We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Oceanfront Plaza Hotel Ocean City Oceanfront to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Oceanfront Plaza Hotel Ocean City Oceanfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1109 Atlantic Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #18 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Martinsburg, West Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

My family and I went down In April for Our Wedding It was Wonder the Staff is Friendly and Hotel is Very Clean This is our 7th Year staying at the HOJO we just love it there Looking Forward to going back down in August!

Room Tip: 3rd Floor or higher OceanFront is the Best View Ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plazamanager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Oceanfront Plaza Hotel Ocean City Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU! We loved seeing all of you again and you always make us feel like you are apart of your family. We certaintly feel like you are apart of ours!! Without the chance to have great guests in our hotel like your loving family, we have no idea what we'd do!! So thank you so much for allowing us to share in a very special day, it was beautiful and so were all of you!!! See you in August!!! :)

Mary Susan Jones
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    241
    104
    33
    30
See reviews for
258
251
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Overall we had a great time at this hotel but may be spoiled by other, newer hotels that we've stayed in in the past. The price was great however at $89 during off season. The room was clean but we stayed on the seventh floor and had a connecting room in which you could hear the person next door sneeze. The elevator was the scariest thing I have ever been on so we opted to use the stairs for our 3 day stay. The maid service was horrible! They didn't clean the room once and we were forced to call downstairs to the front desk 3 times to try and get new towels and trash pickup. Finally after the third time the little boy that worked upfront came up and took out the trash himself. The manager was very nice however and apologized for everything, eventually letting us stay a little later on the last day....unfortuantely she must have forgotten to tell the next upfront person because she called trying to evict us. It was a good stay but these minor problems will have us second guessing this hotel on the next trip to O.C.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plazamanager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Oceanfront Plaza Hotel Ocean City Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Sometimes it’s hard for folks to critique a hotel, to really share what they were thinking during their stay and be totally honest about it. For your review I would like to thank you. I also must say that I am truly sorry for the missteps that we made during your time with us. It is never our intention to treat you less than apart of what I consider my extended family, after all, you are my guest and this is a big house. We pride our selves in customer service and this seems to be one of the spots along with housekeeping that we fell short on. We have just completed a transition that has made our service smoother, again, you deserve better than what you received. I hope that at some point you will think about trying us out again, we'd love to have you back!! Happy Travels!!
Mary Susan Jones
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed here Friday - Sunday in March. It was our first time at Ocean City. We were worried about the hotel for $74 a night. It turned out great! The room was clean, every one was friendly. Most of the time we stay at the Hampton Inn or higher class hotel. The view was great from our room. Brothers Bistro's brick oven pizza was fantastic! The service was very good & the same person waited on us the next morning at 7am. He must live there. Hojo did a good job fixing up the motel. The elevator was like riding a horse. It was bumpy but it added characte to the place. We would stay here again. We will ask for the same room. The bed was ok, but we are use to our beds at home. But we did sleep well. We really enjoyed this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plazamanager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Oceanfront Plaza Hotel Ocean City Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thank you for your generous words in your review of our accommodations, we are committed to always trying very hard to keep up our standards. We are extremely lucky to work and live in such a beautiful area, something we try not to take advantage of. On top of being here every day, we get to share it with all of our guests.....and that is the BEST part about it! We hope that you really will come be our guest again; we truly look forward to it!! Have a great day!!

Mary Susan Jones
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed over a long weekend. The rates were reasonable and the hotel was overall clean and the staff friendly. The bathrooms have been remodeled and are very nice and there have been other upgrades so overall the hotel is nice. There is an ocean front deck to sit and eat and the hotel is directly on the boardwalk. We were on the 7thf(713) floor in an ocean view room. On the left side of the building the 7th floor is taller than the other buildings around it so the view was really great and looked down the beach. The only thing I would say is the room was good for a short stay, but I would not personally stay a week in the room, There is a very small fridge and a microwave. However, there are no utensils, no sink or range. So other than heating up coffee of something you really cannot cook in the room. Also, there is no couch, so the room was basically small and truly just a room with no real facilities. Breakfast in the bistro was just OK, although again the wait staff we very friendly.

Room Tip: 713 is good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

They say its all about: Location, location location.. Well that holds true for this hotel!! We recently stayed for an overnight stay to enjoy the peace and quiet of the off-season. You can't beat the hotel being directly "on the boardwalk/ beach" and within walking distance to all the popular spots in OC!! The room was very spacious, clean and we had a great side-view of the ocean/ bay with an attached balcony for seating. The bed was "almost" as good as being in our own at home.. We had a very great stay at this hotel and eager to return again in the summer months when OCMD is at its peak for vactioning!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Very clean room, we had ocean front deluxe, 7th floor. TV, picture was fuzzy on most channels, didn't have hd, so some stations were not available...but no big deal. Location was great, had Brass Balls next door for dinner, and has Brothers Bistro right in the building, so didn't have to drive much. the room was a lot larger than some rooms, had a nice seating area. The main thing we didn't like, and we heard a few people complain about was the elevators. They seemed to jump a lot and scared a lot of people when they stopped, it was like a big drop. Did not like them at all.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Oceanfront Plaza Hotel Ocean City Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Oceanfront Plaza Hotel Ocean City Oceanfront

Address: 1109 Atlantic Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#14 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Oceanfront Plaza Hotel Ocean City Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 90 room hotel located in the middle of the famous Ocean City Boardwalk. We are in close proximity of any amenity you could want. Walk right out our front door to the beautiful Ocean City beach! You’re not just a guest with us, your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Oceanfront Plaza Hotel Ocean City Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel
Howard Johnson Plaza Ocean City Md
Howard Johnson Ocean City
Ocean City Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Oceanfront Plaza Hotel Ocean City Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.