We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 107 hotels in Ocean City
Quarryville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Value good for ocean front/ boardwalk hotel. 24 hr coffee shop was nice for convenience. Did not try bar/ restaurant. In room kitchenette was a nice bonus. Bathroom was tight but manageable. Pool area very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    236
    126
    93
    82
See reviews for
358
204
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel was nice, though not spectacular. We did not get to the Spa, so I can't comment on it. The room was average size but had a nice ocean view. There was construction going on, but the disturbance was kept to a minimum. One note: The restaurant was TERRIBLE: both food AND service. Avoid it and eat at one of the millions of OCMD restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights, and were evacuated one of those nights....because someone broke in and pulled the alarm?? The next day, evacuated again.....management never told any of us the true reasons why....or compensated us with anything....which I think would have been appropriate.
All rooms are oceanfront, but not really. We complained, and were moved to a true ocean front room, for more cost. The room is a good size, pretty much the only good thing. It's right on the boardwalk, but the very far end of the boardwalk.
The hotel is OK, but not great. Breakfast hours are too limited for those vacationing, and really no amenities to speak of. Pool was cold, and kind of gross. Next time you need to evacuate people, multiple days, tell them why so they feel safe.....

Room Tip: Make sure you tell them you want a room in the middle of the hotel or you will be looking at another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I've had massages all over the world, but Karen is one of the best. You will be completely rejuvenated after she massages you, and she really listens and tailors the massage to your special requests. Treat yourself to some "me" time when you visit OC MD - you won't be sorry!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Employees were unhelpful Manager was less helpfull Room had mold on the walls and the room smelled terrible requested another room was refused. When we left early for a better hotel The Grand would not give our money back the the night we did not stay. They had 12 hour notice of our planned departure. Never never again will I stay at the grand.

Room Tip: insist on seeing the room before paying them
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a long weekend in Ocean City. This was our first time staying at the Grand; we usually stay at a hotel a few blocks up, but since that one wasn't bookable through hotels.com, we chose the Grand.

First of all, the location is great! Not only is it nice being directly on the boardwalk, but there are shops and food right there, so it's very convenient. The parking garage is huge, and it's right next to the hotel. We got there early, so I wasn't expecting to get into our room before 4:00, but we went in and spoke with Christina at the front desk (she was so nice), and she offered to call us when the room was ready. We decided to walk the boardwalk, and within 45 minutes we had been called and checked in (early...by 3:30).

The room was large, although I was a bit disappointed by the two double beds (the booking on hotels.com said it was this, but the hotel website lists it as two queens). Still, that wasn't a big deal. The bathroom is very small, which I found surprising for a hotel that bills itself as the only spa in Ocean City. I expected a bit more of a "spa-like" bathroom, but again, not a huge deal. The room does need renovated, as stated by other reviewers, but that wasn't a surprise. The door to the balcony was extremely difficult to open, though, and we didn't use balcony at all. Our area was separated only by a thin see-through cloth; absolutely no privacy to have a conversation or anything. In addition, when our neighbors were on their balcony, we could hear their conversation through the closed door, even with the a/c on.

One of the things we really liked was the pool area. I was impressed that they had a boy working there who would find you seats, move seats, and generally help out however possible with towels and things like that. The pool area was clean and nice, and we spent time there every day.

The one area that needs work is housekeeping. The first day, our room wasn't cleaned until after 5:00 P.M. which was ridiculous. We were planning on going back to the room to shower and get ready, and housekeeping had just arrived. The second day, our room was cleaned sometime between 3:30 and 4:00, which was better. However, all that seemed to be done was the beds were made and new towels were dropped off. The used towels were left in a pile, and it was obvious the shower hadn't been touched. The biggest thing though, the one thing that will ensure we don't stay here again, happened the last day. We were sitting on our bed eating breakfast before packing up, and the door to our room opened. No knock, no nothing. When she saw me sitting on the bed, she left and closed the door with absolutely no apology. It was 9:45...checkout isn't until 11. Why housekeeping walked right into our room with no warning, then left, is beyond me, but it really made me uncomfortable. What if we'd been dressing, or showering, or anything other than eating breakfast???? Then, as we lifted our bags off the bed, the one blanket got pulled down, and we saw a huge brown stain at the foot of the bed on the sheet. Thank goodness we didn't sleep in that bed, but we were grossed out and didn't investigate the bed we did sleep in.

It's a shame that the housekeeping issues occurred, because overall, the hotel is okay. But we will definitely be going back to our usual hotel after this.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scaggsville, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We enjoyed everything about the hotel. I'm really glad I did not base my decision on some of the negative comments that I read. The rooms was spacious, clean, the view and accessibility to everything was great. I did not experience any noise or young crowds. Plenty of parking. The staff was professional and even called just to see if everything was good,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: 2100 Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel & Spa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel And Spa
Grand Hotel Ocean City Md
Grand Ocean City
The Stowaway Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.