We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get more luggage carts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Ocean City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Ocean City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12601 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Wood-Ridge, NJ
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Get more luggage carts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel was nice, clean, and comfortable. It's a block away from the ocean. They could use some automatic doors from the parking lot, and more luggage carts. Had to wait 15 minutes for a cart when we checked in, only to find an employee using one to stock supplies in the kitchen area. This and all hotels in the area are obscenely overpriced. Lots to do in the area, but my advice when dining out is to take the 5 minute ride north from here across into Delaware, where there's no sales tax. It makes a difference.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    101
    21
    9
    6
See reviews for
106
52
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is the second time my husband and I have stayed here and we have been very happy both times. The hotel is very clean - I am almost obsessively worried about bed bugs and often have a hard time sleeping at hotels but the room was very clean and there were no signs of critters. The free breakfast is just average but, hey, it's free and it does the job. There is always a good variety of food and drink and it filled us up enough that we didn't eat lunch; it's definitely a money saver! The pools were clean and well kept and a good alternative on days when the beach didn't work out. The beach is a very short walk across Coastal Highway; very convenient!!! We love the location of the hotel; it's off the main strip and far enough away from the boardwalk that there aren't any crowds. Of course, we also went after Labor Day which always helps with crowds. We had a very good experience over all and would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express on 126th Street. Great location, right in front of the Northside Park, which has a walking path around the bay, a pier to go crabbing on, a playing field, and a large grassy area where local bands play on the weekends. Bonus.....4th of July fireworks are displayed out of this park, which gives the Holiday Inn vacationers a bird's eye view of the beautiful fireworks right out of their window. Let's not forget the location of this hotel is right across the street from Ocean City's beautiful beach, next door to many great eateries and lots of parking. The staff here are all overly friendly and there is FREE breakfast every morning until 9am. Great place!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Booked this hotel for one night on short notice until our other hotel was available. Turned out to be such a good place I was sorry I didn't stay a couple of nights. Hotel appears relatively new and was very clean. Room was spacious and also very well made up. There was a small indoor pool and hot tub, with a larger outdoor pool right next to it. Breakfast started at 6:00 a.m. and was more extensive than the average hotel breakfast. Wide range of hot and cold items, the morning I was there the bacon and scrambled eggs were very good. Also biscuits and gravy, numerous pastries, breads, bagels, cereals, fruit, and yogurt. They also had the latest in hotel breakfast technology- An automatic pancake machine. Press a button and then watch a digital display as your two pancakes move through the machine to be ejected onto a plate at the end, they were pretty good pancakes! The hotel had adequate parking and good lighting in the area.
This hotel is on the western side of the Coastal Highway but the light and crosswalk at the end of the drive made crossing easy and safe. The beach was about two block away. Since you are so far uptown it is not crowded and seemed cleaner than in town. The beach is protected by lifeguards about 150 yards apart, so its easy to stay close to one. The area around the hotel has many stores and restaurants and is about 20 blocks from a couple of good mini-golf courses at the Delaware state line. There is a large park with hiking/running trails behind the hotel. On the Sunday night we were there a concert and fireworks display took place. This is a good clean family friendly hotel, and a nice option to avoid some of the crowds.

Room Tip: Top floors, 4 and 5, are best. backside overlooks park and bay, front side 5th floor has distant oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I'm a fan of Holiday Inn Express, and this was no exception. We usually stay at a beachfront hotel, but due to making late reservations, it was not available. So we opted for this Holiday Inn Express in front of Northside Park. The hotel was very clean, with plenty of parking. The front desk staff, especially Josh, were very nice and helpful. The breakfast was adequate. We stayed for five nights. The outdoor pool was very nice and clean. The indoor pool was small, but I'm not a fan of indoor pools anyway. The walk to the beach was very easy...not a problem at all. It was nice having the park in the back of the hotel. We walked in it several times, morning or evening. The only complaint was the WIFI. Not reliable connection. Seems to be a known issue. We would stay her again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosedale, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

First let me say that I am extremely picky when it comes to hotels. I was having a hard time choosing one for a last minute beach getaway. I always rely on trip advisor to help me make my choice. My husband and daughter booked this hotel and I couldn't have been more surprised! (because I had not looked at the good ratings first!) This hotel was great for a 2 night stay in the much more quiet north OC and on the bayside. I had never stayed up this far and would definitely come back. The hotel was clean- with my high standards says a lot! The room we had was a king and a pull out sleep sofa that my girls slept on. The king bed was great! I have trouble with most hotel beds being too hard,soft or squeaky and this was neither of those. The pullout sofa was your typical sleep sofa- with the uncomfortable spots from the framework. There was a table and two chairs to sit and eat at, and a nice comfy chair in the bed area to sit and relax in. The bathroom was spacious and clean!! There is a small but useful kitchen area tucked into the wall with a sink,small fridge and microwave and coffee pot. It was sufficient for our brief stay. The outdoor pool was nice,plenty of seating and not too crowded when we were there. The indoor pool was ok, small but they open up the glass doors to allow access from the outside pool to the inside pool. The complimentary breakfast each morning runs from 6a to 9:30a. The earlier the less crowded , but who is up too early on vacation?? The line will start to run long the later it gets. We chose to get our food and take it back to our room. The food choices were fine- juice ,coffee ,milk, yogurt ,scrambled eggs, biscuits/gravy, breads ,cinnamon rolls! and conveyor belt pancakes! Seriously the neatest thing to watch! The hotel staff were always nice. The nicest thing is the park behind the hotel-beautiful! Walkers and joggers each day,nice paved walk way, great thing to do and playground for the young kiddos. There are restaurants close by to walk to and the Abbey Burger Bistro is tucked into the side of the hotel- they have great burgers on the menu and you can build your own !! Even vegetarian options !! The beach is across Coastal Hwy- you can walk or get someone to drive the group over as we did and then walk back. The beach was not over crowded there. I would definitely come back here!! For the quiet,clean and cost with breakfast- it is a winner for me! It is also very family oriented!

Room Tip: The higher floors have better view of the park and bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We went for four nights. Here are my comments. The indoor pool was cloudy and the hot tub was dirty until they drained and refilled it on our last full day. The lines for breakfast were long. The food was subpar but typical for a hotel breakfast. No Splenda for coffee. I don't think they switched out our sheets each day but just remade the beds. They became full of sand by our last night. The room was super moist. I don't think the air units were pulling out the condensation properly. The staff was kind and polite. Especially the front desk people. We will look into going to a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ocean City, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear scarrmd,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ocean City

Address: 12601 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#20 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ocean City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located on 126th street in North Ocean City. The hotel has 122 rooms with 66 suites, some of which have whirlpool tubs. We are only a block and a half from the beautiful beaches that Ocean City has to offer. We are also conveniently located in front of Northside Park Sports Complex that host s lacrosse, soccer, basketball and softball tournaments. The hotel is just a short drive away from the world famous Boardwalk as well as some of the finest restaurants in Ocean City. If you want to play a round while you are here, some of the best golf courses in the area are within a fifteen-minute drive. Our guest room amenities include free wireless high-speed Internet access, refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board, coffee maker and a hairdryer. For your convenience a guest laundry is also available. You will enjoy starting your day with our complimentary Express Start breakfast served daily from 6:30am until 9:30 am. The tropical atmosphere of our outdoor pool and sundeck (open in our summer months) will make you so relaxed you will not want your vacation to come to an end. We also have an indoor pool with whirlpool that is open year round. Located between the beach and the bay, Holiday Inn Express is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Ocean City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Ocean City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.