We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Vaca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums

Save Saved
You added Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   11700 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Take 10% off
Ranked #47 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beach Vaca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stay at the Carousel twice a year: winter weekend and about a week in the summer. It's reasonable and in great location, with Food Lion and restaurants within walking distance. You don't have to leave the resort unless you want to. Also, there was a Jolly Rogers (pier) discount offered to guests. Our daughter brought a friend on vacation with us. The girls enjoyed ice skating. All of us enjoyed ourselves and I'm already looking at the calendar for next July.

Room Tip: My daughter likes the Atrium rooms to watch people ice skate and it offers a good view of the ice s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Guest Relations Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We are so happy you enjoyed your vacation and we love to hear from our repeat guests. We strive to provide you and your family with a welcoming and fun environment for your whole family. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit and thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    184
    138
    96
    151
See reviews for
428
81
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
butler, pa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

we stayed at the carousel from july 29th through july 31st of this year. we rented two rooms both of which overlooked the side parking lot and all the dumb things the employees would due as they were coming or leaving work. the roof below us was terrible in that there was a pair of mens underwear and tons of trash. the rooms were ok however one of the two rooms front doors lock was stuck. when we spoke to the front desk they just said to slam the door to get it to work. we did that the entire stay. talk about feeling unsafe in a hotel. the other issue was the rudeness of the staff. we encountered cleaning crews, pool attendants, what appeared to be security personal and front desk all of which need retrained. the only light at the end of the tunnel came from the restaurant employees who were a pleasure to deal with.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

We checked in on the 15 and we're not given the condo we booked, but a handicapped street view hotel room. If our youngest child wasn't 4 we would have stayed. The next morning we went to the front desk to change rooms and they moved us to room 462 it was beachfront and clean and it had a out of date kitchenette but we only used the fridge. The restaurant food was good but it wasn't anything to rave about. My husband and I thought there should be a big carousel instead of a ice rink. Before we left we purchased a condo with a beachfront view so we wouldn't have to stay in the small hotel room again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Guest Relations Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
I think there was some confusion on your part when you made your reservation. While we do rent condominiums, they only rent from Saturday to Saturday as weekly rentals in the summertime. What you booked was a standard non-oceanfront room. We are very happy that we were able to accommodate you into a larger oceanfront room and that you enjoyed your stay. While we would love to have the room to house a Carousel, a majority of our guests enjoy our world famous ice skating rink and would be upset if we didn’t have it.. We are so happy to hear that you purchased your own condominium while you were here and look forward to your next visit in a place you can now call home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perry hall, maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Carousel 8-9-2014 to 8-16-2014 in 2 condos and were extremely disappointed with our experience. Not only were we unable to dry our clothing after washing them, but only one shower was in working order in the first unit with the option of scolding hot water or freezing cold water. In the second unit the circuit was tripped every time a blow dryer was used. In addition both units had water pouring from the ceiling at different times, one from a shower and the other from an overflowing toilet. Although these things could happen anywhere, the true disappointed came from the fact that the condo rental did not hold up to its end of the rental agreement, and that the maintenance staff was disturbingly rude. The only explanation we were provided was that it was “old building and what do you expect?” To which one can only respond that $5000 should ensure a better experience and next year we will choose to spend our hard earned money elsewhere. Needless to say we will never come back to the carousel even though we did enjoy the added activities provided for younger guests. It is truly a shame.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I decided a family vacation was long overdue and booked room 711 a few months ago. I was in contact with Julie Schmidt, the Director of Condo Rentals, from the beginning. Julie was always very quick, helpful and very nice when I would email her with a question leading up to our vacation. Wesley at the front desk was very welcoming at check in. The condo was clean, nicely furnished, recently remodeled and even though it's a beach front room and even though we knew beforehand it had somewhat of an obstructed view of the beach because of the rooftops in the front part of the hotel, it's not as bad as the pics they have on the website. You can see the water and parts of the beach just fine. We had 6 adults and 3 children under the age of 7 in the 3 bedroom condo and it was quite spacious and didn't feel crowded at all. Our grandchildren loved the 2 pools and the skating rink on the one day that wasn't a good beach day. We will definitely be back soon and will request room 711 again. Thanks Julie and staff at The Carousel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Guest Relations Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
We are so very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments about our staff and the cleanliness of the condo you stayed in. We are also very pleased that you took advantage of the many amenities that we offer and that everyone enjoyed their stay. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusby, Maryland, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Aweskme. There is very nice ice show every night. Andaman movie on the beach every wednesday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Try to. Make sure its on floor 1-4 there's an ice rank only hotel with a ice rank in of!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Guest Relations Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for staying with us. We are so glad you enjoyed the ice rink and the movies on the beach. While we do serve lunch outside on our patio, you are always welcome to bring it in to our Atrium area if you choose to not sit outside. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

While the location is great, the hotel needs major updates! I agree with others that the elevators were extremely slow, the stairways smelled like garbage and were extremely dirty. Fingerprints were on all glass window sand doors. Food in the Hotel restaurant wasn't too bad but the service was terrible.

Room Tip: Stay in ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Guest Relations Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
We would love to get more information from you about your stay and whether you were in one of the hotel owned condos or in a privately owned condominium that is not part of our rental program or part of the Carousel Hotel. There are 190 condominiums in the Carousel however only 100 of them are rented by us. The others are rented by other real estate companies in town and do not go through the same strict standards that we make our owners adhere to.

We do wish that we could have more elevators however the building was built in the 1970’s and we can’t change the structure of it now. We just completed a million dollar renovation on our elevators last year but unfortunately, on Saturdays when condominiums are checking in and out, they are a little crowded and the wait times are a little longer. We will communicate your comments to our Food and Beverage manager and we apologize that the service was not satisfactory. We do hope that you will return and contact our rental department to set up your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums

Address: 11700 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your family can enjoy a tradition of fun and relaxation at one of Ocean City Maryland's most popular family resorts. Come join us on our famous Ice skating rink or relax in our spacious atrium. Kick back and enjoy our beach patio with live music, exceptional Ocean City cuisine, and sip a frozen cocktail as you lounge beach side. Drop the kids off for ice skating and relax in our indoor pool, hot tub, or sauna. No matter what your expectations are for an ideal family vacation in Ocean City Maryland, Carousel has it all. We are Ocean City Maryland's favorite family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carousel Resort Hotel And Condominiums
Carousel Hotel Ocean City Md
Carousel Hotel Condominiums

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.