We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahhhhhhh-ma-zing Pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Ocean City

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Ocean City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12601 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 107 hotels in Ocean City
Nassau, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Ahhhhhhh-ma-zing Pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This will be a pool-biased review. I am a pool person so I chose this hotel for the hot tub and pool first then considered the room. The room we had overlooked the bay and smack over the Winterfest lights so if that is your thing this is the perfect hotel at that time. Our room was smallish but neat and clean and good for two of us. The front desk was fine, we are priority members and stayed on points, we were not offered water or gift bags or anything like that which was fine by us because that may help in keeping the prices as low as they are at this time of the year. Also the only toiletries in the room is shampoo and conditioner but the note said you can have other necessities on demand, I just wanted lotion, this too was fine, I loved the price if we were paying. There is a really nice refrigerator which was really cold if set all the way up it semi froze our water etc., microwave nice too. Now to the best part of this hotel: The Pool!!! It was steamy in a rather cold room....no problem because you just want to get in the water and stay there it was in the high eighties, no kidding, I had it all to myself both days as this is the slow season. The hot tub is a corner part of the pool and was nice and hot, little jet issues but no worries it serves its purpose. I really didn't even need the tub becasue the pool was balmy and no shivering getting back in the pool from the hot tub. Ok so the place is not spectacularly 5 star but is in good repair and very clean. The area is home to numerous seafood restaurants many of which were closed for the winter but the Crabcake factory is just two blocks away open year round and had amazing food and fries and REALLY strong drinks. There is a Denny's not too far away for breakfast...oh that is if you sleep past 9:30 for the free breakfast.We looked at the 6600 Holiday inn and the 1701 also on this strip and further down the strip near the end and they looked really nice from the outside and directly on the water but thanks to the reviewers here who said they were dated we went with this one and had a good time. We did have trouble when they changed the wi-fi password and didn't give us the correct info we had to do some digging, but that was minor. All in all if you like peace and quiet and lazing around in a nice hot pool while the cold wind whips outside and you can see the five (now brown) palm trees waving around outside while you warm up your bones... I say go and relax here. Good value in the off season and a nice getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for the high floors and bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    95
    18
    9
    3
See reviews for
94
44
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have stayed here several times this year....the last 3 days in a 2 week period. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The last 3 stays we were given rooms that faced the Winter Fest lights...what a pure joy. Hotel rooms are always clean, beds are comfortable and no annoying air freshner smells. Internet connection is good and tv selection is good. Nice indoor pool and hot tub. Great location, free parking, good value and plenty of restaurants in the area. Breakfast is plentiful. We will definitely stay here again when we are in the area. Consistently great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at HIX over Thanksgiving weekend. Front desk personnel very helpful and friendly. Had a suite; lots of room! Great location close to Wawa and movie theaters. Loved being so close to the Winterfest of Lights. Will stay here again next year!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed there over a holiday while visiting some friends. Great location. Super price and very friendly. Would definitely eat in the restaurant again even if I wasn't staying there. Free parking was a real treat. Love the city.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My wife and I have always chosen this Holiday Inn Express and have never been disappointed. Courtious and helpful staff. It is located on the bay side of main street, but short walk to the beach. The breakfast meal is a winner, unless you want a formal breakfast. The room was clean. There was a minor problem with the tub drain, but was tolerable. I think they have a smokers section, so smoke does not spew into other area. We'll likely stay here again. Oh, the community park located behind the inn is great for running, biking, or walking. Sit on the benches, watch the ducks, or the crabbers along the extended walking deck to the bay area. (My wife and I did not like the italian restruant located behind the Inn), but this was several years ago...cups, utensels, found its way in the artificial greenery and left there, next to the tables. Total turn off while eating wondering what the kitchen looks like or whether food is handled the same. (Holiday Inn says not affiliated with restruant)

Room Tip: Front, 3rd floor. Smokers are on the 2nd floor, (based on the strong odor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My family of 4 adults stayed at this hotel during labor day weekend. It was pretty much the last available room in the ocean city vicinity that weekend. Thank goodness we found this hotel!

Hotel: We stayed in a suite (2 queen beds, a sofa bed). The room was clean and spacious enough for all of us to not feel overcrowded. The staff was great and extremely helpful and pleasant. The pool was nice. Indoor pool was a little small (but good to have) and the outdoor pool was great. Breakfast buffet was awesome, the only thing about it is that the line gets very long. (Get there early!)

Surrounding Location: There is a park area behind the hotel which has a pier for fishing and a great park for children. There was also some baseball going on in the two fields they have. A path about a mile or so around the park is available for running or biking which was a plus. There are great restaurants in the area and convenient stores for snacks and such. The beach is across the street which is great. Quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of the boardwalk. Speaking of the boardwalk the bus stops right in front of the hotel to go to the boardwalk ($1 each way or $3 all day pass). However, the ride is about 45 mins to an hr long on the bus with all the stops. But it beats parking if you can't find cheap/free parking. Casino is about 10-15 mins away driving.

Overall it was a great time with many benefits even though it is not right on the boardwalk. No complaints, will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I have repeatedly stayed at this hotel. The beds are comfy (pillows have a little to be desired), room was very clean, breakfast was delicious and bountiful and the front desk folks were terrific! The indoor pool is a bit small but the outside pool is large and the pool area very nice, Excellent beach access right across the road. Close to lots of restaurants and the bus stops right in front and is extremely inexpensive to travel anywhere in the town. I was very very pleased and will be back again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ocean City

Address: 12601 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#16 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ocean City 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located on 126th street in North Ocean City. The hotel has 122 rooms with 66 suites, some of which have whirlpool tubs. We are only a block and a half from the beautiful beaches that Ocean City has to offer. We are also conveniently located in front of Northside Park Sports Complex that host s lacrosse, soccer, basketball and softball tournaments. The hotel is just a short drive away from the world famous Boardwalk as well as some of the finest restaurants in Ocean City. If you want to play a round while you are here, some of the best golf courses in the area are within a fifteen-minute drive. Our guest room amenities include free wireless high-speed Internet access, refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board, coffee maker and a hairdryer. For your convenience a guest laundry is also available. You will enjoy starting your day with our complimentary Express Start breakfast served daily from 6:30am until 9:30 am. The tropical atmosphere of our outdoor pool and sundeck (open in our summer months) will make you so relaxed you will not want your vacation to come to an end. We also have an indoor pool with whirlpool that is open year round. Located between the beach and the bay, Holiday Inn Express is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Ocean City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Ocean City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.