We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we will return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle in the Sand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Castle in the Sand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle in the Sand Hotel
3701 Atlantic Avenue, 37th Street & Oceanfront, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE CASTLE CASH TO SPEND
Ranked #21 of 107 hotels in Ocean City
Altmar, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“we will return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

it was a nice place to stay. the room was not even close to what the web site showed, which was dissapointing at first. it was clean and the veiw was great. as someone mentioned, the layout was odd but understandable. the beach was a hop, skip and a jump away. which was good because i am disabled and can't walk very far. the bed was horrable for me. i slept on the pull out couch and that was no better. other than that we were very happy with everything. we will be going back next fall. this time we will avoid bike week. we loved looking at them but it was really loud and hard to travel or get a seat at a restaraunt.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    128
    60
    38
    37
See reviews for
205
93
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Parkville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed in Castle South Suites on the second floor suite 21 at the far end. I asked for second floor because hey said you could see the ocean in an ocean front suite. I could see the ocean if I stood up on the balcony and looked between the trees and sand dunes. Not what I was expecting from a balcony ocean view. However other rooms on the same floor may have better views.

Other than the view the room was ok. A very strange layout bedroom in front living room in back with passage through either the kitchen or bathroom.

I would stay again maybe in another building or the third floor at the opposite end. The south suites do not have an elevator just for your info.

One more thing the rooms only have an air conditioner in the living room this was not a problem for us at the end of September but it could be one in he hottest part of summer.

Room Tip: In the Castle South Suites try the 3rd floor. Rooms nearest the end of the front office. We were at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We liked the description "ocean view blocked by natural dunes." We booked a first floor unit in the Waverly building. We had a small patio outside our rear door with a table and two chairs and two lounge chairs. We could sit in the sun shielded by grassy dunes separating us from the ocean beach. A very short walk led around the dunes to the very clean beach and ocean. The room was good. We had a couch, dining table, flat screen TV on a bureau/desk and a tiny equipped kitchen with two burners, oven, small fridge, and microwave. We had free internet access. The hotel restaurant offered breakfast only in September. It was buffet or a la carte. They offered simple basic food and had a make your own Belgian waffle station. For $9.99 the buffet was a good deal. Room cleaning could have been a little better. Noticible debris didn't disappear while we were there. Prompt response for a non working remote control.

Room Tip: They have several buildings with different views and amenities. Higher floors have better ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Castle in the Sand is a decent hotel with decent prices. It is right on the beach so it if very convenient for hitting the ocean. There is an outside bar with happy hours and food to order. It has a huge pool if that is what someone likes other then the ocean. Room is clean but nothing over the top....just a simple room with little kitchen area and ocean front view. We were in the Waverly building, 5th floor with small balcony which was very nice. Never had any noise or high volume issues. Slept well every night. It is located at 36/37th street which was a nice bike ride to where the boardwalk starts at 27th st and local places to eat. We rode bikes to breakfast every morning and then hit the boardwalk and back to the hotel for a morning bike ride everyday. Weather was great during the 3rd weekend in Sept. This was a 2nd year there during the Sunfest and plan on returning next year...

Room Tip: waverly building from 2nd fl up is an ocean view room. However there are other choices closer to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We keep looking for the right OC place and maybe we have found it. We had booked a room with stove to be able to have breakfast without having to run out. It turned out that neither burner on the stove worked, so I called the front desk. One guy came out to make sure it was a legit complaint. Minutes after his departure, another fellow came in to see what he could do. Shortly thereafter, a serious maintenance guy was knocking on our door. He got one burner running and was probably ready to apologize for needing to order a part for the second burner, when I expressed how happy I was at being able to count on cooking scrambled eggs the next day. .The front desk was always helpful and the Coconuts Bar and Grill was always welcoming.

Room Tip: Go above the first floor if you want a view of the ocean instead of just the dune.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagrange, NY
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from a quick 3 day vacation to Ocean City. Stayed in the original section #34. Since this was off season and all adults it was not noisy and actually the perfect location. The on premise Coconuts bar seems to be quite popular with not only the people at our resort but also others in town as well as locals. It is beach side so perfect setting.
The resort has a huge unground pool with diving board which I did not use because it was coool out. Very close to every thing! Including boardwalk!
Will definitely stay here again! OFF SEASON........I have heard that this area of the resort is very loud with both pool and bar during high season.

Also have beach volleyball right next to bar! DO NOT MISS ASSETEQUE ISLAND......ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western md
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Hadn't been to OC in years but decided on a last minute getaway to the beach. Oceanfront rooms were a little hard to find (didn't think this would be a problem off-season but it was the end of bike week and right before Sunfest). Searched online and finally happened upon Castle in the Sand. Booked a suite which looked out over the bar and then the beach; we like a separate sitting area since I get up early and my husband likes to sleep in and the South building (there are three and this is in the middle) is the only one with suites, I believe. We arrived in early afternoon and I asked to see the room before checking in since the BAR idea was sounding like it might be noisy later. Those rooms probably are great for some people but we wanted to hear the sounds of the surf and see the waves breaking on the beach. The front desk staff was very understanding and accommodating and fortunately there was a room in Waverly Castle. It wasn't a suite but had a small kitchen area and the private balcony looked right out on to the beach (we were on 4th floor so great view). The parking is limited right outside the rooms but a gated lot is very close by and parking is free so that was no problem at all. The hotel is centrally located so it was easy to get around. This was a nice place to stay, nothing fancy worth a return visit.

Room Tip: Rooms in middle building look out over bar area, buildings on either side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Free internet...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Budget, Free Br...
Show More
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#16 of 107 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Parking, P...
Show More
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocean City
Comfort Suites Ocean City
#22 of 107 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Free Parking, P...
Show More
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#28 of 107 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 512 reviews
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel
Dunes Manor Hotel
#1 of 107 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle in the Sand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle in the Sand Hotel

Address: 3701 Atlantic Avenue, 37th Street & Oceanfront, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#26 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premiere direct oceanfront family resort with desirable location on two blocks sun-kissed beach. Guest amenities include free wireless internet, Olympic pool with diving board, sand volleyball court, beach equipment rentals on-site, free kid’s activities, and live entertainment daily in season. Beach House dining offers a la carte breakfast and buffet breakfast daily. Coconuts Beach Bar offers open-air beachfront patio dining. Waitress service on our beach and pool deck. Take A Dip Ice Cream Shop open Memorial Day thru Labor Day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Castle in the Sand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle In The Sand Hotel Ocean City
Castle In The Sand Ocean City Md

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle in the Sand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.