We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 107 hotels in Ocean City
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel is run down, we booked an ocean front room for our 28th annv. Was very disappointed it was not clean, the placed looked worn down, beds were horrible, will not stay there again. Was expecting something a little more highend.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
I am disappointed to hear you will never return to our property and I am sorry that we have failed you. However I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We are a very busy oceanfront property and like any other oceanfront property we do experience the normal “wear and tear”. However our team works very hard in an attempt to maintain the property and we are always working on improving the overall experience for our guests. Every year we are constantly working towards maintaining and improving the hotel, but unfortunately we cannot accomplish all of these projects at one time. Just this year for example a large investment was made to replace two floors’ sliding glass doors. New flat screen LCD TVs were also recently purchased which are featured in our Direct Oceanfront Signature Service and King Jacuzzi rooms.

Once again I apologize that we have let you down and I can only hope that you will allow us another opportunity to prove why we are Ocean City's premier hotel on the boardwalk. Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss this matter further.

Best regards,
Michelle Gentry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    235
    121
    89
    81
See reviews for
351
203
14
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clarksburg, md
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I booked a 2 night stay for a relaxing weekend. Supposedly recent storms flooded our 12th flr room so we got another room that was not to our liking. The lady at the front desk did offer us a 15% discount but didnt say the suites were available later. They offered us the suite for one night only after I asked again.

I dont appreciate them not calling me in advance so I could have booked another suite at another hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
I am very sorry to read about your dissatisfaction with your recent experience here at the Grand Hotel and Spa. It is our goal to provide every guest with a memorable stay and superior service. I apologize that we have let you down.

I understand and empathize with you on how frustrating it was to be informed the day of your arrival that we did not have the King Jacuzzi room available that you booked. Unfortunately, certain situations do arise that are at times out of our control. As you stated, our 12th floor rooms were significantly damaged during a recent storm. We do attempt to remedy these situations in a timely manner and make every effort to not cause an inconvenience to any of our guests in the process. However, I would like to apologize because this is not always possible under extreme circumstances.

We would love the opportunity to win back your trust and prove our commitment to your satisfaction. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss this matter further. I guarantee that your next experience with the Grand Hotel and Spa will be a more pleasant one. Thank you for your time and business.

Best regards,
Michelle Gentry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldersburg
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

tis was our second stay at the Grand. We love it! The hotel is clean and quiet, the staff friendly and helpful. The coffee shop on the ground floor is open 24 hours and has pastries and sandwiches all day. The location is convenient to walking on the boardwalk and near many restaurants.
we look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: ASk for a room on 6th floor or above for a fantastic ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive comments regarding your most recent stay at the Grand Hotel & Spa. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the staff, coffee shop, and our convenient location on the boardwalk! We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean City!

Best regards,
Michelle Gentry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I hate the sand. I hate the water, the sun, the screaming kids having fun. I am the same person in a fast food restaurant ordering a cheeseburger without the cheese and can I please have less mayo. Stopped in to visit friends. Please people, enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Although you hate the sand, the water, and the sun, we absolutely love it! We are glad you were able to enjoy the time you spent with your friends here at the Grand Hotel & Spa. We hope to see you again the future.

Best regards,
Michelle Gentry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon,pa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed for two nights valentines weekend. Clean rooms,friendly and helpful staff. fancy folded towels. Very quiet couldn't hear any noise from our neighbors room. Loved it there !! conveniently located to boardwalk. bathroom was clean and free from hair , which some bathrooms is a problem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback regarding your most recent stay and our staff. We take pride in having the cleanest rooms and friendliest staff in Ocean City! We hope to see you soon during your next visit to the Ocean City, MD area.

Best regards,
Michelle Gentry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willards, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Had a such a great stay at The Grand Hotel a few weeks ago Im heading back this weekend!!! Everyone was so friendly and helpful could not ask for better customer service!! Thanx again for a wonderful oceanfront stay!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay and our staff! We pride ourselves on having the best staff to assist you with any needs you may have during your stay. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to the Grand Hotel & Spa!

Best regards,
Michelle Gentry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed here and I have been happy both times. First stay was an ocean view room which had a nice ocean view. Second time was a direct ocean view....AMAZING view!!! Only complaint is the sound of the elevator cranking from our room....its an Ok trade off foe the view. Definitely will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive comments regarding your most recent stay with us! We are so glad to hear you had a great time and enjoyed the incredible views from our ocean front rooms! We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to the Grand Hotel & Spa!

Best regards,
Michelle Gentry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: 2100 Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel & Spa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel And Spa
Grand Hotel Ocean City Md
Grand Ocean City
The Stowaway Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.