We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Ocean City

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Ocean City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ocean City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1701 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 107 hotels in Ocean City
Columbia, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for a little mini-honey moon. Was on the top floor (14th) with a room facing the ocean. Everything was very clean, room had a balcony and a jacuzzi tub.

Restaurant in the hotel wasn't worth the price, too much straight bar food. Across the street is a little cafe called Melia's Cafe and it was really nice to sit outside for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    288
    173
    65
    18
    24
See reviews for
263
130
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at this property for the first time earlier this week and absolutely fell in love with it. Friends of ours stay at the Hilton and I would put this property right along with it. Beautiful resort with great amenities, a surprisingly good restaurant, and a friendly staff. One slight knock is that there's a bit of a problem with people reserving beach chairs at the kid's pool but not using them. If that's the worst thing that can be said, that's really saying something.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is perfect for a vacation with your kids. The pool area is by far the best on the boardwalk for the kids. The staff was helpful and attentive. The rooms were clean. The workout facility is nice if you do not want to run outside. Location is about 1.5 miles from the main boardwalk amusement area so bring a stroller if you want to walk there and back, otherwise you can also ride the tram for $3 per person.

Room Tip: Pool and tram on the boardwalk can be heard. the higher the better if you do not want to be bothere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here in the summer of 2011 and our kids love the pool area. I would have to complain about the lack of supervision and the early 6PM closing time. It would have been nicer if it were open later, but my main complaint is the life guard. We used the pool three times on this stay and had the same female life guard each time. She just did not care about her job, and it showed. She never got off of her chair and from her position, she can only see half the pool. If someone were in trouble on the other side, she would never know. Also, there were always older teenagers there causing trouble, and even when it was brought to her attention, and she acknowledged the behavior was wrong, she refused to correct it. Seems she was scared to speak to anyone over the age of 10 or so. The teenagers ran rampant, probably because they knew they would not get into trouble. They were climbing over walls, cutting off little kids in line, sliding down the children's slide 4-5 kids at a time, bumping into little ones at the bottom. My husband stood at the top of the slide and I stood at the bottom in order to protect our children. Finally, my husband addressed their awful behavior with them, and they decided to leave the pool. 4 parents walked up to thank him for speaking up. He shouldn't have had to though, the life guard should have done it. She might as well not even be there, for the little work she did.

The front desk staff is wonderful. We were to leave this hotel and spend the weekend at another, and our reservations fell through. The staff took calls from us every day attempting to extend our visit, even though they were filled to capacity. When something opened up, they took care of us wonderfully. We were able to extend our trip by an additional 4 days, with a room switch, and everyone was great about it. They gave us extended check out in our old room and offered the first room clean in the new room so we had no lag time, we went right from one room into the next. The kids loved the Jacuzzi tubs, we loved the three heads in the shower, a wonderfully relaxing shower! The full kitchens were great, a full size fridge is a big plus.

The Coral Reef café has greatly improved. Last time we were there, we did not like it at all, but this time, we ate there several times. The breakfast is not very good, but the lunch and dinner are excellent.

There is fresh fruit available at the desk every day and twice there were no bananas, to the great dismay of our 4 year old daughter. And each time, someone stopped what they were doing and went in the back to get her the bananas she wanted.

Right on the boardwalk, the location is great. Can't beat it, and I'm sure we will be back again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We booked 3 separate suites at the Holiday Inn for my daughter, my son their spouses and children and my husband and myself. We booked this hotel basically sight unseen. It got excellent TripAdvisor reviews and that's what we went on. We were not the least bit disappointed. The suite was just as it states on their website. The suite was roomy but most of all clean. The kitchen has a toaster, full size oven, microwave, full size refrigerator, blender, pots and pans, plates, glasses, etc. The utensils were minimal - I'm glad I packed plastic utensils. They provide dishwasher detergent, and liquid dish detergent. They are very generous with bath soap, shampoo (no conditioner), body lotion, mouthwash and individually wrapped eye-makeup remover pads (loved them).........the bathroom is nice an big with a gorgeous jacuzzi tub, double sinks, etc. We used the free washing machines and dryers - they sold the detergent at the front desk but we just packed our own. One dryer wasn't working properly and I notified the front desk. The maintenance man came up to fix the dryer before I was finished with my laundry!!!! Very prompt service!!! We were all on the 7th floor - the ocean front view is unbelievable! The kiddie pool (I even went down the slide many times) was a hit for my grandchildren!! The restaurants were very good - children ate free which was a huge savings and much appreciated!!! Staff was very friendly and they even had children's organized activities. My grandchildren enjoyed picking a fresh fruit everyday from baskets that were beside the front desk. Yes, the hotel is pricey but in my opinion it was worth every penny!!! So glad we chose the Holiday Inn. I forgot to mention the great location on the boardwalk - away from the hustle and bustle but within walking distance to everything. We had a great vacation!!!!

Room Tip: Upper floors are quiet and the ocean front view is breath taking!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We love staying at this hotel. We've come with the whole family and also just as a couple. It's in such a great location on the Boardwalk and is close to everything. The rooms are spacious, the beds comfortable, and a great view from an oceanfront room. Front desk staff is always friendly and accommodating.

The amenities are great with two outdoor pools (one geared towards families and kids, and the other geared towards adults). They have an outdoor bar and waitresses that will wait on you poolside. (They have an indoor pool that is great during the winter months too.)

We attended mass at Holy Savior Catholic Church a block across the street, enjoyed breakfast at Laytons and Dunkin Donuts (both within walking distance) and of course the boardwalk. The tram stops right out front on the boardwalk if you'd rather ride than walk.

Room Tip: Choose an oceanfront room third floor and above for great ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Wow is best I can say about the room. 2 queen beds with a separate room with pull out sofa, perfect for wife, kids and I. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We did not use pool, hung out at beach and walked board walk. Boys and I used fitness room and samples fresh fruit in lobby Perfect location on 17th street. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ocean City

Address: 1701 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#12 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ocean City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury all-suite hotel located directly on the beach & boardwalk. Over-sized suites with separate living room, bedroom, and kitchens including residential size dishwasher, range, refrigerator, microwave, and tons of cabinet space filled with dishes, utensils, and cookware. Private balconies overlooking the ocean feature a dining table and chairs for four person. Elegant, large bathrooms with Jacuzzi tubs in every room. Elevated outdoor pool and expansive deck overlooking the beach. Four story atrium with indoor pool, open-air restaurant, fitness center, and game room. Meeting facilities. Guest laundry on every floor, free HBO & Disney channel, complimentary newspaper, coffee and fruit. Video tape players & computer data ports in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotels And Suites Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ocean City Maryland
Holiday Inn Ocean City Md

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Ocean City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.