We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle in the Sand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Castle in the Sand Hotel to your Saves list
Castle in the Sand Hotel
3701 Atlantic Avenue, 37th Street & Oceanfront, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Binghamton, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2008

Awesome Condo for a great deal. Stayed for my birthday and if I could go back a moment in time I would go back and live that week over and over. The condo was better than expected, bigger than my appartment. Kitchen was well stocked. Condo was clean. They do however frown on grilling on the balcony some thing about fire codes. Will be back this year.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — traffic
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    141
    64
    42
    37
See reviews for
216
99
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
nazareth pa
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

My husband and I stayed here 10/5/07 to 10/8/07, we had a great time! I booked this hotel after seeing it on line. It l exceeded our expectations!. The room was spacious and clean. There was a restaurant on the premises and the food and service were excellent. The weather was unseasonably hot that weekend so we got to enjoy the beach which was right outside our room., great location. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to my friends, the staff was very personable and friendly. We will be sure to stay here again.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

Everything is old and I must say it is time to clean the carpets! The bathroom and everything in it seemed to be at least 100 years old including the floral wallpaper! The TV was super old and the furniture needed to just be removed and replaced.
The window looked as though it would very much allow my son to just fall out. Doors and hallways were dark and it seemed like a good place to find trouble hiding at night.
Don't wais your money on this dump!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2007

We booked four days at CIS for a getaway and beach time with our two children, ages 6 and 8. I cannot say that the front desk did not treat us well. Our room was not ready and they called me on my cell phone when it was.

We had a suite on the first floor between the pool and the restaurant. Things got off to a very bad start the first evening when we found that the sheets left for the pull-out and the ones on our bed were visibly dirty/stained. While we did have two rooms and a kitchenette, it seemed like there was very little space to stretch out. Basically, there was room to walk around the bed and the open pull-out took up all of the living room space. The drying rack supplied for wet clothes took up the kitchen space. I should mention that the desk was more than eager to replace the dirty sheets but then we realized that the LOUD music from the bar blared right into the room our children slept in...through the bathroom and into our room which was already bombarded with noise through the VERY thin Florida windows (slats open and close) coming from the pool. You can pretty much count on music of one sort or another permeating your room from noon-10pm.

We returned to our room daily to find that it had been vacuumed and cleaned but don't expect your mother's "clean".

There was a lot of smoking in all public areas which proved bothersome. Maryland doesn't have the same "no-smoking" legislation that many states do. The restaurant had a very popular 2-for-1 Happy Hour but beware that ordering one drink means they will bring you two.

On some positive notes however, the two ladies who run the children's program in the afternoons were fabulous. Clearly, they themselves, keep many families returning to this hotel. The location is also unbeatable at 37th Street. You are ten blocks up from the end of the Boardwalk and between the two bridges.

  • Liked — Location, children's program
  • Disliked — dirty sheets. LOUD music and paper thin walls/windows.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, md
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

We had a room in the Waverly building.

PROs:
The room was a pretty good size, a little larger than usual.
Had a VCR/DVD player
Had a small refrigerator (had a stove,microwave too, but we did not use)
Good access to the beach
Bar waitress gives service on the beach.
Very nice pool and clean.

CONS:
The rooms definitely need updating. For the price, I expected a little more updated. We had a window in our room that was so old, the glass was pulled away from the molding. (a safety hazard with kids).
Carpet was dirty in our room.
Like others have stated, the outdoor lounge music is pretty loud. We were okay because our room was far enough away, but if we had a room close to the lounge, I would have asked to move.

I think if the hotel invested in some upgrades, it could be a very nice place.

  • Liked — easy access to beach
  • Disliked — price for an outdated room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, NY
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2007

Great location steps from the beach, wonderful pool. Loud DJ music till 10pm made it difficult to even stay in our room, which was overlooking the restaurant area - fine if you want to party, too. The kicker was the stained sheets provided for the pull-out couch. Would not go back.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2007

We stayed here the first week of July. I got an awesome deal on Ocean City's Travel site, we booked 3 nights for around $570 total, a great deal. We arrived to the hotel a bit early, but were greeted warmly and allowed to check in early. The hotel is a group of 3 buildings. They are a bit older, but clean and well kept on the outside. We stayed in the Waverly building. We got an effiency ocean front room with 2 double beds and a balcony. The room was just great, very clean and very up to date. They provided soaps and lotions and even had a little bottle of dish detergent in the kitchen. The little kitchenette was stocked with dishes and utensils, pretty much everything you needed to do a little cooking. The room also had a dvd/vcr player which was kind of neat. The beach front was amazing, honestly Ocean City is one of the cleanest beaches I have ever been on, it was so nice. The hotel had a great little restaurant with outdoor eating and live music which was kind of neat. Overall this was a great place for the money and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — price
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle in the Sand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle in the Sand Hotel

Address: 3701 Atlantic Avenue, 37th Street & Oceanfront, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#18 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#25 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premiere direct oceanfront family resort with desirable location on two blocks sun-kissed beach. Guest amenities include free wireless internet, Olympic pool with diving board, sand volleyball court, beach equipment rentals on-site, free kid’s activities, and live entertainment daily in season. Beach House dining offers a la carte breakfast and buffet breakfast daily. Coconuts Beach Bar offers open-air beachfront patio dining. Waitress service on our beach and pool deck. Take A Dip Ice Cream Shop open Memorial Day thru Labor Day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Castle in the Sand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle In The Sand Hotel Ocean City
Castle In The Sand Ocean City Md

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle in the Sand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.