cold water. I thought he was just being nit picky but sure enough it went from warm too scolding hot ,back to frigid cold literally within a minute.. That was the longest shower I've ever had since I was soapy & trying to find a decent temp. that I could rinse off. Shows not everything could be upgraded & this is an older property. First thing in the morning, I phoned front desk to tell about our problem & have it fixed before we needed showers. Person on the phone actually chuckled?! No apology about the problem. We weren't laughing during our shower experiences with the water going from scolding to frigid in seconds!!! They did have maintenance come shortly to fix the shower. It was better but still not the best quality or water pressure for that matter.
The bedroom at the entrance of the unit was really warm compared to the living area. I think the a/c in the living room was supposed to reach all the way to the back bedroom? There was only a ceiling fan in the bedroom. Glad to have stayed only 3 nights.
Upon checkout, customer service lacking. No, "How was your stay?" or even "Hope you come back" as other more upscale hotels offer. I think I'll pass on this place next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle in the Sand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle in the Sand Hotel

Address: 3701 Atlantic Avenue, 37th Street & Oceanfront, Ocean City, MD 21842
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#17 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#21 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premiere direct oceanfront family resort with desirable location on two blocks sun-kissed beach. Guest amenities include free wireless internet, Olympic pool with diving board, sand volleyball court, beach equipment rentals on-site, free kid’s activities, and live entertainment daily in season. Beach House dining offers a la carte breakfast and buffet breakfast daily. Coconuts Beach Bar offers open-air beachfront patio dining. Waitress service on our beach and pool deck. Take A Dip Ice Cream Shop open Memorial Day thru Labor Day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Castle in the Sand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle In The Sand Hotel Ocean City
Castle In The Sand Ocean City Md

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle in the Sand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.