We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like a mini-resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle in the Sand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Castle in the Sand Hotel to your Saves list
Castle in the Sand Hotel
3701 Atlantic Avenue, 37th Street & Oceanfront, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
East Coast
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Felt like a mini-resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We recently spent a few nights at this hotel. We had a mini-suite on the ground floor of the south building. The location was convenient to everything. Outside one door was close parking and the huge pool. Outside the other was the patio leading to the bar/grill area and beach. The Beach House restaurant, the Ice Cream shop, and the gift shop were also mere steps away. There was live music in the bar/grill area (Coconuts) every day at both lunch and dinnertime. The pool was clean and had a true deep end with a diving board. The fact that Coconuts serves food and beverages at the beach and pool made us feel like we were at a resort instead of just a hotel. Service from Coconuts was extremely slow (so much so that one time I left the pool area to track down our waitress so we could close out our bill), so that's one thing that could be improved, but we recognize life is a slower pace at the beach in general, too, so it was just a minor irritation.

The room seemed to have a good bit of wear on it (some peeling paint, chips & scratches in the kitchen counter, etc), but was clean and neat. It's not a fancy Hilton or Marriott-type, but it was perfectly fine for a beach vacation. No need for fancy when you're wearing flip-flops, anyway! I had been warned ahead of time that my room location might be noisy, due to the nearness of the bar/grill and pool, and yes, it was a bit noisy, but things quieted down by midnight each night. I could also hear the family in the room above ours walking around. The air conditioning was downright awesome, though. Hard to believe a wall unit like that can keep the room so cold, but it did so well that we ended up raising the temperature a little (because it got too cold!). We were able to walk to the north end of the Boardwalk with ease. There is also a bus stop one street over from the hotel, and it only costs a dollar to ride ($3 for off/on all day), so that was convenient as well.

The beach was not crowded at all (especially when we compared it to the beaches we saw in front of the Boardwalk hotels), and even though the hotel was completely full part of the time we were there, we didn't encounter crowds at the pool or restaurant, either.

For those with younger kids, there are a lot of kids activities every day. (Another thing that made it feel resort-like)

Someone else mentioned this, but just a heads up that a $10 cash key deposit is required at check-in and refunded at check-out, so make sure you arrive with a little cash on hand.

We were very happy with our visit and are already talking about plans for a short return trip.

Room Tip: The hotel is very open and honest about the pros and cons of different room locations (they are the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleadmin, Owner at Castle in the Sand Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear “travelexperiences09”
Thank you for sharing your nice compliments regarding your vacation at The Castle in the Sand Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed all the amenities The Castle has to offer. We have so many things going on to entertain our guests it is like being at a small resort! Our pool is not only one of the largest in Ocean City, but is the only one with a diving board. This has been very popular with our guests. Coconuts beach waitress service also is one of our guests’ favorite amenities, along with the free children’s activities that are available. The Castle’s location is very convenient to many of Ocean City’s most popular attractions including the boardwalk and amusements so it was nice to read that this was a plus for your family. Thank you for patronage and I hope you will return on your next trip to Ocean City, Maryland.
Sincerely,
Adam L. Showell, Sr., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    141
    64
    42
    37
See reviews for
216
99
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
lansdale, pa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

