We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deliciouso!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mother's Cantina

Mother's Cantina
28th Street / Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
410-289-1330
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 384 Restaurants in Ocean City
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Deliciouso!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Space is tight. Margarita on the rocks was wonderful. Had the MD crab quesadilla and it was delish. The portions were decent. A definite recommendation. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    45
    11
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rio Grande, New Jersey
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good food, fun atmosphere, great service,,,,and lousy booths!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I was craving Mexican food and took our group to Mother's. It's a small place in a strip mall (right down from Coins Pub). We were seated right away and our waiter was there with menus and drinks quickly even though they were almost at capacity. The four of us had a mix of menu items, from burritos to tacos to salad and all were very good. Portions are huge, so order less then you think you'll want or order small twice like we did!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, delicious food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This was the best restaurant we went to while on our 5 day stay in Ocean City. The exterior of the restaurant isn't so appealing, but when you walk in you are surrounded by a great atmosphere of locals and travelers all having a great time. We went on a Sunday after happy hour and it was still busy, but we didn't have to wait for a table. They have various TV's around the establishment showing either sports or local TV shows (I was able to watch The Simpson's) but they're also playing upbeat music, the service was quick and the staff friendly. Reading other reviews, I had to try one of their margarita's so I got the mamarita and it was soooo good. You get tons of food, I could hardly eat it all, and it was delicious!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall place -- delicious food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

It's just a little dive, but the atmosphere is fun - (loud) - and the food is delicious! One of the best margarita's I've ever had. I wish I had been there for Happy Hour - I hear it's great!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Loads of atmosphere, good food and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We arrived just at the end of happy hour and the place was rammed, but we still got a table straight away. Service was quick and helpful and the food was excellent - three of us went for Fajitas - take care if you order the combo as it's easily enough for two. Any brits out there make sure to take your passport for ID as a UK driving licence is not accepted

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother's Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Mother's Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mother's Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.