We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 107 hotels in Ocean City
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We love staying here when we come to OC! We usually come off season so the price is right. Kids love the pool and game room. Hotel is alway very clean. Room are a nice size. Love that it is right on the beach/boardwalk.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thanks very much for your positive comments about your stay with us at the Grand Hotel & Spa. We are very happy that you enjoyed the facilities and our prime location. We look forward to having you back again soon!

Best regards,
Michelle Gentry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    237
    229
    116
    81
    77
See reviews for
334
199
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have a place in OCMD and were having the flooring replaced and were not able to stay while the construction was taking place. We have a dog and needed a place close to allow us to stop by as needed during the construction. The Grand allows dogs in the off season which was perfect for us. The room we were in (209) was ocean front and had tiled flooring which I'm sure helped if and when any pets had a problem (pets are only allowed on the 2nd floor). There was absolutely no pet odor at all whch we liked alot. The hotel is big and has all the amenties one would need; especially at $59 per night in the off season when we were there. The room was very large and with a coffee pot, microwave and refridgerator it was perfect for our three day stay; bathroom was a bit small but was well appointed. All the staff we encountered were very helpful and the room was clean and fresh along with two comfortable queen beds. The only negative is that since the hotel is starting to get older, there are signs of it needing some updating (wallpaper was starting to peel in some places and the paint needs freshening).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are glad we were able to accommodate you and your pet while your home was being remodeled. We are aware of the some of the maintenance issues in the hotel from the excessive use of the guest rooms during the busy summer season, but we do spend the winter months deep cleaning and making repairs. We look forward to seeing you again in the future should you ever need a place a stay!

Best regards,
Michelle Gentry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My family has stayed here quite a few times over the past couple of years but our children gave us a trip to the beach with a couple's massage this last time. We had our massages down in the hotel's lobby at the Acqua Day Spa, it was wonderful. Karen and Sharon gave my husband and I a fantastic massage. My husband was not too sure about the whole thing but since the kids gave us the trip, he had to do it. Now, he wants to plan another trip to go back and get another massage too. I think we created a monster! We had a lot of fun, thanks to the girls at the spa and the front desk staff at the hotel were great too!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your most recent stay! We are thrilled you and your husband enjoyed your weekend getaway and massages! We truly appreciate your loyalty to the Grand Hotel & Spa and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best regards,
Michelle Gentry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed here with my parents to take them on a weekend getaway for festival of lights. Room was very, very nice and had a great view from the 9th floor. Room had everything you'd wnat or need. Hotel had anything and everything you'd wnagt and more. This hotel is very nice butm a little much for my blood to stay at during the season but, If I had a place where I'd wanna splurg a bit I'd pick THE GRAND HOTEL. Thanks for a enjoyful time when I stayed here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your most recent stay! We are overjoyed you enjoyed your “weekend getaway” and the hotel’s amenities. The prices during the summer are much higher than the off season; however we would love to have you back to visit us again should you ever want to splurge!

Best regards,
Michelle Gentry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have just returned from my fourth annual weekend at the Grand. I coordinate scrapbook retreats, booking 20-25 guest rooms at a time. We love the location of the Grand, the beautiful room views, and the fabulous ballroom. The sales department and maintenance staff have been very helpful and proactive. We can't wait to get back there!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
We are thrilled to hear you had another successful retreat at the Grand Hotel & Spa! As always, we appreciate your feedback and your loyalty to the Grand, and we look forward to having you back for next year’s retreat!

Best regards,
Michelle Gentry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, Maryland, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Love staying at the Grand...great location, clean rooms and, especially for the winter getaways..the spa. The service has always been good, the room comfortable and have never had a bad experience here. The heater in the room was a little noisy, but other than that, it was a good experience.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your stay, Cheryl! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff took great care of you! We look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Ocean City!

Best regards,
Michelle Gentry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTHERN CAMBRIA PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

we have stayed at this hotel for the past 3 years and we are staying here in may again .we have no problems at this hotel and the price is great. the staff is really nice and my rooms have always been clean the only problems we had was the sliding door but that wasn't a big deal and the maid service needs to make shore the put toilet paper in the bathrooms .i had to go to the front desk and git some and they helped me right away .we have used the pool gym and sauna and they are all great.can't wait till may .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to coming back in May. We also look forward to having you in May! We are aware that our sliding glass doors are an issue, and we are in the process of replacing them all, one floor at a time. We are happy that you enjoyed our staff and our amenities here at the hotel, and we can’t wait to have you back to visit us again!

Best regards,
Michelle Gentry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: 2100 Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#23 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel & Spa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel And Spa
Grand Hotel Ocean City Md
Grand Ocean City
The Stowaway Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.