We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Ocean City

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Ocean City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ocean City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1701 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 107 hotels in Ocean City
Elkton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Love the Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This was my second visit to this hotel and I will most likely have a third. The rooms are spacious, beds are comfortable, view is fantastic. Did notice though that I was not greeted or acknowledged as a member and did not receive my daily newspaper (oh well, as long as my points are added). Just one downfall - the restaurant. There is nothing wrong with the food (only had breakfast - both trips) but the service is lackluster to downright bad. I had breakfast there once during both trips. Suggest you call for room service if you don't want to go out. But if you do we found a great little place about 1/2 block down the street called the Sahara Cafe.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    288
    174
    65
    18
    24
See reviews for
264
130
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I'm not sure why there would be any mixed reviews on this hotel. We stayed April 29th and 30th as a halfway point on a longer trip south. We were already prepared for off season weather and had no problem with it. Holiday Inn and Suites and Hilton are close if not the highest price hotels in the area (and for good reason). We could afford the prices due to being off season, and I believe they earn the increased price in season. Parking is great, check in is a piece of cake. (I found the negative reviews about 2nd floor lobby hilarious - due to hurricanes and flooding a lobby is smart to have on the 2nd floor). The café/bar is awesome for b-fast and children and the indoor pool was great. We didn't get to use the outdoor pool areas, but could only imagine how perfect it would be for the kids on one side and adults on the other. The suites are perfect for families, and 2 yr old had more fun in the huge whirlpool tub (swimming) than outside due to the cooler temperatures. Balcony facing the ocean is a must, and it was probably one of the cleaner and nicer balconies we've had anywhere. We hit a great rate at $119/night with published rate of $149/night, and around $500 in season. The hotel is HUGE and had no problems tiring out the kids staying inside from the rain. They were continuing outdoor maintenance/preparing for the season in the rain and cooler weather.

Overall, you will get what you pay for! I really don't understand any of the negative reviews. We will absolutely return and only hope for better weather.

Room Tip: Ocean view higher room obviously a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hall, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Decided to extend our stay and booked this hotel for a night after staying at the hilton. The counter person was very nice and took our number to call us when the room was ready. We got a call around noon saying the room was ready, we were pleasantly suprised they got it ready so quickly. The hotel overall is similar to the hilton. The stay was pleasant and we were very pleased, the ONLY complaint i have is the smell of the room was very strong im assuming due to the type of cleaners they use. A few minutes of the balcony doors open fixes this. We will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I called late night and I belive I spoke with Kelly. She help me to make reservation. She gave me suite for low prize. She was great!!! If you are making reservation for this hotel i think you should talk to her. She will find a great deal for you and your family. I checked in around 3 am and night auditor wasnt really helpful. I asked do you offer any perks for gold member? without any explaination he just said no sir. He didnt tell me when brfst serve or where. any way i know night auditors are most likely rude or helffull at all. When i was checking out from room 610 around 6 pm, gentleman at the desk was also helpful. sorry didnt catch his name. Final words: I am definatly coming back to this hotel. hopefully ge the same room again :P.

Room Tip: you must get room facing ocean omg freaking awesome!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed there for 3 nights we did not have resevations so we got one night in one room then had to switch to another room the staff her is great they took all of our things and locked them up while we laid on the beach all day they called our phone when our room was ready no hurry to get there . The balcony was wonderful and the room was outstanding a little pricey but it was a great place to stay right on the board walk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great Location! Away from the downtown area but close enough to walk there. Rooms all have kitchens and are spotless. Indoor and outdoor pools however the outdoor pools were closed for the season. Our favorite Hotel in O.C. Md.

Room Tip: We only stay in Ocean front for 10 extra dollars!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Vermont
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel probably 7-8 years ago, and were a little skeptical about returning after reading a number of reviews here that said things like "going downhill," "getting tired," etc. etc. But we liked it so much last time we booked it anyway.

Well, I have no idea what those reviewers are talking about. It was just as we remembered it. The oceanfront suites in this place are just outstanding. Large living room (maybe 15x17?) upon entering with a couch, comfy chair, table with 4 chairs and a flat screen TV, then you pass through the full kitchen (bathroom left off the kitchen. Finally, into the quite spacious bedroom, which contains a jacuzzi tub, a king-sized bed and another flat-screen TV, then the sliding glass door to the roomy balcony right above the boardwalk and overlooking the ocean (there's a small table and 4 chairs out there).

Everything was super-clean. Kitchen has everything you need if you plan to cook (we didn't). Even if you don't there's a full sized fridge for left overs, a microwave to heat them up. I should mention the shower: it's huge. Two seperate water controls, controlling three shower heads. Imagine the possibilities.

Unfortunately, when we stayed, the restaurant choices were limited due to many of them not being open yet. Still, we found a good breakfast place a 3 minute walk away (Layton's) and a very good seafood buffet about 7-8 blocks away (Embers). A little pricey but good food, wide selection. There's a Subway next to the hotel. We ordered room service the last night and the food was surprisingly good, especially the Maryland Crab Cakes.

These suites go for about $450 a night in high season. Staying in April, and paying for all nights in advance, we paid $132 a night directly from the hotel's website. A steal, believe me. We would definitely stay here again if we go back to OC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ocean City

Address: 1701 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#11 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ocean City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury all-suite hotel located directly on the beach & boardwalk. Over-sized suites with separate living room, bedroom, and kitchens including residential size dishwasher, range, refrigerator, microwave, and tons of cabinet space filled with dishes, utensils, and cookware. Private balconies overlooking the ocean feature a dining table and chairs for four person. Elegant, large bathrooms with Jacuzzi tubs in every room. Elevated outdoor pool and expansive deck overlooking the beach. Four story atrium with indoor pool, open-air restaurant, fitness center, and game room. Meeting facilities. Guest laundry on every floor, free HBO & Disney channel, complimentary newspaper, coffee and fruit. Video tape players & computer data ports in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotels And Suites Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ocean City Maryland
Holiday Inn Ocean City Md

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Ocean City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.