We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“they were great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“they were great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

KARA the night manager was very helpful when i had a problem and Victoria was very nice in handling my wish to change rooms. I have stayed here many times and recommend this hotel very highly. The location is great right on the boardwalk and has many eating places to choose from.

Room Tip: they are all nice, the higher up ones have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff members! Kara and Victoria are both major assets to our team and I will be sure to share your comments with them. Thank you for being such a loyal guest and we look forward to seeing you during your next visit to the Ocean City area!

Best regards,
Michelle Gentry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    317
    156
    121
    97
See reviews for
436
284
25
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Odenton, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We celebrated our 25th anniversary at the Grand this past weekend. The staff could not have done more to make our special time even more special. When we arrived, we found a chilled bottle of champagne awaiting us in our room, along with a warm and sincere handwritten note of welcome and best wishes. The Grand is truly an OC treasure.

Room Tip: The view from the 12th floor is unlike any other in OC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
We are so thrilled we were able to be a part of your special anniversary weekend! Thank you for all of your kind words, and we hope to see you again next year!

Best regards,
Michelle Gentry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTHERN CAMBRIA PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

we have stayed at this hotel for three years in a row and all was great again, we will be back next year.the staff was really nice and helpful ,the indoor pool was very clean we used it a couple of times the room was really nice and we had a nice view of the ocean .we didnt spend much time at the hotel it was cruise in week but over all it was a great stay.

Room Tip: i didnt go to the spa or eat there so its hard to rate them
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your kind words about your stay and our staff! We are so thrilled that you are already planning to visit us again next year! Thank you for your loyalty to the Grand Hotel & Spa and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,
Michelle Gentry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed here May 12th-15th. Chose this hotel because of location and on site amenities. Location fine but the hotel restaurant and pizza place they talk up on website are only open on weekends right now which we were not informed of prior to booking. Should at least be clearly stated on website. Front desk gave no help when called to ask questions. No room service available except on weekends. Their 24 hr coffee shop's espresso machine was broken the whole time we were there so we could only get regular coffee or tea. Balconies not private-rod iron railing between you and your neighbor. They put up tacky lattice on one side and a sheer screen on the other so you will get to know your neighbors if you both sit outside. A real shame but hotel far from up to par. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridley Park, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Was in town this weekend for a volleyball tournament and stayed at the Grand for the 2nd consecutive year. Was given an upper floor room as requested which was a good start. When trying to venture onto the balcony, I soon discovered that I had to be as strong as atlas to open the sliding glass door. Don't know if it was off the track, but definitely a challenge. The glass on the door is in need of a cleaning or replacement as it is very "foggy'. Overall the Grand is an ok place to stay. but a weekend is enough for me. The only "real " issue I had was the price. It's not even memorial day weekend, and we payed $130 and $124 for the 2 nights. Way too much for early may when the town is hardly inhabited. Btw, our room # was 703.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry to hear that your balcony door was foggy during your most recent stay with us. Unfortunately, this is a downfall of being an oceanfront property. We are currently working on replacing the sliding glass doors in all of our guest rooms, and planning to have two more floors completed over the winter!

I am also disappointed to hear that you felt your room was too high priced. The hotel does competitively price with the other hotels in the area, and although it is still very early in the season, weekends are in very high demand in Ocean City during the spring.

We certainly hope you will give the Grand Hotel & Spa another chance to satisfy your expectations. We hope to see you again for next year’s competition!

Best regards,
Michelle Gentry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Grand hosted my family reunion for two years. We had a wonderful time! The rooms were clean, the view was great and room service was very accommodating and fast. The beach was close, and the activities were also close, but far enough away that the noise did not disturb us after dark. After returning home in both instances, the family stated they would not mind staying there again. If I had to pick a down side, the food would be it. While good, It took a bit too long arriving to our table. Because there were so many of us, it would serve better to have more than one wait staff. Aside from that the Grand Hotel is one of the best in Ocean City. (We're going back in 2014).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us! We are delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed your stays over the past two years. We pride ourselves on having the cleanest rooms you will find in Ocean City! I will also forward your comments to our food & beverage department and have this further serve as a training tool for our staff. Once again, thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to seeing you again in 2014!

Best regards,
Michelle Gentry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I reserved this hotel room a few weeks prior to our trip. Upon arrival, I noticed that the hotel lobby was pretty worn and definitely not a 4 star or even really a 3 star. We checked in and the front desk staff was not really pleasant. We were given our keys to our room. We got into the elevator and that was kind of scary. Sounded like it was going to break down at any minute. So we get to our room. I run my key through the electronic door lock and it opens. So I open the door and find that there are other peoples' belongings in the room!!!! I was stunned. Surely, we couldn't have been given keys to someone else's room upon check in. So we went back downstairs and told the front desk manager what happened. She confirmed that we were assigned to someone else's room. I promptly asked for a refund and went to another hotel. There was no way that I could feel safe in a hotel that just checked me in to someone else's hotel room!!! I would never, ever suggest to anyone to stay here. For the money, you could definitely find many other better places to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
I would like to sincerely apologize for the situation that occurred during your recent check in with us. As I explained to you while you were here, there was a temporary glitch in our computer system that allowed the staff to check you into that room. This is certainly not something that is a common occurrence at the hotel; in fact, our computer system is extremely reliable and it is rare that we experience any technical issues. Despite the circumstances, we have failed you, and for this I am truly sorry. It is not our intention to ever make our guests feel as if they are not safe when staying with us, and as I mentioned, this is not the norm of the hotel.

Please contact me directly so we can discuss this matter further. We would love to invite you back so we can prove to you why we are considered Ocean City’s premier hotel on the boardwalk, and show you that this situation is not the typical behavior of the hotel. I look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,
Michelle Gentry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: 2100 Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel And Spa
Grand Hotel Ocean City Md
Grand Ocean City
The Stowaway Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.