We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good ammenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Ocean City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Ocean City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Ocean City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1701 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
yoshi00
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great location and good ammenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel really is very well put together. It is in a great location, has a nice outdoor pool area and hot tub, indoor pool, fresh fruit available, a small kitchen and lots of other amenities to make your stay enjoyable.

We used Priority Club Rewards points for our stay, but the price that they charge for this hotel is just crazy. It's not that it is out of line with other beach hotels in the area, its just that for what they charge you think you would be staying at the Ritz Carlton and not a Holiday Inn. Beach front hotels in Ocean City are just very expensive.

I didn't give this 5 stars for two reasons. First of all we are priority club platinum members. We always are treated very well as platinum members. We were not given anything special as a Platimum member. Not even a Thank you for staying with us. We were only given a side view room where normally we would get a room upgrade. We did speak to the manager and he said that the hotel was completely booked. However, while we were initally disappointed in the side view room, we actually like the view. We were on the 8th floor and could see the inlet and watch the fishing boats come in. We could see the boarwalk rides, the ocean and the bay. So there was actually a lot of view. Much more than just the ocean front view.

At other Holiday Inns as a platinum member, you generally get a welcome gift like a bottle of water, a bag of cookies etc. Just a small item. There was nothing at this hotel. I even asked the manager about it and he said they just don't do it. They treat all guests equally. So it is what it is. I won't mark them down too much for that but dont expect anything for being a platinum member.

The other issue that I have with the hotel for the price is the tiredness of the room. The coach looked old and dated and the kitchen was as well. It wasn't a big deal but again for the price, it should be top of the line.

However everything else about the hotel is great. They have a washer and dryer to use on each floor which was a nice touch, even though for a short stay we didnt use them. They even let you keep your car there the day you check out and provide a courtesy room for showering and changing after you enjoy the beach and pools. So you are welcome to stay for the day you check out and this is a very nice feature.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    192
    65
    18
    25
See reviews for
288
146
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Geneseo, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I really liked this property. It is right on the boardwalk and not far from the ocean.

We used the two outside pools and both were clean and nice. We also ate breakfast every day in the restaurant and it was delicious; kids also eat free. Also, this hotel has guest laundry facilities and they are free to use, a serious plus in my book.

For our room, we had a one which faced the south which wasn't the greatest in terms of view but that is my only complaint.

I would definitely stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Reserve a room which faces the ocean. You'll enjoy it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I'm giving 2 stars based on having holes in my sheets, chipped tile in kitchen, dirty grout, out of date tub in the bathroom that is pretty disgusting, and 1 of the tv's in the fitness room didn't work. I think this hotel could invest in updating the decor and updated the furniture. The couch in our room was disgusting and you might need to delice after sitting on it. The pillows were also heavily worn and need to be replaced. If you look at my other reviews of hotels I'm pretty lenient and have given rave reviews to mostly Marriott's. This hotel has issues that ownership needs to address.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ocean City, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Bricktamland7,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is wonderful to know you appreciate our location. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment the room condition. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. I sincerely hope you stay with us again in the future so we can show you just how exceptional we can be.

Thank you again for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

If you are traveling just as an individual book this location, no worries.

If you are booking with a group of rooms or for a special event that requires any additional level of service get additional reassurance that you're group will be handled an make sure to get specifics.

We booked this location for our wedding weekend and despite making arrangements for a block of rooms when check in happened the only way we didn't end up all over the hotel is because I happened to be checking in with another member of the group checking and I had to indicate that our "block" expectation was to be together, this was clearly indicated to both the 1. Person who arranged the block and 2. every person who booked indicated our party was the party to be associated with for the booking.

I can understand that during the high season things might get lost in the shuffle but this was in October. At a rate of $169 a night before taxes I expect better service from the front desk than that!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ocean City, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Lynne C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the service at check in prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we get very seriously and we have shared your comments with the staff. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

we came in from a long drive exhausted awaiting our gorgeous suite everything seemed normal until we got to our room and saw a couple in the room they assigned to us!!!! besides being traumatized, when calling the front desk from the room the response: come down asap and take all your things out asap(in a very demanding tone) the result: a horrible hotel stay. upon reaching out to the gm to speak about Rosko the front desk attendant, all they gave was 1 free night!
I don't suggest this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ocean City, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear eli s,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry about the room confusion and for the poor customer service from our front desk. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Hotel

We spent 1 night and 2 days at the Holiday Inn on 17th st and boardwalk

Arrival

We arrived about 10:30 am and went to the desk to check in. The desk clerk was very friendly and attentive. As it was well before check in time our room was not ready. The desk clerk asked for a cell number where we could be reached and he would call as soon as our room was ready. Anticipating that our room would not be ready we already had our beach gear on so we grabbed our chairs from the car and headed down to the beach. Around 2:00pm we got the call that our room was ready so my husband went back to the lobby and got our room keys as we were not ready to leave the beach yet.

Room

Our room was the 2 queen beds ocean front non smoking room. We were on the 14th floor (I requested high floor as the pool is right in front of the rooms and we didn’t want to be bothered by the noise plus, you get a much better view the higher up you are) in room 1408. Upon entering we walked into the living room/dining area. There was a couch, chair, coffee table, TV, end table, floor lamp and a dining table with four chairs.


Kitchen

The cute little efficiency kitchen was pretty nice. In it there was an apartment size fridge, tiny stove (we didn’t use it as we had no need to), 4 cup coffee maker, toaster and all utensils, pots and pans, cups, glasses and a dishwasher.

Bathroom

The bathroom was clean with a 2 person jetted tub (small for two people but two people can fit), which is also the shower, toilet and duel vanity. There were also plenty of little shampoos, conditioners, bars of soap and body lotions.

Bed

The bed was comfortable with freshly washed sheets, four pillows (two firm and two soft) and a fluffy comforter.

Balcony

The balcony was fairly large with walls from floor to ceiling. There were two chairs and a small table plus two additional chairs (one in each corner of the balcony).

Final comments

The room and everything in it was very clean. The staff was friendly. The location is nice if you like being right on the boardwalk. We generally do not (we stay several streets down in the summer) but during the off months it is fine. We will defiantly keep coming back in the off season.

Room Tip: High floor if you want to avoid the noise from the outdoor pool. Low floor if you don't mind the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

If you enjoy a nicer hotel on the boardwalk, within easy access to everything, an on-site restaurant, indoor pool, 2 outdoor pools (which are elevated from the boardwalk unlike other hotels here) then look no further! Our suite was very spacious and was extremely clean. We enjoyed our stay very much!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ocean City

Address: 1701 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#10 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ocean City 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury all-suite hotel located directly on the beach & boardwalk. Over-sized suites with separate living room, bedroom, and kitchens including residential size dishwasher, range, refrigerator, microwave, and tons of cabinet space filled with dishes, utensils, and cookware. Private balconies overlooking the ocean feature a dining table and chairs for four person. Elegant, large bathrooms with Jacuzzi tubs in every room. Elevated outdoor pool and expansive deck overlooking the beach. Four story atrium with indoor pool, open-air restaurant, fitness center, and game room. Meeting facilities. Guest laundry on every floor, free HBO & Disney channel, complimentary newspaper, coffee and fruit. Video tape players & computer data ports in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotels And Suites Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ocean City Maryland
Holiday Inn Ocean City Md

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Ocean City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.