We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family friendly, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Ocean City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Ocean City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12601 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #16 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“family friendly, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express mid July for four nights with my husband, five year old and four year old. I liked this hotel because of its location, there was beach access across the street that was very manageable to walk to with the two kids and all of our beach stuff. There was also the Northside Park directly behind the hotel which is a lovely place for a walk and there is a large playground there for the kids. We arrived on a Sunday and were pleasantly surprised that they had fireworks on Sunday nights at that park and we were able to view them from our room window. Our kids also enjoyed the outdoor pool at the hotel, there was also an indoor pool but I did not let my kids go in it because it looked very murky.
I felt the hotel was clean, the room was always cleaned by mid-morning which was nice.
The hotel offers a complimentary breakfast, this was convenient but very limited for healthy options and you must get down there before 8am if you do not want to wait in a very long line.
Overall we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: A room on the 4th or 5th floor facing Northside Park, nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    103
    24
    9
    6
See reviews for
109
57
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Standard out of date Holiday Inn Express. It could use a major renovation but given the price you can't expect a whole lot.

Front desk was very helpful in the morning with early checkin.

They could spend a little extra on higher quality pillows and linens.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ocean City, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Bricktamland7,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We value your comments as they help us to improve our services and surpass the very high standards of service our guests expect.

I am sorry to hear that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any shortcomings and inconvenience you have encountered during your stay.

I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken to ensure similar situations will be avoided in the future. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My first time in Ocean City, MD and I'm so happy with Holiday Inn Express. Great family-oriented, quiet hotel with quick access to the beach. Staff was professional and friendly, always greeting me whether at the front desk, passing in the hallway or at breakfast. Room was modern, clean, quiet and cool. Breakfast was nice, there were excellent choices for me (I eat healthy and there were hard boiled eggs, skim milk, fresh fruit and plain oatmeal--in addition to all the other stuff that "normal" people like to eat!) Also, you can tell a lot about a hotel by how clean the stairwells are (I prefer the exercise of the stairs) and this HIE was very clean and well-maintained. I had to frequently walk in between the hotel and the condo units next door where my brother was staying and I felt safe no matter what time of the night. It was clean and well-lit outside. I would definitely recommend this HIE.

Room Tip: I can't see that there were any "bad" rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Staying at the beach you never know what to expect in beach hotels, that's why we decided to stay here after reading reviews and seeing last time.
We got to the beach early and they let us check in early which was very helpful. The staff was so friendly and the hotel was very clean. The room was better than expected and clean with a bay view. For breakfast was sure if we would need to go out or it would be okay. We got there around 8:30 and it was crowded but we got a table. The food was decent and nice selection (eggs, sausage, biscuit, pancakes,cereal ) They kept the food filled (people kept coming and keeping the line full ) and it was good enough we didn't need to go buy breakfast somewhere. Staff again was very friendly and nice. The outside pool was clean and nice. Didn't go in the indoor pool. It seems nice thought the water not as clear as outside. The beach is a short walk across the street. Still staying here now but so far the staff has exceeded our expectations and the cleanliness, which is important at the beach also has been great. We are happy we chose here to stay and will be coming back we we return. The only negative would be it is at the north end of the beach so you need to drive a little to go to the boardwalk or downtown but we have walked to restaurants and shopping around the hotel , which there is plenty nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLUMBIA
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The rooms were clean and close to activities and beach so good location and priced fair. We had two rooms reserved and the AC did not work in one of the rooms. I reported the issue but the fan finally kicked on when leaving for dinner. Reported to staff that perhaps it was now working. After dinner the room was warmer and stuffier - reported to staff (now night shift). After some discussion the clerk finally moved us out of this room but I had to state over and over again that yes I adjusted the temperature, turned it on etc. Geez night shift clerk was not very pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ocean City, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear JANET T,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the fine location of our hotel. We would like to apologize for the issues you had with your Air-Conditioner in your room and any inconvenience you may have experienced with the service you received. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class experience to our guests. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesapeake
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The staff was very nice, the king suite was nice, the breakfast was average, the coffee was not hot, the room was pricey but it was a holiday weekend and we had to be in town for a volleyball tournament. Not too far from the beach, we walked over to see the beach but it was in the evening. Our tournament kept us at the other end of the island most of the weekend. Try to get a room WITHOUT a jet tub in bathroom above your room not enoght insulation in walls or floors.

Room Tip: Try to get a room WITHOUT a jet tub in bathroom above your room not enoght insulation in walls or fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ocean City, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Klooster5,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are glad you found our staff to be nice. We would like to apologize for the issues you had with your room accommodations and our breakfast selections was less than satisfactory. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, MD
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed 6 nights, and enjoyed the place. The location is about 2+ blocks from the quiet North Ocean City beach. Room was nice (view of the ocean) and comfy. The hotel staff is great--very pleasant and attentive. The breakfast is decent, and I would recommend it for families with kids--coffee could be better though.

Room Tip: Can see the ocean from 5th floor front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ocean City

Address: 12601 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#18 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ocean City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located on 126th street in North Ocean City. The hotel has 122 rooms with 66 suites, some of which have whirlpool tubs. We are only a block and a half from the beautiful beaches that Ocean City has to offer. We are also conveniently located in front of Northside Park Sports Complex that host s lacrosse, soccer, basketball and softball tournaments. The hotel is just a short drive away from the world famous Boardwalk as well as some of the finest restaurants in Ocean City. If you want to play a round while you are here, some of the best golf courses in the area are within a fifteen-minute drive. Our guest room amenities include free wireless high-speed Internet access, refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board, coffee maker and a hairdryer. For your convenience a guest laundry is also available. You will enjoy starting your day with our complimentary Express Start breakfast served daily from 6:30am until 9:30 am. The tropical atmosphere of our outdoor pool and sundeck (open in our summer months) will make you so relaxed you will not want your vacation to come to an end. We also have an indoor pool with whirlpool that is open year round. Located between the beach and the bay, Holiday Inn Express is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Ocean City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Ocean City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.