"The Castle" offers everything we look for in a family vacation. Comfortable rooms with a full kitchen which allows us to cook a few meals in, quick walk to the beach, and the BEST swimming pool in Ocean City. We've enjoyed many lunches & cocktails at the beach bar/grill while listening to the live music. Last, but not least, the children's activities the castle offers with "sunshine and lady j" have been entertaining our kids for years. The best face painting you'll ever see! Entire staff friendly & always accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleadmin, Owner at Castle in the Sand Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear “trudytrue”
I’m glad you enjoyed your family vacation at The Castle, and you enjoyed all the amenities The Castle has to offer. We strive to provide clean, affordable accommodations with modern conveniences and it’s good to know that we succeeded in all areas during your stay. Thank you for your kind words about our property, your continued patronage, and I hope you’ll stay with us again on your next vacation.
Sincerely,
Adam L. Showell, Sr., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a few friends for the first time, and it was very nice, breakfast buffet, Bar/Night Club, beach with in walking distance, a little expensive but the whole Ocean City is expensive, will definitly return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleadmin, Owner at Castle in the Sand Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear “Boo2302”
Thank you for your patronage. I’m glad you enjoyed all the amenities The Castle has to offer. I hope you’ll stay at The Castle in the Sand Hotel the next time you visit Ocean City, Maryland.
Sincerely,
Adam L. Showell, Sr., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Castle in the Sand and Coconuts Beach Bar keeps bringing us back year after year.Spring Summer Fall , You can't go wrong.The rooms and location are just what I'm looking for . Good food fun and entertainment always the best !!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleadmin, Owner at Castle in the Sand Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear “Weremeychik”
Thank you for being a returning guest and taking the time to share your comments. It’s great to know that you enjoyed The Castle in the Sand Hotel and all of it’s amenities, including Coconuts Beach Bar & Grill. I hope you’ll return to The Castle on your next Ocean City vacation.
Sincerely,
Adam L. Showell, Sr., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slingerlands, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We just got back from our second time here. We love this place!! Great for the kids who loved the activites for kids, the movie night and swimming in the large pool. Having a kitchennette in the room was great for breakfasts. We felt like we were in a resort area with Coconuts restaurant, music playing, volleyball, beach and pool service. Cannot wait to go again!! Great walking distance to many things and a short drive to the boardwalk, deep sea fishing and go carts!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor of the Waverly Building-great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleadmin, Owner at Castle in the Sand Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear “Sue M”
Thank you for your review and your continued patronage. It sounds like you and your family enjoyed the amenities that make The Castle so popular! I’m glad you found our accommodations suited your needs, and our location convenient, as The Castle is close to the boardwalk, amusements, fishing, go carts and lots of other popular Ocean City attractions. I hope you’ll return to The Castle the next time you vacation in Ocean City.
Sincerely,
Adam L. Showell, Sr., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Hotel rooms have been recently upgraded but the staff lacks detail to maintain an average standard. Unfortunately, the hotel has great potential with many things to offer, but they have no interest in the details or cleanliness of the rooms and facility. While the hotel is old they recently spent a considerable amount of money upgrading the rooms but when we checked in discovered they were FILTHY! When we checked in we noticed it was not very clean but decided not to say anything, but after the first day of maid service it was worse instead of better. The beds were barely made, they did not sweep, clean the bathroom, leave any new soap, coffee, dish towels, etc... The fans have a 1/4" of dust, the top of the refrigerator has also not been cleaned in some time, the toilet was not clean & none of the surfaces had been dusted. We complained to the office showing them pictures and while they acted surprised & determined to change it the next day everything remained the same. It is sad because the owners have spent a considerable amount upgrading but they need to fire the staff running the facility. The grounds could also use some general cleaning & maintenance.

There are positives in that they have a large pool with lifeguards & a diving board which is unusual. They also have a bar with daily live music, volleyball courts, & daily kids activities. Could be an awesome place but they need to do some serious cleaning to maintain their investment. Unfortunately, I do not recommend this hotel because I do not anticipate a change.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleadmin, General Manager at Castle in the Sand Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear "sbenmn",
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the kind words about our pool, the live music at Coconuts and our daily kids’ activities. We are sorry that the cleanliness of the room was not up to your standard. We do disagree that we have no interest in details or cleanliness. We spend a great deal of time maintaining our rooms and our grounds. Each morning starting at 7 AM the grounds are cleaned. A large hotel like ours with a very popular restaurant and bar area as well as a large pool takes a large commitment of time and money to keep clean. We do feel that we meet this commitment, and then some.. We get many compliments about the grounds here and have, in fact, recognized by the city of Ocean City as a “beautiful place”. It is unfortunate that your room was not up to par and we apologize for this. We feel our housekeeping department is among the best in Ocean City and we are proud of them. If a guest has a bad experience, we try very hard to remedy the situation. This is why I directed the staff to strip the room and totally re-clean it for you. Finally, The Castle is an family run business. Our owner is here on the property and takes an active role in the running of the hotel. You will find no “off the premises” investor here as your note seems to indicate. Again, we apologize for the unfortunate issues in your room during your stay and wish you a happy rest of summer.
Sincerely,
Bob Borello, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We booked Castle in the Sand at the last minute. We were given a condo with an ocean view. The price was very reasonable. We had a full kitchen, a balcony and TV. The room was a bit worn, but it was the beach and we priced other hotels and they were way more expensive. We have stayed here several times. This was the first time we got a condo. I never knew that you could rent a condo of theirs for just 2 days. We will certainly do this again. The beach was beautiful and the coconuts bar was fantastic. They have bands there all the time and a great happy hour. As long as you are not expecting the ritz, you will be fine here. It is a great place for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: condos are great. Just bring small filters for the coffee machine. They provide you with 2 portions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleadmin, Owner at Castle in the Sand Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear “marboe1223”
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our condominium units and feel that it is a reasonable price. The Castle is enviably located directly on the Atlantic Ocean which affords us a beautiful expanse of beach. I’m glad you were able to enjoy the beach and Coconuts’ entertainment while you were here. I hope you’ll stay with us again on your next trip to Ocean City.
Sincerely,
Adam L. Showell, Sr., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle in the Sand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle in the Sand Hotel

Address: 3701 Atlantic Avenue, 37th Street & Oceanfront, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#20 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#24 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premiere direct oceanfront family resort with desirable location on two blocks sun-kissed beach. Guest amenities include free wireless internet, Olympic pool with diving board, sand volleyball court, beach equipment rentals on-site, free kid’s activities, and live entertainment daily in season. Beach House dining offers a la carte breakfast and buffet breakfast daily. Coconuts Beach Bar offers open-air beachfront patio dining. Waitress service on our beach and pool deck. Take A Dip Ice Cream Shop open Memorial Day thru Labor Day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Castle in the Sand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle In The Sand Hotel Ocean City
Castle In The Sand Ocean City Md

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle in the Sand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.